We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bad-Schorgau

Bad-Schorgau
39058 Sarentino, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Sarentino
Price range: $37 - $149
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bressanone, Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If they would improve just a touch on everything they would be perfect. Ladies get a stool for their bags, overcoats are taken care of, the service is not intrusive and kind, the dishes served very good and an interesting mix of traditional and innovative.

However - using a chipped plate to serve food is something one should pay attention to. No big problem, but in a place like this that is really point high......

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“An awe-inspiring evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Bad Schörgau is one of the very rare places in the world that have the power to surprise you, even shock you, on a very deep level.

We, a party of 5 colleagues, stayed overnight and went there for dinner. The next morning I went to the owner/manager and told him that I have only one word for this place: "bewusstseinserweiternd" (means something like: pushing the limits of your conscience). He smiled shily and thanked politely.

The night before, he and his team pulled off something that was out of another world. Being a foodie, I count every year the restaurants I have already visited on the list of those top 50 places they select every year. Bad Schörgau was not there the last time I looked and it certainly should be - but within the top 10, not the top 50!

The food was so incredible that I will refrain from trying to describe it, because I can't!

What gave me the rest were their wines - all of which unbelievable, comparing to the highest standards of the most snobbish (and best!) Italian wines...but all of them unknown to the masses (including me) and all of them very reasonably priced!
...and I thought I knew already quite a lot about Italian wine!

This place is special beyond any measure and it is beyond my writing capabilities to explain to you how impressed I have been with the food, the wine, the hotel itself and every single little detail of this place, which was filled with uncompromised devotion to excellency!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had lunch at Bad-Schorgau as during a top on a vintage car tour. It was an eye opening experience. The dishes were traditional but each had a twist that made it a delicious new experience. Wild spinach in the ravioli was luscious. You must try the dishes with the regional essential oil of dwarf pine. Its nothing like you would imagine - just wish they would sell bottles of it or the pine butter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awkward.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was such a mixed experience. The dining room was incredibly rustic, with a naked light bulb between us causing incredible glare; the worse lit dining room I think I've ever been in (for a restaurant of this cost/level). The food was good, not great. Service, mixed. The atmosphere outside of our dining room was much nicer, esp. the bar area.

  • Visited May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bad-Schorgau also viewed

Sarentino, South Tyrol Province
Sarentino, South Tyrol Province
 
Sarentino, South Tyrol Province
Sarentino, South Tyrol Province
 

Been to Bad-Schorgau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bad-Schorgau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.