We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming authentic osteria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria La Porta

Osteria La Porta
Via del Piano 1, 53026 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
+39 0578 755163
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The tavern is located in proximity of the entrance door of Monticchiello, a nice medieval village near Pienza.With its few places (it is better to reserve), it proposes an elegant room, furnished with taste in typical tuscan style, it is comfortable and familiar. The courtesy and the professionality of the owner, Daria, young and passionate sommelier, are an optimal guide in the choice of the plates and the wines. During the beautiful season it is possible to eat in the terrace, enjoying a wonderful sight on Pienza, the Val d'Orcia and the Amiata.Accommodation in Monticchiello- The residence "Il Torrino" is a panoramic apartment obtained from the restauration of an ancient tower belonging to the boundaries of the medieval suburb Monticchiello. The structure, in proximity of the principal access to the village, has been completely restructured from the owner with taste and scrupulous care of the details. At guests' disposal a double room and a living-room with couch-bed and TV; panoramic view on Pienza and the Val d’Orcia. The prices for the weekly stay change according to the season and are comprehensive of heating, final cleaning, household linen. For briefer stays contact the owner.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“welcoming authentic osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a very good and traditionnal Tuscan dinner at la Porta, the menu is like most of places in Val d'orcia area: meat Fiorentina (T-Bone), contra filetto and good pasta, typical pici (thick spaghetti) with "ragu" meat sauce or tagliolini with white truffle. Quality of meat was amazing, pasta were very good (like always). The plate of cheeses (typical pecorino goat cheeses) is perfect to start with and share. The service was a bit slow between the first and second course. As we had to leave early, the owner offered us the desserts "to go" for free. The ambiance is typical, nice decor. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    358
    129
    47
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful atmosphere, wonderful kindness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

After 5 visits to this fantastic , authentic little osteria, situated in one of Tuscany's genuinely unspoilt gems, our first impression remains the same as our last - wonderful! This is a restaurant frequented largely by locals which is always a good sign, there is an outdoor terrace from which you can enjoy one of the best views in Tuscany, and the food and the service match the view! The warmth and generosity of the service adds to the genuine Italian experience. Given the popularity of La Porta, it is always wise to make a booking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very quaint place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Awesome sunset over Tuscany. Great food and large wine selection. Owner very nice. We came on a recommendation and the ravioli was great. The rabbit was good but lots of bones to deal with. Some of the best quality food all week in Tuscany. Prices seemed a bit high, but quality was there too. Visits this charming place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food in cosy setting with warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We had two fabulous meals here during our recent stay in Montichiello (at the wonderful La Casa di Adelina). The food was delicious, the setting was lovely, and the hospitality was warm. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Favourite Restuarant......in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We first came upon La Porta about 8 years ago when it was a welcome "pit-stop" during a great walk from Montepulciano to Pienza, and we have been coming back regularly ever since often as on this occasion bringing friends.

Myself and my wife started with the wonderful soufflé, whilst my friend had the soup. The three of us had the Pork special for our main and it was so well cooked it simply melted in the mouth. My friend’s wife had opted for the Entrecote steak which was also cooked to perfection. We all shared the delicious sides of roast potatoes and white beans. This was all washed down with the lovely house red. Once we had left sufficient time for starters and mains to be digested, dolce had to be sampled. I went for my usual panna cotta with frutti di bosco which did not disappoint and our friends opted for the traditional Tuscan pan forte which they said was lovely and spicy and packed with fruit and nuts. Dolce was accompanied by a great cherry -based dessert wine and the meal was rounded off with some coffee.

Daria and her staff were very busy especially as it was a public holiday but as usual they were very attentive and added to our enjoyment. The atmosphere in La Porta was once again "buzzing" and we emerged 3 hours later having had a great afternoon, with lovely company and exceptional food. There is no doubt we will be coming back to La Porta next time we are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Porta also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria La Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria La Porta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.