We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bland dissapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Podere del Grillo

Il Podere del Grillo
Via Serra, 3, San Miniato, Italy
0571409379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in San Miniato
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Si tratta di un'Osteria Agricola collegata all'omonima azienda
Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bland dissapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Considering the reviews this place has gotten on tripadvisor and it´s good reputation locally we hoped we were in for a treat when visiting this osteria who profiles themselves on locally grown organic products. We had made reservations and wachted others being turned down who had not. Initial welcome by the serving team was dour... not an inviting smile to be found even with a microscope. We tried a selection of Courses who all were bland, the quality of the ingredients were good but it was cooked without passion. And the kitchen (I went there) held a pale tired woman and an irritated sighing man both clearly not enjoying their work which was evident on what went out on the plates... The food was not bad, but the staff was uninviting (not rude) and the food was an unmemorable experience in all not something I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    71
    13
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Local osteria, very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We succed to eat at this local osteria after 2 unsuccessful attempt ...3 time we had done a reservation .the place is small, very chic .we had a very good organic meal , very tasteful .they use all the ingredients from their own farm ...very very good burrata, ricotta, their a plate with 5or 6 items from the menu, the wine was great .the price was ok .we recommend this local osteria !!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rustic chic, local ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a rainy Sunday lunchtime, the Podere offered a warm and welcoming atmosphere, although it wasn't at all what I was expecting!.Knowing that the owners have a farm, I had been expecting something more rural so was surprised by the modern features of the decor inside this old building in the middle of the countryside near San Miniato. The glass panels, huge wall mounted photographs, and customers' graffitti comments added a chic touch to the rustic stone walls which works to great effect.
The menu gives you a decent choice from a number of local dishes all made with carefully selected local ingredients, many of which come from the family's own farm. We went for a lasagne made with pecorino cheese and swiss chard, and then a selection of grilled meats, all of excellent quality. Beautifully presented salads, a simple but delicious dessert of fresh ricotta, and a very acceptable Chianti Classico house wine all added to the success of the meal.
(There is also a selection of the farm's own produce for sale: including their local wrinkly "grinzoso" tomato conserve.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaione, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Burrata!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I love coming here for a delicious organic meal at a great value. They use their own vegetables and ingredients from their farm and come up with unique takes on Tuscan favorites. We especially love their fresh burrata, and I suggest ordering the tasting menu which is a plate of 5-6 of their menu items - and I've never tasted anything I didn't love. The food is great for vegetarians, they have plenty of veggie options. Make a reservation to ensure that you get to sit at one of their beautiful outdoor tables, but the inside is cute too. I'd also recommend to buy some of their homemade vinegar (sold at the restaurant) - it's unbelievable!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been to Tuscany many times, and this is our favourite restaurant. The owner, Barbara, serves honest country cooking and the prices are right. The vegetables come from the nearby farm, and are ecological.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Podere del Grillo also viewed

San Miniato, Province of Pisa
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 
San Miniato, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Il Podere del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Podere del Grillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.