We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Royale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent just one afternoon at this hotel while waiting for our flight. The hotel is not a resort, it is very small and does not offer any kind of a 4 star hotel services. No drinks of any kind in the mini-bar (just water), no snacks at the bar... The restaurant is crowded and the food is orrible. It is open just for a few hours a day. The rooms are big and recently renewed but the the furniture is very poor (the mattress is 3 cm high - very unconfortable- and the tv is flat but definitely old). Not raccomanded for children. To be avoided during summer time beacuse it is very windy with heavy seas. It is not possible to lay on the beach, too small with high waves. The pictures on the web site are misleading. To be avoided.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank valsaeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Allamanda Beach Resort And Spa, is a 4* resort, which is located at Anse Forbans, Mahe, South from capital city "Victoria", Seychelles. A warm and beautiful environment to enjoy your holiday. just 25 mins drive from Point-Larue International Airport.

The resort has a superb beach, beautiful lagoon, big granite boulders, complimented by the surroundings mountains lush tropical foliage.
all together 30 rooms, divided into ocean view, jacuzzi ocean view, and de luxe jacuzzi. the rooms are beautifully organised and vivid. the views from the rooms can take your breathe away.
quality foods with good services is plus point of the hotel. the staffs are friendly and very nice.
the ocean view bar is quite small with various of cocktails, mock tails, and other drinks. comfortable lazy chairs provided around the bar, with library, dvd's, games, etc.
Palms restaurant is good sized place to eat according to hotel with a la carte, set menu and buffet.
so, so many things to tell about it. its a beautiful place, family environment to spend you holidays.

cheersss

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 483simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent a week in Hotel Allamanda with family, including our 14 month son boy, in January 2012.

The hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches on the island, Anse Forbans. It is approx. 30 minute drive from the airport or the capital.

This is a small hotel that can never really get crowded therefore do not book if you want nightlife or exciting evening entertainment. We looked for a quite but good quality hotel at affordable prices and we were not disappointed in Allamanda.

The rooms and all facilities were clean and spacious.
Beach is very good however it is not the best for swimming during low tide, as is the case with most of the beaches around the island.
Swimming pool very nice with good atmosphere.

One thing that certainly needs improvement is the quality of food services. The hotel was basically empty from the half of our stay with only a few rooms occupied and this meant that there were no more buffet stile dinners but a choice of two menus. The quality of food, wether menu or buffet, was average. Never too good, never too bad.

We usually went to have lunch to another restaurant located just a mile north on a small beach (Surfers Beach).

There is almost nothing on Anse Forbans that is worth mentioning therefore if you want to do anything else than just lying in the sun you are going to need to rent a car. We had a car for the enitre duration of our stay and moved around a lot. The roads are narrow and edges are steep but you can get used to it very soon. The island is small so nothing is far away.

I recommend visiting Surfers Beach and drive south from Anse Forbans following the main road crossing the island to access beautiful beaches where you can spend hours without seeing anyone else (Bai Lazare and Anse Soleil were the best, check them out on Google Earth). These trips were priceless.

There is also a decent spa located on the oceanfront side of the hotel. They are run by Thai ladies who give you good massages. There is a discount on your first massage if you stay at the hotel but otherwise their service is very expensive (basic 45 minute massage around EUR 100) as is everything on the island.

This is not the fault of the hotel but everything on Seychelles is overpriced compared to similar tropical destinations (ie. Maldives). You can expect the prices of French Polynesia, one of the most expensive in my experience. We were never able to have a small lunch for two (two main dish snacks, like burgers or fish and chips and sodas) below EUR 50.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andras P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We went to Seychelles for wedding and honeymoon and choose this hotel. After all I'm very pleased with our chose!
Location 4/5 - far away from any crowded places which is great, but you have to rent a car. Chip car rental is located 5 minutes of walking south to the hotel.
Room 5/5 - large, clean, modern, quiet, comfort, and with a amazing view of Indian ocean!
Technical Service 2/5 - all technical problems were solved unprofessionally and slow. We had malfunction in the second basin and it malfunctioned again next day after technician "fixed" it. After several iterations we simply stopped to use one of basins. Same for the TV. When we wanted to see our wedding DVD, after 30 minutes of messing with TV set and DVD technician just replaced it with another from the free room.
Food 3/5 - dinners are very expensive and I would say pretty average, after 1 try we continued to eat outside, another private wedding dinner comes with a wedding package
Staff 5/5 - very welcome, responsive and care
Beach 4/5 - not big, but nice and clean, not good for snorkeling

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony to the ocean view just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0rcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Allamanda is situated about an hour from Victoria by bus and twenty minutes from the airport by car. The hotel itself is elegant with all bedrooms facing the ocean. It also has its own private beach and the place is very serene. The bedrooms are spacious and each bedroom has a balcony. The rooms are equipped with an iPod docking station, tv with limited channels and hairdryer.

Although the rooms also have tea/coffee making facilities, you need to buy your own coffee/teabags. There is no milk provided but they do have milk powder. The rooms have kingsize beds but be mindful as we were bitten by bedbugs. We were constantly woken up by the shrill of the telephone by members of the public wanting to speak to different persons/departments within the hotel. When we raised this with reception we were told that it must be crossed wires. There were ants in the bathroom at night but we coped with this.

The hotel does not have a shuttle bus so hiring a car would be beneficial if you want to get around the island.

The service overall was average and on occasions inconsistent. At times our bedroom was well maintained and at other times it was not maintained at all. On one occasion we asked about the possibility of having coconut water. We were informed by a member of staff that this was possible whilst another informed us that it wasn't.

On the pool deck the seats, loungers etc had chair covers which would be placed by staff when they felt the need to do so. When it rained they would be romoved(if covered) but not re-covered when the rain had ceased.

We were on all inclusive but the definition of all inclusive was interpreted differently by myself and the management. I could have drinks in the ocean view bar but could not take it through to their one restaurant (Palms Restaurant). We had to order drinks with our meals which had to be paid for as this is not part of the all inc package. The food in the restaurant was varied with a different theme every night. However, the one thing you could be guaranteed of is that there is fish of some sort every night. On Sunday night the theme is BBQ. We assumed it would be on the beach. It was anything but, as all food was prepared in the kitchen and the only food you could say was BBQ'D was the chicken. That being said, the food was generally very good and the head chef Ziyad was most helpful in explaining what the different dishes were. He was on hand for any questions the guests had.

The ocean view bar like the rest of the hotel was very quiet. I think they could do with opening the patio doors from morning together with the fans as it does get warm, as opposed to opening them in the evenings. The patio doors could also do with a clean as they were filthy.

The staff like all Seychellois were very friendly.

If all you are interested location and lounging in the sun then this hotel will do. Otherwise, avoid this hotel and look elsewhere as you will get a better hotel for the same or little more money. This is more a three than a four star hotel.


  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koppite076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here after having to change flights out of Mahe at the last minute. We stayed for only one night and were grateful our stay was not extended any further.

The rooms themselves are nice, but the beds are some of the most uncomfortable beds we’ve stayed on and the whole hotel as a whole does not deserve it’s 4* rating.

The food was poor and the service from the staff sub-standard.

The beach although pretty at first soon gets cut off by the rapidly advancing tides.

The prices in the bar for drinks are almost obscene.

Definitely won’t be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foramandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Hotel is quite small but very elegant and it is sited on a private beach. The atmosphere is very tranquil and it is ideal if you are looking for a relaxing holiday.
All the rooms (about 30) are Ocean view, they are vey big, tidy and clean and come with a big balcony from which you can enjoy the amazing view of the Ocean.
The SPA is great and the personnell is very prepared and kind.
Food is excellent and the staff is extremely nice and friendly.
The only negative point regards the All Inclusive package we got, since drinks weren't included during the meals but only at the bar. We were not allowed to bring our drinks with us from the bar to the restaurant area, where we had to pay for our drinks (they didn't even offer water!). We thought this rule was silly and very annoying.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsPB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Royale
12.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
10.9 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Petit Amour Villa
Petit Amour Villa
#1 of 3 in Glacis
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
9.8 mi away
Constance Ephelia
Constance Ephelia
#10 of 35 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 stars 2,462 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
#2 of 2 in Baie Lazare
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa

Address: Anse Royale, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing