We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tuscan Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Le Macchie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Agriturismo Le Macchie to your Saves list
Agriturismo Le Macchie
Via Della Montagna, 53024 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tuscan Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

My Wife and I have stayed twice at Le Macchie during the past 4 years; staying each time in the smaller studio unit (Moraiolo). The property is very quiet and secluded. It is surrounded by olive groves and beautiful vistas of Mt. Amiata and the surrounding Tuscan country-side. Despite the seclusion, the property is very close and central to a number of wonderful towns and villages, and is an excellent base for exploring southern Tuscany and northern Umbria. Note: It is impossible to stay there without a car.

The property is very well maintained and the facilities are all in good order. Gianmario (super friendly, but limited English) , the maintenance/handy-man is usually around a few days a week to take care of any problems.

dc

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

I was lucky enough to attend a friend's wedding last summer and she definitely picked one of the most magical places she could. As if Tuscany isn't a treasure itself, this country farmhouse split into apartments is set out in the velvet greenery of the hills and just breathes relaxation into every limb. The views and grounds are absolutely breathtaking and nothing short of inspiring, and I found myself returning from that week nostalgic, with full notebooks and rolls of film. Romantic, yet suited for any occassion, this is a wonderful spot because it offers peace and privacy, but it's still easy to take trips into surrounding towns and cities. It's also special since it has a swimming pool and that can be rather rare, especially at the bargain rate my friend was able to rent for. A nice highlight was when we set up our own little olive oil tasting.....yummmm :) Who would think it could taste so good on BREAD? I mean I knew that, but the olive oil we experienced was something else entirely. Anyway, I'm hoping more friends have weddings and I can convince them to rent Le Macchie, I can't wait to go back!

Oh right, I should note it's NOT a hotel, rather a vacation rental. You can find a full description here: http://www.italiancollection.com/en/Le-macchie.html

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Le Macchie is lovely and secluded with several accommodation options. A car is a must but the nearby villages are all worth several visits and provide good shopping and excellent dining options. Moraiolo was just for 2 and absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We have visited Le Macchie 2 times. Once when we were a couple and again in 2007 as a family of 3 + grandparants.The first time we stayed in the small one bed, the second time in one of the 3 bedroom houses.

The farmhouses/accommodation have been beautifully restored by Andrea the owner. He has remained very true to local tradition and workmanship.

The setting is STUNNING. Middle of nowhere. Beautiful views. And yet within good driving distance are many of the most beautiful Tuscan villages - Pienza, Montepulciano and many others you would not normally venture to. The best of all is Montecielo. Its a tiny village with just one restaurant. But that restaurant is superb. Everyone is so friendly - especially when you tell then you are staying at Andrea's place.

Andrea puts together a local guide for you - vineyards - local produce - shops - bars - restaurants. And he has very good taste!

The pool is great (though not heated so you need to go in Summer really). The houses may not be the MOST child friendly for toddlers but they are perfectly ok - we managed fine with our 1 yr old.

All in all this is a real gem - 80 mins from Florence - 2 hrs from Rome and just one hour from Siena - Just don't tell too many people about it!!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Having longed to visit Tuscany for over 20 years, the dream finally came true this summer. The fact that we stayed at Le Macchie was no small part of that dream - in fact, it made our holiday perfect. The situation, the accommodation, the facilities were all far more than we had hoped for and I cannot imagine finding anywhere better to have spent our time. The wonderful grounds were immaculately tended and the apartments we stayed in were spotless and catered for our every need. The nearby towns of Pienza, Montepulciano and Montecchiello were fascinating and within easy reach. To see Tuscany as you have dreamed of it - stay at Le Macchie!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is not a hotel - it is a "farm Stay" type property. Out of town but very peaceful. Plenty of outdoor space, good appointments.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Everything about our stay here was delightful! It was easy to make arrangements, the accommodations and view were spectacular, and the Italian hospitality the best! Many little Tuscan hill towns were accessible by car, along with fabulous local cuisine. We would love to return some day.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Le Macchie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Macchie

Address: Via Della Montagna, 53024 Monticchiello, Pienza, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza > Monticchiello
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Monticchiello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Macchie is a farmhouse in Tuscany located in the earth of the Val d'Orcia, close to Pienza, Montepulciano and Montalcino. The Val d'Orcia was added to Unesco's World Heritage List in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Le Macchie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Le Macchie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.