We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOING BACK TWICE NEXT YEAR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay House B & B

Save Saved
You added Quay House B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quay House B & B
Quay Road | Forlorn Point and Harbour, Kilmore Quay, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Kilmore Quay B&B and Inns
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GOING BACK TWICE NEXT YEAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went with Dai Shop for the 7th year on the trot, took new boys with us this year already booked for next June and decided its so good we are going back again in September brilliant family run business
well done Alan D

Room Tip: room 1 in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just stayed here and was very impressed by the switched on service. Good local knowledge from the owners and a friendly but not in your face manner. Room was spacious and clean, it maybe took a bit of trial and error to get the TV and radio working - an intruction hand out wouldn't go amiss

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have individual seating areas out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a great experience at Quay House. We did a recommended driving tour from "Frommers Ireland Best Loved Driving Tour" book. We started in Dublin, and drove south to Kilmore Quay. Our car pulled up, Mick was waiting for us at the door, he lead us to our room. We had corneroom #3 in the main house and it had an amazing oceanview in the distance. The room was spacious, clean, with memory foam pillows, and no need for AC because the brisk air puts your right to sleep. Kilmore Quay is a quiet, fishermans village with a few restaurants, pubs, and shops, and beach in the village. Its a beautiful/tranquil place. The next morning Pat made us an Irish Breakfast, and probably the best coffee I've ever had and we were on our way. It was so wonderful at the B and B we seriosuly did not want to leave. If you're driving around in Ireland, definitely plan to stay here, you won't be disappointed. The B and B and Ireland is very kid-friendly so you can definitely bring little ones here easily.

Room Tip: Request room #3, it had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Quay House in June 2013.We found the owners friendly and welcoming. the room comfortable spacious and clean.We discovered that the area is a great place for a walking break. There is an amazing beach and great coastal walks We did not make it to the Saltee islands due to the windy conditions but we have a good excuse to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea , Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

18 of us have use the quay house hotel for our annual fishing trip the quality of service has never been less than excellent, breakfast is hot and fresh the rooms are clean and homely, facillities are 1st class


ALAN D (WALES)

Room Tip: Try the main hotel rooms they are larger and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we really enjoyed our stay here, it's in the perfect location and the owners are very friendly, we had a lovely breakfast and there are very good pubs which do fantastic sea food very nearby. we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Mick is a friendly host and runs a very nice B&B in the little fishing village of Kilmore Quay. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast - cooked by Mick's friendly granddaughter - was a tasty full Irish with freshly brewed coffee in individual plunger pots.

This place ticks all the right boxes and, in a part of the country that's not exactly over-supplied with B&Bs, is a high-recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quay House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay House B & B

Address: Quay Road | Forlorn Point and Harbour, Kilmore Quay, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Kilmore Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmore Quay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quay House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.