We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Holiday Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments
East Coast Road | Anse Royale Village, Anse Royale, Mahe Island 12345, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Holiday Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for three weeks in Alphonse, a top floor apartment, and would certainly stay there again. This is a place where you can really relax and enjoy your holiday. You could not be closer to the beach. Anse Royal is a great location for those who like to hire a car and explore the island, being far enough out of town to be quiet, but close enough to get to easily. These apartments are first class. We opted for the continental breakfast included rate and thoroughly enjoyed our mornings in the restaurant where we were so well looked after by the friendly and very pleasant staff. Breakfast consists of a variety of local fruit, toast, local jams, juice and coffee. The apartments are spacious and beautifully laid out with an air-conditioned bedroom and beautiful bed linen. Folding doors let in the sea-breeze and open to the spacious verandah. Furniture is comfortable and stylish. Internet connection is good so I could put my holiday pics up on Facebook each day! Kitchen is fully equipped with big bench-top, gas stove and everything you need for basic cooking. Local vegetables are available from street stands close-by. Indian grocery shops are the place to pick up grocery items. We enjoyed plenty of meals downstairs in the restaurant where you get great food at reasonable prices. I especially recommend the delicious prawns and seafood. Friday night set menu is fun. Yummy lentil soup, followed by fresh fish and chips while a couple of local guys croon away familiar and pleasant songs accompanied by guitar. Not to be missed is the fantastic Creole Buffet lunch on the weekend where a three piece band "Welcomes you to the Seychelles". Very enjoyable and a big spread of many flavoursome dishes. A great introduction to all the Seychelles specialities like my favourite - octopus curry. Not to be missed are the cocktails: Remy's Chocolate Dream is awesome to have for dessert. B52's were also popular in our group. Marie-Noelle really goes out of her way to make your stay a pleasant one, and she is very thoughtful, helpful and knowledgeable. We went with other mostly adult family members, booking several apartments, and all had a fantastic time. We were really sad to leave - both the place and the people. I would highly recommend Pieds Dans L'eau to everyone.

Room Tip: All are beautiful rooms. Providence is larger with two bedrooms and luggage storage area (good for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Great apartment on the ground floor with direct access to the beach. The beach is safe and excellent for families with young children, no roads to cross and the water is clear and calm.

The cuisine in the restaurant is superb and quite affordable. Seybrew on tap, a very refreshing drop of paradise amber!

Location is great, close enough to everything for convenience without actually being in a busy location. Bureau de Change and bank next door. Other dining options available in the area for variety.

Go across the road early in the day to Pillay's shop and try some Gateaux Piments which are delicious.

Room Tip: Go for a ground floor room if you want direct access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have a huge experience travelling and staying in hotels of different categories. This place seems to be excellent, but in fact the only good thing is the view of the beach. The service is very bad (air conditioned which is not working and they do not want to repair; cable TV with only one channel, breakfast for 10 euros only including a small piece of apple, banana, mango and pineapple). Firstly, the owner, Marie Noelle tells you a prize in dollars, but after two days she changes to euros; also, she sells you an bed and breakfast for the prize, but at the end of the day, she charges you 10 euros for the breakfast, and when you want to negotiate and discuss this abuse, she cries and says that we are not people to stay in this place (for sure, we are not people for staying in this terrible place!!!). Not recommendable, at all!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marienoelle590, Manager at Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Mr Berlanga

We truly apologize for your bad experience at Pieds dans L'eau. We strive to make our clients
comfortable and happy and had we known there was a problem with the air conditioning we would have made arrangements for the maintenance personnel to look at your airconditioner. Clearly however, we do not share the same values or concept of good manners and courtesy.

Regarding the overcharging there might be a misunderstanding as we actually made a special offer to your organization for apartment Providence (110m2) with two bedrooms which was shared by you and your colleague. This apartment is usually Euro 210/night but for your organization the charge was Euro 150/night which meant that you paid only Euro 75/night and your colleague Euro 75/night. Our continental breakfast was charged extra at Euro 10/per person and it usually consists of 1 glass of fruit juice, tea/coffee, a plate of seasonal fruit, toast, butter and homemade jam.

We are happy to note we very much appreciated meeting the two persons in charge of your group who were in Aldabra and Cosmoledo. It was a true pleasure to have them as guests of Pieds dans L'eau.

Your unpleasant experience with us is unfortunate - please accept our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We spent 6 wonderful nights in a ground floor apartment with views of the sea. The apartment was spacious with high ceilings and equipped to the highest standard with white percale bed linen, Ariston stove and a great kitchen facility. The furnishings were superior with good attention to detail.The apartment had a deep verandah that one could sit on and look at the sea. The staff were friendly and so helpful - Marie-Noelle and Jaline were brilliant in telling us about which restaurants to eat in, beaches to go to and excursions to book. The apartment is conveniently situated 5 steps from beautiful Anse Royal Beach, in the village with local shops, ATM and Bureau de Change. The bus stop is 50m away but I would advise a hire car (Marie-Noelle organised it for us) as it makes exploring the Island much easier. We enjoyed a fantastic Sunday Creole Buffet at the in-house restaurant, "Les Dauphins Hereaux". Les Pieds dans L'Eau is a brilliant find....we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We tripped across this location while having lunch at the restaurant below the hotel 'Les Dauphins". Its the hard to find kind of holiday apartment. I spoke to the manager "Hank" and you just can beat the value for the location, its right on the beach. You will be giving up a little with regards to 5 Star service but you will make it back in all the things you can do with the money saved.
Restaurant: www.lesdauphinsheureux.com
Hotel: www.piedansleau.sc

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at Pied Dans L’Eau Holiday Apartments on Mahé Island for 17 nights. The holiday apartment complex, which has a beach front, is located in the centre of Anse Royale village which boasts several well-stocked grocery shops, a bank, a money change place, an informal fish market and fantastic beaches. Strangely enough, the village which is a real hive of activity during the day falls completely silent after 7pm – which made for peaceful nights!
We had a two-bedroom first-floor apartment with a superb view of the Anse Royale Bay. The rooms were generously spacious and equipped to a very high standard. The kitchen had a four-ring gas hob and a built-in Ariston electric oven with grill function. The apartment was cleaned and service on a daily basis, and the staff always willing to work around our requirements. The restaurant staff were pleasant and friendly, and very helpful with advice on the sort of fish to purchase at the local market and how to cook it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments

Address: East Coast Road | Anse Royale Village, Anse Royale, Mahe Island 12345, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Anse Royale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Anse Royale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pieds Dans L'eau consists of 5 self catering holiday apartments on the beach at Anse Royale with its own restaurant "Les Dauphins Heureux". The apartments overlook a beautiful stretch of beach and offer stunning panoramic ocean and beach views of Anse Royale and Souris Island. Located on the southeast coast of Mahe Island we are 20 minutes from Seychelles International airport and a 25 minute bus ride to Victoria the capital. We provide free wifi, beach towels, kayaks for guests' use. Our property is in the village of Anse Royale, 50m to the bus stop, local indian shops, a bank, souvenir shop and local fish and vegetable market.Our clients may book on Bed and Breakfast basis, half board or full board at our adjoining restaurant "Les Dauphins Heureux".Our restaurant "Les Dauphins Heureux" is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, specializes in Creole cuisine, cocktails at sunset, cappuccinos or just dessert. Services include: Daily cleaning of apartments, Y-King Shower gel and shampoo, Booking of Excursions, Car rental,Starter pack of Tea, Coffee, Fruit, etc for stays of 3 days and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Pieds Dans l`Eau Holiday Apartments Hotel Anse Royale
Les Pieds Dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments Seychelles/Anse Royale, Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Pieds dans L'Eau Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.