We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Italian hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Settesoldi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miniato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Settesoldi
Via Barbinaia 2, 56028 San Miniato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Warm Italian hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We started our Tuscany trip with Sergio and Cecilia at Agriturismo Settesoldi and their generous and warm hospitality were sorely missed during the rest of our trip. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the company of our wonderful hosts. Dinners with Sergio and Cecilia are a must! Cecilia's cooking is simply a treat and she whips up a feast every night. You will be assured of going to bed every night completely stuffed and having been regaled with interesting stories by Sergio. The Agriturismo is sited over a valley with breathtaking views, and helms an olive orchard which Sergio lovingly tends to. We had the good fortune and privilege of accompanying Sergio for his first olive press of the season, and the taste of the freshly pressed olive oil is one that we won't forget. The Agriturismo also serves as the perfect base to explore the region. You can leave aside your guide books and trust instead in Sergio to tell you where you should be visiting - he is a wealth of local knowledge and his recommendations were spot on for us. If you want to go truffle hunting, that's something that Sergio can quite easily arrange as well. The rooms are nice and clean, and Sergio and Cecilia exceedingly accommodating. They lit their fire place for the first time this season for us who hail from the tropics. All in all, we cannot praise Sergio, Cecilia and Agriturismo Settesoldi enough. Great hosts, good and tranquil location, and hearty Italian fare. What more can one ask for for a perfect retreat?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bugibba, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

grazie padre eterno as the tuscans say for this memorable stay at settesoldi san miniato tuscany! beautiful views! beautiful hosts!....sergio or as the british refer to him sir.joe! and his lovely wife cecilia! beautiful food! beautiful pool! beautiful room! and beautiful kittens! what more can one ask! everything and everyone is beautiful at settesoldi......and to add the cherry to the cake we had a beautiful lady driver who took us everywhere and enriched our minds with her great knowledge. LA VITA E BELLA AT SETTESOLDI!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you need to chill out, forget your hectic life for a bit, and just sit down, look at beauty and have a glass of wine in a space, too perfect to ever forget, Agriturismo Settesoldi is the place to stay!

For me and my mum it was a short holiday, a well needed break to clear up thoughts and just get back on track! We spent 5 beautiful days in this agriturismo surrounded by idyllic scenery of olive groves, trees and nature. Most of all, it was the best relaxation to just sit down, and watch the sun set on the marvellous surroundings of this beautiful farmhouse. Sergio and Cecilia are of the most hospitable, making us feel truly welcome in their home! The food was excellent! Good genuine home cooking complimented with excellent red wine (Sergio makes sure your glass is never empty!), eaten either in the garden surrounded by the aromatic scents of nature as well as the herb trees of the home, or inside their quaint little dining room with typical Tuscan Decor! All this while listening to beautiful melodies!

All guests dined together with Sergio and Cecilia! I must say, dinner time was always something to look forward to! With Sergio's good humour and friendly character one will instantly feel very well drawn to this place! Some dishes which were a true hit with us were the traditional Pappa al'pomodoro freshly prepared by Cecilia from the garden's produce! Also, tagliatelle al'ragu and roast guinea fowl with vegetables and herbs from the garden! The star of the show was always Sergio's own olive oil! Delicious with all the dishes prepared at the farmhouse! One can also buy olive oil to take home with them. Upon arriving at the farmhouse in the evening, the wonderful smell of hearty cooking always welcomes you in!

The surroundings are especially beautiful in the morning, where you can spend a day relaxing by the pool then have a typical Tuscan Lunch together with the hosts. There is space where one can have a long walk amidst the Tuscan countryside. Also, at the farmhouse, everyday we were greeted by the sweetest little guests - The family cats and kittens! Such a perfect little addition to the beautiful atmosphere!

For those who wish to travel around Tuscany whilst on holiday there, and are not in a position to drive (or don't drive at all), like us, Sergio has just the answer! Since we wanted to visit some cities without a car (and public transport in Tuscany can really be dramatic!), Sergio was kind enough to hook us up with Paola Marianelli, a friend of his, who toured us round in her own private car at a very good price! Paola was not only a good driver, she was also a good source of knowledge on all things Tuscan! We travelled to Pisa, Florence, San Gimignano, Siena, Lucca and also visited the quaint little villages such as San Miniato, Balconevisi and drove through the idyllic surroundings of Val D'elsa! Paola was always well equipped with guide books of each city and gladly came to visit the main landmarks with us (we asked her to do so ourselves. She gives people the free option to go by themselves if that is what they prefer). However, having her with us was a great benefit! She taught us so many things about architecture and art in these cities. A woman of incredible knowledge! Great for those interested in visiting the cites and actually learning something about them! Also, I must say, that without her, we wouldn't have been able to visit certain cities as San Gimignano, Siena, San Miniato and Lucca (relying on train service is not a good idea!).

On a concluding note, a holiday with Sergio, Cecilia and Paola, is a recipe for a true break! We relaxed a lot whilst seeing so many different places and learned about so many things Tuscan! It was not a hectic holiday at all even though we travelled! For us, it was a holiday filled with all things beautiful; good company, good food and wine, nature, art, music and most of all, so many treasured memories with these people! So, from the heart, my mum and I would like to thank Sergio and Cecilia as well as Paola for making our holiday in Tuscany a truly memorable one! I recommend it to all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Sergio experience! Charming Sergio treats his guests with individual attention. We learnt about olives, Italy, music, life. Enjoyed his quiet rooms, the pool, the views and the company of his other guests (max 6). Savoured Cecilia's cooking at the long table on the terrace as night fell. Finally, we followed Sergio's excellent suggestions to enhance our outings and experience much more than guide-book Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First of all the location of this beautiful spot is perfect. It's about 2 km from the quiet main road and perfectly difficult to find, even with the owners drawn map :) It's all quiet and the view over the valley is amazing.

The rooms are very clean and just like everything else the decor is very tasteful, thanks to the owners former job as an interior decorator and his lovely wife - they both have a great interest in culture, aesthetics and quality which makes everything there tasteful, beautiful... and tasty!

The food is amazing. The owner had spend half an hour to collect wild asparagus for the pasta on the first night. And boy do they know how to cook pasta.

Hanging out by the pool is the most relaxing experience with the wonderful view to the valley.

Hope to come back some day to visit this unique place with the best possible hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time here with Sergio and Cecilia (and their amazing 90 year old mother.) The place was delightful, tastefully eccentric in fact, and the hosts knowledgable, hard working and loads of fun. Settesoldi Agritourismo is a carefully refurbished building, by the supremely talented host Sergio, and it is situated in a splendid mountainous location. All we were looking for was within easy driving distances through the great Tuscan landscapes.The food and the wines we were given were exceptional and the companionship was too. What a lovely place to find (a bit tricky actually / not on gps ) for our last days in Italy. It remains one of the most memorable experiences of our travels.

Room Tip: I am sure all would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

When you stay with Sergio and Cecillia you will be incredibly well fed and get to enjoy their excellent company all in the middle of absolutely stunning scenery. Sergio is a fountain of knowledge about everything from Italian politics to renaissance art and Cecillia is magic in the kitchen. We had a really relaxing stay with them and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Settesoldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Settesoldi

Address: Via Barbinaia 2, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty lodging in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small agriturismo, which is an ancient farm-house on the hills of San Miniato al Tedesco, among woods, olive-trees and stars is the ideal place for a romantic holiday, very relaxing, with a particular attention to culture, tasteful for good and genuine things.3 rooms only ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Settesoldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Settesoldi to your Saves list