We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, wonderful time..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Miniato

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Miniato to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Miniato
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 56028 San Miniato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in San Miniato
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay, wonderful time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel San Miniato for 4 days at the beginning of September during the friend's wedding and it was brilliant!

San Miniato is an amazing place to stay and a hotel perfect base for exploring the local area, with several good bars/restaurants.

Rooms are large and comfortable with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning, TV, fridge, mini bar. We were in room 305 and we loved it,- our room was spacious, very clean, with stunning view. Social area, sunny courtyard, breakfast room are great too,- very comfortable, full of character, with modern quirky touches.

The breakfast selection is very versatile, delicious cappuccino.

The owner Paolo and his son Daniele are incredible,- extremely welcoming, sociable and helpful, with great English too. They were always busy buzzing around from the front desk to the breakfast room, taking a great care of everything and ready to help, always with a smile and acknowledged guests whenever they saw them with warm greeting.

Overall we had an absolutely fantastic stay in this wonderful hotel, location and lovely people only made our stay even more enjoyable. We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room 305 which was big, airy, very clean, simply but tastefully decorated with stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
46
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed two nights......rooms very clean......front desk is very helpful .....breakfast is included and wonderful.....gated parking included.....beautiful views of Tuscany from your room are included at no charge.

Room Tip: Can be a challenge to find in this 2000 year old town of small streets and adjacent hamlets.....pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in the 2nd half of August for 6 nights. Everything was perfect! The room was clean(bathroom too, but with a small shower), big and the view!!! Wow! Incredible! Free wifi( fast) in the whole building. The staff was really kind and friendly and helpful. The owner(?) made a very delicious cappuccino( according to my husband those were the best,that he had ever drunk). Breakfast rich and delicious:hams, cheeses, teas, cakes(best crostatas), fruits, yoghurts,granolas, cornflakes etc.
We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, who wants to see Tuscany, because San Miniato is in the middle, not far from any famous tuscan towns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We actually returned especially to the hotel because earlier in the year we got lost and at 11pm someone in reception directed us to Pisa. So we thought we'd like to stay there one day. San Miniato is a medieval town in Tuscany, but unfortunately it leaves not much choice in restaurants or anything else for that matter. The staff is friendly and the rooms huge and clean and beautiful. The AC did not work in the room and they immediately moved us to another (better) room, which I really appreciated. No many options of restaurants in town, no shopping. Don't bother with the included breakfast, it's awful. There is a little bar down not far from the hotel with great coffee and pastries.
I will not stay there again as there are nicer towns with more stuff to do.
For one night, the hotel is perfect. The area around San Miniato is pretty, but there are other towns., like San Gimignano, in the vicinity with more options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived having to find a detour as the main road up was closed. Went into reception, only a man watching tv, we thought a guest, but no he came to the counter, no words of welcome, just "passports" and gave us the key. The same on checkout, no words! We still have no idea if he is the porter, owner, receptionist?

But we were just here for one night and had booked a room with a view. Well the small window was about 4 feet from the ground so on tiptoe I could see out, not what we had envisaged! The room was adequate.

We left before breakfast, wishing we had gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was by far the best place I stayed at in Italy during my honeymoon. The location is in a cute town of San Miniato. The rooms are huge. The price was excellent and very cheap under 100 euros. The bathroom was large and clean.
The breakfast was very delicious. Only wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here while walking the Via Francigena. It is a beautifully converted old building in the historic town centre which has been a medieval church, an 18c convent for an enclosed order of nuns, a 19 and early 20c prison and in this last reincarnation a lovely hotel. The baroque chapel is their conference room - in England it would be licensed for weddings and would be a spectacular venue but it doesn't work like that in Italy (civil weddings at town halls only). The rooms were lovely, the beds comfortable, the showers excellent. We were only staying one night - I should like to come back again and stay longer. One of the reviewers complained that she wasn't given a dressing gown and slippers but that isn't common in Italy and certainly not in hotels at under €100 a room. At these prices she should have brought her own if they were so essential. Breakfast was good - unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to eat outside in the sunny courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Miniato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miniato

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Miniato leans in the citycentre giving the guest the sensations of the old medioeval village with its flavours, its suggestions and its history. All this, together with confort and wellness standards make the Hotel San Miniato a new and funtional hotel placed in a suggestive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel San Miniato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Miniato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.