We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy, the first time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Miniato

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Miniato to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Miniato
Via Aldo Moro, 2, 56028 San Miniato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in San Miniato
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italy, the first time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was a tag-a-long with my husband on his business trip mid-November 2012, but after researching & finding the truffle festival, we extended our stay to the Hotel San Miniato at the gracious hands of Paul & his kids. We had great, warm service; wonderful food, wine & Paul does make an excellent cappuccino! We had a wonderful experience with the truffle festival & the town of San Miniato is just beautiful. Add the history, friendly people, rich scenery, hills, vineyards, etc., it was a memorable trip for us both. To finish our stay, Paul, himself, took us to the train station, bid us goodbye with the traditional kiss on each cheek & a bottle of wine. We hope to make it back with our teenage daughters & stay with Paul once again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
43
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Paolo and his daughter are incredible. We stayed at Hotel San Miniato at the end of November during the truffle festival. We stayed in the back building and the room was spacious with a great view. The satellite tv was pretty limited on channel selections but that was the only minor complaint. Otherwise the room and property are gorgeous and in great shape. Paolo works 24 hours a day but is always ready and eager to make sure that you're having a great stay. During the fall white truffle festival the hotel hosts a special truffle dinner in their 600 year old chapel. The space alone is worth the price and the food is fantastic. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of meats, cheese, croissants and they'll make you a cappuccino if you ask. Excellent hotel, incredible staff and a gorgeous location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is nice - clean and comfortable. The decor is modern in the old building(1100yo). The service is good and stuff is helpful. The breakfast was is very nice. I think these place have best location and view in San miniato.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Great views. very clean and nIce decor. Lovely people. We stayed in Federico 2 on the 4th floor. It's the only room on the 4th floor. The bed Is huge. Very cool. Right in centre of town. So can walk to restaurants etc

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a room with a "view." The hotel is lovely- very clean and comfortable. The decor is tasteful and modern set in an old convent, perched on the top of a hill. The service is nice and efficient- we paid exactly what we expected. The owners were eager to assist with directions and let us use their hotel printer. The breakfast buffet is very nice, with great cappuccino.
Cons: strange-smelling cleaning supplies (smelled like grappa); view rooms are over small parking lot; maids play loud music and otherwise make a lot of noise; weak wi-fi signal due to thick walls.

Room Tip: away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel situated in San Miniato which is almost central to all the major sites of Tuscany from Florence to Pisa to Siena and to the Wine Valley's. If you want a central location (almost everything is within an hour), this is a good spot. The value for what you get is probably the best out there. I reserved the hotel through Booking.com and got an incredible rate. This might not always be the case but it was for me and my family. The breakfast (which is included in the price) was descent but the real food is surrounding you throughout the restaurants in many locations in Tuscany so we weren't too concerned with that. It is the same as any other hotel so you get your meats, cheeses, caffe, tea, bread, etc. The staff was very courteous and helpful and they did everything to make our stay great. The room was very spacious, clean, unique and a big kicker: the wi-fi is free. My terrific rate didn't include a room with a view but from what we saw, those rooms with the view would be getting a beautiful view. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone whether a single traveler or families (it was my wife, myself and our 11 month old).

Room Tip: We had a room without a view but it was a very spacious and clean room. If you want to splurge, I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this hotel from a list by Ariannandfriends.com who we had booked through to go to see Andrea Bocelli in concert - fantastic!
The hotel is very easy to get to from Pisa airport and is set in a lovely hilltop town. The room was comfortable and a good size and, although the hotel was quite full, it was very quiet. The staff were all friendly and helpful and an ample breakfast can be taken sitting out on the veranda.
There is a local rail station where you can take a train to Florence which saves the nightmare of finding a parking space!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Miniato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Miniato

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 2, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Miniato leans in the citycentre giving the guest the sensations of the old medioeval village with its flavours, its suggestions and its history. All this, together with confort and wellness standards make the Hotel San Miniato a new and funtional hotel placed in a suggestive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel San Miniato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Miniato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.