We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As dirty as trash bin, as smelly as public toilet, as dark as haunted house” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang

Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang to your Saves list
Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Jalan Mayang Pasir 2 Bandar Bayan Baru, Teluk Kumbar, Penang Island 11950, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Teluk Kumbar
Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“As dirty as trash bin, as smelly as public toilet, as dark as haunted house”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Please do not stay in this hotel, once we stepped in the room we knew it was abandoned for long, the pillow & carpet smells was unbearable. The lightning in the room was too dark, not romantic at all, is not well furnish & the toilet needs major clean again as I saw many ants crawling everywhere. The aircond facing direct to your bed thus is very hard to control the right temperature & you may get a flu/cold just 1 night sleep in such room. No fridge nor even basic amenities. If you would like to have a relax trip or any of your family members have depression do not stay here, he/she could suicide in this room because the room was so uncomfortable to stay long, it feels haunted. The breakfast was suppose to end at 10am, by the time we finished the marathon & back to the hotel at 9am, everything was finished & they did not refill the drinks & food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Being an old hotel its not the issue but when cleanliness is concern - this place is not for human to stay. The room is very smelly and bathroom cleanliness is poor. Ventilation fan is there but did not functioning. Hugh lizard were found in the room. On the closet shelf , we found about 10 packets of coffee and sugar packet. The tv console already tilted and bedside console with missing drawer. Wall with peeling paint and stained - The only good thing is that the room are quite spacious.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Teluk Kumbar hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clean and professional and helpful staff in this hotel, but the reception is closed for the renovation ?
We had a good stay for the price reasonable.
I recommend for the price and the sea view for location beside night restaurants and karaoke

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Room look like a budget hotel. Not clean. I even saw a cockroach in my room. My room power switch drop down and I need to wait for more than 10 minute just to get them to check. The bath room look very bad too. I have no choice because most of the hotel there were full house. If not, I move out on the same night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The first and the last to this place. The pool was closed for renovation but the receptionist told us that it was open as usual. The kids were so excited and eager to swim to the pool. After seing the pool and its loisy condition, i sraight away when to the reception and told the person in charge how awful your service is. The room was damn and smelly. The bathroom is too small and public toilet looks better than the bathroom here. The morning breakfast was very easy since no one cares to look at your entry ticket.. Haha.. Sucks.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Easy access for dining area. There is a nice street with lots of pubs and restaurants

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

If you're looking for a basic place to stay, which is relatively clean then Seri Malaysia will be ok. Although the room may look a bit old, it will suffice for a basic place to sleep. However, the room we received did not have a good air-conditioning unit (it was a bit noisy and was either too cold or too hot). Apart from that, the room met most of my expectations (that is, expectations of a 2 to 3 star hotel).

Overall for the price you pay, it gets you a decent night's sleep in Penang. However, its far away from the places that most tourists want to visit in Penang so if you do not have a car, it would be best to stay in Georgetown instead.

Room Tip: The area is pretty quiet so most of the rooms either face greenery or the front carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang

Address: 7 Jalan Mayang Pasir 2 Bandar Bayan Baru, Teluk Kumbar, Penang Island 11950, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Teluk Kumbar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Teluk Kumbar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seri Malaysia Pulau Pinang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.