We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional budget accomodation on beautiful Kata Noi beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katanoi Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Noi Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katanoi Club Hotel
Save
You added Katanoi Club Hotel to your Saves list
73 Moo 2, Kata Noi Rd. | T. Karon, Kata Noi Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kata Noi Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceptional budget accomodation on beautiful Kata Noi beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Hidden in amongst the 5 star resorts of Kata Noi Beach, this budget/flashpacker hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. From the moment we checked in, the service we received from the owners and staff was exceptional. Our air-conditioned room was spotless on arrival and serviced every day - beds were comfortable, shower and toilet were well maintained and the television and fridge worked well. We had the option of a cooked breakfast (bacon or sausages with eggs) or light breakfast (cereal, toast & fruit) which was served in a pleasant covered outdoor area. Breakfast was well worth the 100 baht (AUS$3) per person that we paid.

The hotel is ideally located about 30 metres from the beach and a two minute walk will get you to restaurants, mini-marts and the taxi/tuk-tuk stand. Overall, Katanoi Club Hotel is is ideally suited to those looking for relatively cheap, clean accomodation set on a lovely beach away from the hustle and bustle of the bigger Phuket beaches.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Whitster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We are a family of four with 2 young children. We were very content here. Kata Noi Club is appropriately referred to as 'Flashpackers' by some websites. I believe it is good value. Kata Noi Club has a choice of older bungalow rooms with fans or apartments with Aircon. The bungalow pictures you see actually have 3 individual guest rooms - 2 on the ground floor, one above. The rooms are basic, but cleaned daily and tidy. The garden setting is also basic, but tidy, and the kids spent some enjoyable time foraging around in the garden looking for lizards and frogs. The open air restarant is a pleasant setting. They serve only a breakfast menu with two choices (american or light breakfast) . There are some drinks available in the evenings, but no dinner menu. However, 100m down the road are 2 fairly good restaurants. I believe the Kata noi beach is one of the best down that coast. Perhaps slightly less crowded than elsewhere, but still with rows of deck chairs and umbrellas. Beautiful none the less, with lovely water and sand. The children were not overwhelmed by the surf. Most of the beach is dominated by a resort, and access to the beach is only from either end of the beach. Kata Noi club was conveniently located right at the southern end of the beach adjacent to the beach access (less than 50 m away!).
Some might consider this an inconvenience: the nightlife and shopping is very limited at Kata Noi. It is a perfect place to AVOID all of the Thai nightlife... but if you want it you have to go looking for it. From Kata Noi beach there was no public transport . Kata beach is a 1 - 2 km (pleasant) walk away. The Tuk tuks and taxis seemed pricey for transporting the family to other beaches or shopping areas (150 - 400baht per trip). We ended up hiring scooters (200-300 baht per day) and explored the island that way. Thankfully the other road users seemed very considerate and fair. Kata Noi club exceeded my expectations. If we went back to Phuket, we would stay there again. Happy holidays!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reetsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest KZN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights. Great location close to the beach. Spacious rooms nothing fancy but clean and great rates we paid 600bhat for fan room. Did not need aircon. Lady at reception was friendly and kept out bags for us while we did a two day trip to Similians. Lovely beach and quite area just over the hill to Kata Beach if you want to go out and go to restaurants bit of a steep walk but not that far, or hire a bike. Definately would go back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denmush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed in Katanoi club in a A/C room. Large room with big bed. Tiny bathroom though. It had a balcony - but there is literally no view, TV and a minibar.
Breakfast was served in a patio and was acceptable, with a choice of american breakfast or Porridge including mix fruits and fruit juice etc...
We requested the transfer from Airport for THB 700, and it was acceptable. Tuk Tuk locally would charge 800 to 1000 to bring you back to airport...
It was probably a nice place in the past, because it is dead-end road going there and that means no traffic...But to compensate now, you get construction work going on.
They are building around 10 Villas on the hill next to the resort, and the access to their playground is right between the Katanoi Club and the beach...not that of a romance.
Working hours from 08h00 to 22h00...yes yes you are reading well. they work at the light of projectors. It is not that disturbing at night as you are out for dinner. But still this is not what you could expect of vacation at the beach.
Of course the cost for a room like ours was 2000 THB per night when the High end resort next door was proposing rooms starting at 7000-9000 THB, but they should adapt their prices as long as this work goes on. (maybe 5-6 months more)
Talking about the beach itself, our Routard guide was saying that only half of it was flowded by sunbeds...but all of it is. 2 rows of sunbeds on the entire beach.
Despite that, this beach remains one of the quiter of Phuket, and you can really enjoy.
If you are looking for exciting nighlife, don't go there. It is very quiet compare to even Kata Main beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RDI2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed for four nights in Mid-January. Booked directly with the hotel and paid 2 200 bhat per night, including breakfast. No pre payment required.

The place is simple, no frills, but very clean. Our room had a comfortable double bed, ac, fan, tv and fridge. Bathroom was fine.

The rooms at the Katanoi Club are a little pricey, but you pay for the location. Breakfast is good, made to order. (Eggs with bacon or sausage or ham, toast, coffee or tea and juice OR porridge or Cornflakes with milk, juice and fresh fruit.)

Wifi available but we never used it. There is a minimart and a massage place down the street, opposite the Katathani. This is also where you find taxis and tuk-tuks. A ride to Kata is approx 200 bhat. Limited choice for dinner. There are three restaurants down the street, we liked the one in the middle the best, it´s next to the Orchid (which we didn´t like - their thai food was extremly greasy!) A really great restaurant in Kata beach is Capannina, located on Option Soi 1, close to the Kata beach resort. They serve excellent Italian food. Great vibe, felt like we were in Rome or New York!

We arranged for the Katanoi Club to pick us up at the airport upon arrival. Cost was 750 bhat and worth it.

Best feature: The location, less than one minute from the Kata Noi beach. The beach is quiet, clean, and so much better than Kata beach. Few people other than the guest at the nearby resort Katathani seem to find their way here. There is a great thai restaurant at the left end of the beach - they served some of the best food we had during our trip. Sunsets at the beach are wonderful - don´t miss! Sun beds cost 200 bhat for two.

Note. There is construction going on on both sides of the Katanoi Club property. This didn´t bother us at all, but others might find it disturbing. They started at 8 or 9 am and sometimes didn´t finish until 9 pm. Also, there are no safety boxes in the rooms. You can leave valuables with the front desk. We brought passports, cash etc with us to the beach instead.

Most of the guests at the Katanoi Club seemed to be aged 60+ and returning guests. We are 30+ but really enjoyed staying here. Great start if you´re looking to get a tan and get over that jet lag. Some of the rooms have a bit of a sea view, but these were all taken when we made our reservation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lousy toilet paper
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I stayed at this hotel during my first trip to Thailand in the winter of 2006.

In my opinion, the best feature of this hotel is the location.

First, for being so accessible, Kata Noi beach is absolutely pristine. There are a couple of reasons for this. As the last reviewer mentioned, most of the beachfront property here is owned/controlled by the Katathani Hotel, a 5-star hotel comparable to a Ritz Carlton. Because Kata Noi is at the end of the access road, the only people who are likely to be on the beach (besides you) are the guests of the Katathani. So it's relatively uncrowded, and you're likely to see the same people repeatedly throughout your stay. Because it's uncrowded, and because this beach is maintained by such a luxurious hotel, it has the look and feel of a private beach, similar to those found in Miami, southern France, and the west coast of Italy. There are nice beach lounge chairs and umbrellas scattered on the sand, and there is very quick and easy access to a beachside bar and cafe.

This matters to you because everything I just described is literally steps away from the Kata Noi Club. There is a small path that leads directly from the Kata Noi Club breakfast portico right to the sand. No need to even put on your sandals!

Although guests of the Kata Noi Club benefit from its relatively secluded location, you are a short scooter or taxi ride from any point on the island of Phuket. If you need a car (e.g. to the airport, Phuket town, Patong Beach, etc.), the owners of the Kata Noi Club will arrange it for you. If you want to strike out on your own on one of Thailand's ubiquitous scooters, there is a scooter rental shop on the street directly in front of the hotel. This is how we did most of our travelling during the day. The rates are affordable and it's nice to have the freedom to go wherever you want. You can get a scooter that rides two people easily. At the end of the day, after visiting some of the busier/noisier spots on Phuket, you will definitely appreciate the peace and quiet of Kata Noi.

As I'm sure you can tell from this page, if you are a luxury traveler who expects only the finest in design and decor, you won't find it here. But what you will find is a very clean hotel with all the basics which happens to be in one of the most gorgeous locations in the world (and you can't beat the price!). You will also find personal service and a welcoming family-friendly atmosphere that will make you feel right at home. If this sounds like what you're looking for, look no further than Kata Noi Club!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sbdave19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at Katanoi Club. It is a modest budget hotel with fan bungalows and A/C hotel rooms. We stayed in an A/C room with TV, fan, 2 twin beds (pushed side-by-side to create a makeshift king bed), fridge, and hot/cold shower. The better A/C rooms are on the 2nd floor where you have a private balcony and a view of the beach.

Breakfast was included which included both American and Thai options. Staff was extremely friendly and always gave us extra towels when we asked. They helped to book our excursions and always arranged for a taxi for us to Patong at night.

Location:
For those who are familiar with Phuket, Kata Noi beach is arguably one of the best beaches to stay in Phuket. It is 20 min away from noisy, touristy Patong and so the beach is quieter and prettier, but you are just a short taxi ride away from Phuket's bustling nightlife. Katanoi Club is next door to Kata Thani, which controls most of the beachfront property, but this helps to minimize the crowds on the beach as there is only enough room for a handful of hotels to operate.

Drawbacks:
- decor is lacking. very basic.

Overall:
Great budget place to enjoy the beauty of Kata Noi without having to spend 5 star hotel rates.

  • Liked — Location! Only steps away from the beach
  • Disliked — Decor was very basic
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Noi Beach
0.1 mi away
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Andaman Seaview Hotel
#13 of 128 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boathouse by Montara
Boathouse by Montara
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
Avista Phuket Resort & Spa
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.3 mi away
Beyond Resort Karon
Beyond Resort Karon
#15 of 128 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
1.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katanoi Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katanoi Club Hotel

Address: 73 Moo 2, Kata Noi Rd. | T. Karon, Kata Noi Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Noi Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kata Noi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come here to relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Kata Noi. We have a range of comfortable hotel accommodations that will suit your budget and allow you to fully enjoy the idyllic beauty of Kata Noi. We are a family-run hotel that has been gladly serving Kata Noi for over 25 years, and we look forward to serving you during your next stay in Phuket. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing