We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawns Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairlawns Hotel And Spa to your Saves list
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Aston Road | Aldridge, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0NU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved the fairlawns. We stayed for 2 nights on a romantic package which included bed, breakfast, evening meal and champagne and chocolates on arrival. All staff were helpful and very pleasant and really couldnt do enough for us. The food was exceptionally good. I have also stayed here on a spa weekend and again we had a brilliant stay. The spa treatments left us so relaxed we didnt want to leave. We would highly recommend the fairlawns for a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you. We are pleased that you have found both hotel visits and spa visits to have met expectation equally and look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    113
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
248
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'll be fairly short as there are plenty of excelent reviews for this hotel already! Every part of our experience was spot on perfect. This hotel has all of the facilities of a large chain hotel but the personality and care that is impossible to get in a chain hotel. People are everything and every single person we came into contact with seemed happy in their work and wanting to do a good job. The pool specifically was fabulous.

Will without doubt return and this has probably hit the top of my hotel list !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
One can almost get emotional reading such fabulous feedback.

The experience you describe is exactly the one we hope to give to our customers and it is really rewarding to hear about it when it all goes right!

Warmest regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Fairlawns strapline certainly rang true, as my wife and I returned for another wonderful relaxing spa stay.

The staff here looks after you so well, from initial booking and arranging treatments, right through from reception, restaurant and spa. This is one of the main reasons we decided to come back for another overnight stay, along with knowing we would get delicious food and great facilities.
Throughout the hotel the high visual standards set by the owners are apparent and none more so than in the recently extended lounge/dining area and new relaxation room. The high quality furnishings are complemented by a lovely ambient atmosphere.
The spa facilities and treatment rooms have those all-important colour changing LED lights and soothing music to create peaceful zones to ensure a relaxing experience.
Food was again first class, both in the grazing lounge and for the delicious evening meal. It would be nice though to take breakfast in the restaurant rather than in your room, where the drinks and toast would be that bit hotter. Perhaps guests could be given the option when checking in?
The room was very pleasant. Nicely decorated and not at all cramped. Nice to have Sky Sports to catch up with the latest action. Great power shower in the bathroom.
Just a couple of minor comments: our in-room safe was not working as replacement parts were on order and I personally found the bedding too warm for my taste. My wife was fine, but the combination of a heavy quilt and thick bottom sheet was a little uncomfortable for me.

We are sure to return here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Both the owners and the whole team (Gardener, Housekeeper Receptionist, Pot washer...) take great pride in preparing the property for our visitors as we all enjoy making peoples time away special.

Thank you for both your kind comments and continued feedback. We are really pleased that you like the new spa areas and take your comments on board regarding other aspects of the service both positively and gratefully.

We shall look forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fairlawns is a beautiful place, immaculately tended. You are always made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The dinner menu in the restaurant is extensive, you really will be spoiled for choice. On arrival you are escorted to a lounge where your drinks order is taken and you are left to browse the menu. Your order is taken here before you are shown to your table. The restaurant never feels noisy even when its busy, service by the staff is second to none. It is more a place for 'a treat' than a run of the mill Friday night out. Two courses for two people, without wine is usually around £70-80, but its so worth it. Food is fabulous, the pate is the best ive had anywhere. Great for a romantic night out!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
FAULTLESS FEEDBACK!

It is lovely to know that we have have looked after you so well and it is truly rewarding for all of the team to know that we have delighted you in many ways during your last visit.

Thanks for your comments - we look forward to seeing you again

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here at twixmas with husband and (adult) daughter for a treat. It was not cheap but we had a great time, the staff were lovely, the rasual treatment we had together was good fun and we loved the spa facilities. The rooms were lovely spacious and well furnished with sufficient storage. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent, good home cooked food and plenty of it! We will come back here again we all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your really kind comments.

We will look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again, when we hope to meet your expectations once more.

Kind regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed as Fairlawns for two nights on an exclusive package.

Room - this was amazing, really big, clean, modern, better than any superior room I've stayed in in the centre of Birmingham (Malmassion, Raddison, Hayatt)

Spa - We both loved the Spa, the treatments we really nice and there were steam rooms, sauna's, chill out rooms. Their website does not do the Spa any justice at all (or the hotel as a whole), the only problem with it was I would have liked to have longer to spend in the spa. The lunch and grazing bar were excellent, the scones and cream plus brownies we lovely, however due to the snow we were late arriving on our first day, we did phone to let them know, but the grazing bar was empty appart fruit at 4pm when we got to the spa so we had to buy food from the swimming pool bar, which was a very nice sandwich.

Food - The food was good, the produce were excellent, the first night. The second night we both had steaks which were superb. . The breakfast was decent, it would have been nice to have the choice of what pâtisseries to have other than just a croissant. Another thing which I loved the idea of, was the whiskey menu you can get at the end of the meal, which gives you a choice of 50 different Malts, however there were no prices at all on this menu, and if you wanted to know the price the waiter/waitress had to go and ask for you. Maybe some people have enough money just to order any whiskey without knowing the price but I just thought even an idea of price would have been nice to have on the menu

The Staff - All of the staff who we came into contact with during our stay was excellent, really helpful and always had a smile.

Only issue was the room was cold at times and at least 3 times we need to phone to receiption to turn the heating on, this was done straight away but not so nice when breakfast is served in your room and you are cold so have to get dressed as soon as you are up.

However, the gripes are just minor things I feel they could improve on and the stay was very enjoyable and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break, we would love to go back ourselves if we could afford it.

Room Tip: We were in room 47, which was above the spa and a fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for your really valued feedback - it ios great to hear that you had a nice stay.

We have now re-printed all of the whisky menus with prices on. This comment was proof that our customers know more about our service than we do. We also take on board your other comments and suggestions.

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I can't sing the praises of the hotel enough. It is literally one of my favourite places. Stayed here nurmerous times, both for events, spa stays , and meals. Everything always great.
And, if you ever do experience "issues", all you have to do is tell them, and they do there upmost to rectify it. The fact it is family run also goes it it's favour and it nver lacks that personal touch.
I think the spa stays have gone up in price lately.... naughty naughty! :-) but still well worth it.
If you are thinking of booking as a treat, go for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Owner at Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
It is really kind of you to share your experience with us and other potential dna existing customers.

It gives up great pleasure to look after you and thank you for pointing out that should issues arise during your stay (we are not perfect!) that should you share them with the team we are able to help and rectify.

So long as the prices represent value for money we hope that customers can accept the odd increase!

Warm regards
John Pette Jnr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawns Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Hotel And Spa

Address: Little Aston Road | Aldridge, Aldridge, Walsall WS9 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall > Aldridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawns Hotel And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning restaurant, adult fitness club, luxurious spa and landscaped grounds complement this family run hotel situated to the north of Birmingham, close to Walsall, Sutton and Lichfield. Bedrooms all offer modern facilities including free internet, power showers and digital flat screen television; superior rooms are comfort cooled. Free parking has controlled entry / exit barriers and video surveillance.Private meeting rooms complete facilities which combine to create an ideal venue for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairlawns Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawns Hotel And Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel Aldridge
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa Aldridge, Walsall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawns Hotel And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.