We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Part of trip to Italy !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sonnino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sonnino to your Saves list
Villa Sonnino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelvecchio, 9-11 | La Catena, 56028 San Miniato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Best Part of trip to Italy !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you go to Italy you have to go here ! It is like staying in a castle, and being treated like royalty !!!
When you arrive, the owner has a complimentary bottle of champagne ( on ice) waiting in your room. He carries your luggage, and will even pick you up at train station if needed. Restaurant is classy, menu in Italian, but ask upstairs before going to dining room, if you are not sure what the foods are. We had the ravioli( all fresh, homemade) a bottle of wine and tiramisu (also homemade) and it was only 22 Euros. Breakfast is a traditional Italian feast served on linen tablecloths by the sweetest girl you will meet in Italy. She even gave us a tour of the top floor of the villa and the grounds ( just ask, they love to show off their villa) if you need maps or directions, they are also very helpful. Every employee was absolutely fantastic ! Will go again, when I go back to Italy !!!
PS- if you are planning a wedding, they do those, too...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
37
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level Contributor
246 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything already said is utterly accurate. Staying in this 500 year old villa is a privilege. A suite of rooms and an enjoyable, beautifully cooked and relaxed dinner (our best in Italy). All served by the charming Albania Armand who, gave us a tour of the upper floor. Breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely kind and generous, a jewel in the crown of Tuscany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel many times on business,so I knew that the staff were helpful and welcoming,the rooms a nice size and the breakfast good.This time I stayed with friends and my wife,it gave me time to investigate the hotel more fully,it is worth a visit in its self,very tasteful, creating a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere,as someone else said its like staying in a palace.
I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My friend and I were visiting San Miniato for the annual truffle festival. Villa Sonnino lies in an elevated position in it's own grounds overlooking the small village of La Catena and is about 3 miles from San Miniato railway station so you do need to take a taxi. It is better if you have a car as it will save on taxi fares although there are busses at the bottom of the hotel drive.
The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Pisa, Florence, Lucca etc. Our room was a twin (room 101) which had 2 large single beds, a huge bathroom and lots of space. All spotlessly clean. There was a complimentary and welcome bottle of Asti brut in the room which we put in the minibar and scoffed later.
The breakfast was typical with cold meat and cheese but very good-do try the sweet cakes and pies-yum yum. The restaurant food was excellent and we ate in for 2 nights out of 3. Very good house wine.
It is family run and the owners couldn't do enough for us.If you want anything just ask. Their English is better than my Italian!! Will stay again.Buonissimo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed in Villa Sonnino because I just found it by browsing booking engines... but what a marvellous discovery it was! The Villa is somewhere in between a museum, a renaissance villa and a fairy-tale castle. What's more: it comes with a gourmet restaurant, so no need to go out in the evening. When I looked at the price of the hotel room and restaurant bill the following morning, I thought there had been a mistake, but no: it's just very inexpensive. This must have been one of the best price/quality scores ever in my lengthy Italian hotel experience.
The only small downside is that you need a car to get there, but that applies to just about any place in Italy outside the city centres.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I return every yr. for at least a week and i am greeted like a lost relative.the rooms are Iarge with marble baths. the bkfst. is superb. the surrounding grounds of the castle and dining rooms are set in a tuscan scene that you will never forget. last yr. we had 25 guests to celebrate my grandaughters 25th birthday . the owners put on a dinner etc. that was unforgetable. someday she plans on having her wedding there. believe me, as a seasoned traveler, this is a hidden ruby. close to florence, monticatini, lucca etc. oh,the white truffles!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Miniato
1.7 mi away
Hotel San Miniato
Hotel San Miniato
#2 of 5 in San Miniato
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Miravalle Palace Hotel
Miravalle Palace Hotel
#3 of 5 in San Miniato
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Albergo Quattro Gigli
Albergo Quattro Gigli
#1 of 2 in Montopoli in Val d'Arno
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
19.9 mi away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#1 of 25 in Volterra
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
10.2 mi away
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
#1 of 2 in Capannoli
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonnino

Address: Via Castelvecchio, 9-11 | La Catena, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sonnino 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Sonnino, built in 500, when the Restaurant Castelvecchio, and situated halfway up the slope of a hill in the heart of Tuscany halfway between Pisa and Florence in San Miniato.The eye of the attentive observer will sense the presence of a church on the hill near the recently restored and housing which it dominates: Cigoli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Sonnino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sonnino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.