We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Via San Luigi, N.3, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
+39 0578 755170
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Vegetarian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A new restaurant in this unspoiled mediaeval hill town. It is run by Deborah, the charming daughter of Daria, owner of Monticchiello's famed La Porta. I hosted a wedding eve dinner there on July 7th - the first big party Deborah had catered. The food, wine, service and ambience were ll outstanding. I can't praise the generosity of spirit which animated the whole event highly enough.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A great place. The food is excellent - tasty, fresh and creative. Deborah the host is super friendly and warm. The atmosphere is very unique - a mix modern and traditional, old italian charm. Montichiello is a very special place worth visiting and this place is well worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hands down my favorite ristorante in all of Tuscany!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My mother & I recently returned from a 10-day vacation in Tuscany! Lucky for us, we chose Monticchiello as our home base & were able to tour many of the beautiful villages of Tuscany, exploring the different sights each hilltop town had to offer. Of course, we were able to eat at many fabulous ristorantes along the way, but La Cantina, hands down, was my favorite!!! The place looks like it could be found in the chicest neighborhood in Los Angeles, but is tucked away in the small, quiet village of Monticchiello, which has about 300 people living there!!! The owner, Deborah, instantly felt like family or one of your best girlfiends, she was so friendly & gracious & welcomed us into her pride & joy with open arms. In fact, the first night we had dinner there, we were the only ones, so we received extra special attention. She brought us delicious antipasti, helped us with our wine & meal selection, & presented us the BEST tiramisu ever!!! We loved La Cantina so much we went back for dinner a second night & were just as pleased & in fact, ordered the tiramisu again!!!! And Our favorite wine was the Rosso Lunadero!!!! Thank you for making us feel so at home Deborah, and thank you for the wonderful food, wine & company, and the best memories!!!! Best of luck to you & remember, you always have a place to stay if you ever come to Texas!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wedding rehearsal dinner in style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Panic stations: a "test" meal at the restaurant in Montepulciano where we had thought to host the rehearsal dinner proved so close to inedible that we cancelled. What to do? We had three days to find an alternative. Our amazing host, Nico, at Sant Antonio, ( a superb place to stay, btw) suggested Daria, patronne of La Porta in Monticchiello. Daria couldn't do it - she closes Thursdays - but suggested her daughter Deborah's newly opened "La Cantina" just a few steps away. This mother of the groom was running out of options. Daria reassured me that she would keep an eye on things. She and Nico spoke. Deborah and Daria and I spoke about the menu. Suddenly, we were in the midst of what I think Italians may do best: creating food with brio, generosity of spirit and a little "amore". The meal was terrific, from the artfully designed nibbles served with pro secco as the guests arrived, through the seemingly endless procession of antipasti, each more delicious than the last, to dessert. Service was attentive, warm but not intrusive. Wines, generously poured and all from the family estate, passed the taste test of the wine buffs among us. It felt exactly as I had hoped it would: a convivial evening with family and friends in an unforgettable setting. We felt completely at home, all of us cherished on this very special occasion by Deborah and her staff. So many thanks, Deborah!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a place for a party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The mother of the groom hosted the destination wedding's rehearsal dinner here. La Cantina made 40 members of the family very happy. What a party! What a menu, from passed antipasti to family style service at the tables. Pastas through to dessert, everything was delicious. Even the vegetarians were accommodated.
I did not have an opportunity to return to La Cantina for a "regular" meal but I would assume it would have been an equally wonderful experience.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The food was excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

La Cantina is owned and operated by Deborah, the daughter of Daria who owns La Porta. La Cantina is quite different in atmosphere from La Porta, but the food is equally good. La Cantina is very contemporary in design. The night we were there, it was quiet and there were only two other tables occupied. Hopefully, La Cantina will gain popularity as more and more people try it. Good luck with your restaurant, Deborah!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Monticchiello, Pienza
Monticchiello, Pienza
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.