We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katanoi Club Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kata Noi Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katanoi Club Hotel
Save
You added Katanoi Club Hotel to your Saves list
73 Moo 2, Kata Noi Rd. | T. Karon, Kata Noi Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kata Noi Beach
Oslo, Norway
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have read all reviews and I agree to every positive statement in other reviews.
I will therefore not repeat those.
I have lived here 4 times, over a period of 6 years.
I have travelled around the island in car and on motorbike, and my conclusion is that this is the best option you get in Phuket.
I will summerize the benefits. LOCATION, one of the best beaches = THE best beach if you want quietness from water-scooters and speed-boats.
Wonderful staff, low price +++.
There are of course disadvantages, like: -not quite reliable internet, but if you ask the staff to restart modem (or walk in and do it yourself), not luxury and a few others.

I REALLY HOPE PEOPLE USE THIS PLACE BECAUSE the surrounding luxury hotels want to buy this property. They would of course tear everything down and make it into a place where price might be tripled. The owner has recently lost her husband and finds it a bit hard to keep running the place. With few customers there is little chance that she will manage.

Some info I didn`t find among the previous posts.
It is a very nice place to go snorkeling. It is one of the best beaches to go surf-riding, there are now small idyllic beach-"restaurants" on the beach, as a very welcoming alternative to the very posh luxury resaturants around the beach. It is very close to one of the better restaurants in Thailand (it was concidered to be one of the best, now I don`t know), Mom Tri`s.
It is an advantage to rent a car or a scooter when you stay here. On this stay I rented a very nice car at the airport for 1 week (800 baht pr day) and will continue on scooter for the rest of my stay. I think it is no problem to pay for car/scooter/taxi when you can get such an acommodation for a price down to 800 baht (rather big fan-room rented from the start of this hotel`s season).
They start their season early november and have lower prices the first weeks.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 108, 107, 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Hidden in amongst the 5 star resorts of Kata Noi Beach, this budget/flashpacker hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. From the moment we checked in, the service we received from the owners and staff was exceptional. Our air-conditioned room was spotless on arrival and serviced every day - beds were comfortable, shower and toilet were well maintained and the television and fridge worked well. We had the option of a cooked breakfast (bacon or sausages with eggs) or light breakfast (cereal, toast & fruit) which was served in a pleasant covered outdoor area. Breakfast was well worth the 100 baht (AUS$3) per person that we paid.

The hotel is ideally located about 30 metres from the beach and a two minute walk will get you to restaurants, mini-marts and the taxi/tuk-tuk stand. Overall, Katanoi Club Hotel is is ideally suited to those looking for relatively cheap, clean accomodation set on a lovely beach away from the hustle and bustle of the bigger Phuket beaches.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We are a family of four with 2 young children. We were very content here. Kata Noi Club is appropriately referred to as 'Flashpackers' by some websites. I believe it is good value. Kata Noi Club has a choice of older bungalow rooms with fans or apartments with Aircon. The bungalow pictures you see actually have 3 individual guest rooms - 2 on the ground floor, one above. The rooms are basic, but cleaned daily and tidy. The garden setting is also basic, but tidy, and the kids spent some enjoyable time foraging around in the garden looking for lizards and frogs. The open air restarant is a pleasant setting. They serve only a breakfast menu with two choices (american or light breakfast) . There are some drinks available in the evenings, but no dinner menu. However, 100m down the road are 2 fairly good restaurants. I believe the Kata noi beach is one of the best down that coast. Perhaps slightly less crowded than elsewhere, but still with rows of deck chairs and umbrellas. Beautiful none the less, with lovely water and sand. The children were not overwhelmed by the surf. Most of the beach is dominated by a resort, and access to the beach is only from either end of the beach. Kata Noi club was conveniently located right at the southern end of the beach adjacent to the beach access (less than 50 m away!).
Some might consider this an inconvenience: the nightlife and shopping is very limited at Kata Noi. It is a perfect place to AVOID all of the Thai nightlife... but if you want it you have to go looking for it. From Kata Noi beach there was no public transport . Kata beach is a 1 - 2 km (pleasant) walk away. The Tuk tuks and taxis seemed pricey for transporting the family to other beaches or shopping areas (150 - 400baht per trip). We ended up hiring scooters (200-300 baht per day) and explored the island that way. Thankfully the other road users seemed very considerate and fair. Kata Noi club exceeded my expectations. If we went back to Phuket, we would stay there again. Happy holidays!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest KZN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights. Great location close to the beach. Spacious rooms nothing fancy but clean and great rates we paid 600bhat for fan room. Did not need aircon. Lady at reception was friendly and kept out bags for us while we did a two day trip to Similians. Lovely beach and quite area just over the hill to Kata Beach if you want to go out and go to restaurants bit of a steep walk but not that far, or hire a bike. Definately would go back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed in Katanoi club in a A/C room. Large room with big bed. Tiny bathroom though. It had a balcony - but there is literally no view, TV and a minibar.
Breakfast was served in a patio and was acceptable, with a choice of american breakfast or Porridge including mix fruits and fruit juice etc...
We requested the transfer from Airport for THB 700, and it was acceptable. Tuk Tuk locally would charge 800 to 1000 to bring you back to airport...
It was probably a nice place in the past, because it is dead-end road going there and that means no traffic...But to compensate now, you get construction work going on.
They are building around 10 Villas on the hill next to the resort, and the access to their playground is right between the Katanoi Club and the beach...not that of a romance.
Working hours from 08h00 to 22h00...yes yes you are reading well. they work at the light of projectors. It is not that disturbing at night as you are out for dinner. But still this is not what you could expect of vacation at the beach.
Of course the cost for a room like ours was 2000 THB per night when the High end resort next door was proposing rooms starting at 7000-9000 THB, but they should adapt their prices as long as this work goes on. (maybe 5-6 months more)
Talking about the beach itself, our Routard guide was saying that only half of it was flowded by sunbeds...but all of it is. 2 rows of sunbeds on the entire beach.
Despite that, this beach remains one of the quiter of Phuket, and you can really enjoy.
If you are looking for exciting nighlife, don't go there. It is very quiet compare to even Kata Main beach.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed for four nights in Mid-January. Booked directly with the hotel and paid 2 200 bhat per night, including breakfast. No pre payment required.

The place is simple, no frills, but very clean. Our room had a comfortable double bed, ac, fan, tv and fridge. Bathroom was fine.

The rooms at the Katanoi Club are a little pricey, but you pay for the location. Breakfast is good, made to order. (Eggs with bacon or sausage or ham, toast, coffee or tea and juice OR porridge or Cornflakes with milk, juice and fresh fruit.)

Wifi available but we never used it. There is a minimart and a massage place down the street, opposite the Katathani. This is also where you find taxis and tuk-tuks. A ride to Kata is approx 200 bhat. Limited choice for dinner. There are three restaurants down the street, we liked the one in the middle the best, it´s next to the Orchid (which we didn´t like - their thai food was extremly greasy!) A really great restaurant in Kata beach is Capannina, located on Option Soi 1, close to the Kata beach resort. They serve excellent Italian food. Great vibe, felt like we were in Rome or New York!

We arranged for the Katanoi Club to pick us up at the airport upon arrival. Cost was 750 bhat and worth it.

Best feature: The location, less than one minute from the Kata Noi beach. The beach is quiet, clean, and so much better than Kata beach. Few people other than the guest at the nearby resort Katathani seem to find their way here. There is a great thai restaurant at the left end of the beach - they served some of the best food we had during our trip. Sunsets at the beach are wonderful - don´t miss! Sun beds cost 200 bhat for two.

Note. There is construction going on on both sides of the Katanoi Club property. This didn´t bother us at all, but others might find it disturbing. They started at 8 or 9 am and sometimes didn´t finish until 9 pm. Also, there are no safety boxes in the rooms. You can leave valuables with the front desk. We brought passports, cash etc with us to the beach instead.

Most of the guests at the Katanoi Club seemed to be aged 60+ and returning guests. We are 30+ but really enjoyed staying here. Great start if you´re looking to get a tan and get over that jet lag. Some of the rooms have a bit of a sea view, but these were all taken when we made our reservation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lousy toilet paper
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

I stayed at this hotel during my first trip to Thailand in the winter of 2006.

In my opinion, the best feature of this hotel is the location.

First, for being so accessible, Kata Noi beach is absolutely pristine. There are a couple of reasons for this. As the last reviewer mentioned, most of the beachfront property here is owned/controlled by the Katathani Hotel, a 5-star hotel comparable to a Ritz Carlton. Because Kata Noi is at the end of the access road, the only people who are likely to be on the beach (besides you) are the guests of the Katathani. So it's relatively uncrowded, and you're likely to see the same people repeatedly throughout your stay. Because it's uncrowded, and because this beach is maintained by such a luxurious hotel, it has the look and feel of a private beach, similar to those found in Miami, southern France, and the west coast of Italy. There are nice beach lounge chairs and umbrellas scattered on the sand, and there is very quick and easy access to a beachside bar and cafe.

This matters to you because everything I just described is literally steps away from the Kata Noi Club. There is a small path that leads directly from the Kata Noi Club breakfast portico right to the sand. No need to even put on your sandals!

Although guests of the Kata Noi Club benefit from its relatively secluded location, you are a short scooter or taxi ride from any point on the island of Phuket. If you need a car (e.g. to the airport, Phuket town, Patong Beach, etc.), the owners of the Kata Noi Club will arrange it for you. If you want to strike out on your own on one of Thailand's ubiquitous scooters, there is a scooter rental shop on the street directly in front of the hotel. This is how we did most of our travelling during the day. The rates are affordable and it's nice to have the freedom to go wherever you want. You can get a scooter that rides two people easily. At the end of the day, after visiting some of the busier/noisier spots on Phuket, you will definitely appreciate the peace and quiet of Kata Noi.

As I'm sure you can tell from this page, if you are a luxury traveler who expects only the finest in design and decor, you won't find it here. But what you will find is a very clean hotel with all the basics which happens to be in one of the most gorgeous locations in the world (and you can't beat the price!). You will also find personal service and a welcoming family-friendly atmosphere that will make you feel right at home. If this sounds like what you're looking for, look no further than Kata Noi Club!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Katanoi Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katanoi Club Hotel

Address: 73 Moo 2, Kata Noi Rd. | T. Karon, Kata Noi Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Noi Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kata Noi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come here to relax and enjoy the natural beauty of Kata Noi. We have a range of comfortable hotel accommodations that will suit your budget and allow you to fully enjoy the idyllic beauty of Kata Noi. We are a family-run hotel that has been gladly serving Kata Noi for over 25 years, and we look forward to serving you during your next stay in Phuket. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katanoi Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.