We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltee Islands

Saltee Islands
Kilmore Quay, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Split, Croatia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Never knew these islands existed. Popped out on a boat with Declan Bates after spending the previous night in The Wooden House. Was shocked that I had not heard of these islands before despite been from the county :) Would highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magic picnic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wet landing means wet landing so wear wellies or be prepared to paddle in! Bring raincoats as it's windy in spots and no shelter if it rains...but it didn't! Great day out! A little hard to find info. Pack a big picnic and definitely go!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Saltees puts the awe in awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A fabulous tour that I recommend to any visitors to Wexford. A hidden gem, few attractions leave you with a lasting impression that surpass a year or so But this one will....I can honestly tell you that what looks like an amateurish and clumsy tour from the docks turned out to be one of the most delightful things I've done in my life... We did not go on the island but took the shorter tour of a boat ride around the perimeter with four children, it was fabulous. That's all I can say. Don't miss out!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallaght, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Saltee Island Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Saltee Island tour departs from Kilmore Quay in Wexford. The boat tour leaves a 2 pm, weather permitting and lasts approximately 1 hour 30 minutes. It is advisable to book a place on the boat as it only takes a maximum of 12 people on each tour. The tour is not guided but the chap driving the boat, when asked was able to give us some information on the birds on the island.
I took this trip with my trip with my 2 teenage daughters and another couple. The weather was fine and the sea was extremely calm which added to our trip very enjoyable. The boat takes you very close to each of the islands and pausing to give you an opportunity to take photos. I would advise a camera with a good zoom to get the most from the experience.

The boat owner also runs a day long trip to the island which we would like to do some time in the future. This trip leaves at 11:00 am and returns at 4:30 pm. A packed lunch and lots of water is recommended for this trip as there are no facilities on the island.

The cost for the trip we did was €20 per person. There is a charge of €10 for children under the age of 12.

The islands are stunning and wildlife is amazing. If you are in this part of the country take the time to see the Saltee Islands.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“first time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

went to the saltee islands on saturday and really loved it. beautiful place that just takes your breath away . amazing views every where you turn and the birds are a joy to watch. we packed up a lovley picnic which we enjoyed after exploring the island. i would recommend this as a must this summer when the weather is so good. the boat over was lovely.we are living in wexford a long time and this was our first visit.
tips, bring plenty of sun cream , water, tissues, and a nice picnic. its safe to leave your bag when you go walking so you dont have to carry it around. kilmore quay is a bit of heaven also .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltee Islands also viewed

Fethard On Sea, County Wexford
 
Curracloe, County Wexford
County Wexford, Province of Leinster
 

Been to Saltee Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltee Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.