We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel i n the crown of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sonnino

Save Saved
You added Villa Sonnino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Sonnino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Castelvecchio, 9-11 | La Catena, 56028 San Miniato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in San Miniato
farnham common
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A jewel i n the crown of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everything already said is utterly accurate. Staying in this 500 year old villa is a privilege. A suite of rooms and an enjoyable, beautifully cooked and relaxed dinner (our best in Italy). All served by the charming Albania Armand who, gave us a tour of the upper floor. Breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely kind and generous, a jewel in the crown of Tuscany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
29
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel many times on business,so I knew that the staff were helpful and welcoming,the rooms a nice size and the breakfast good.This time I stayed with friends and my wife,it gave me time to investigate the hotel more fully,it is worth a visit in its self,very tasteful, creating a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere,as someone else said its like staying in a palace.
I couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My friend and I were visiting San Miniato for the annual truffle festival. Villa Sonnino lies in an elevated position in it's own grounds overlooking the small village of La Catena and is about 3 miles from San Miniato railway station so you do need to take a taxi. It is better if you have a car as it will save on taxi fares although there are busses at the bottom of the hotel drive.
The hotel is ideally placed for visiting Pisa, Florence, Lucca etc. Our room was a twin (room 101) which had 2 large single beds, a huge bathroom and lots of space. All spotlessly clean. There was a complimentary and welcome bottle of Asti brut in the room which we put in the minibar and scoffed later.
The breakfast was typical with cold meat and cheese but very good-do try the sweet cakes and pies-yum yum. The restaurant food was excellent and we ate in for 2 nights out of 3. Very good house wine.
It is family run and the owners couldn't do enough for us.If you want anything just ask. Their English is better than my Italian!! Will stay again.Buonissimo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed in Villa Sonnino because I just found it by browsing booking engines... but what a marvellous discovery it was! The Villa is somewhere in between a museum, a renaissance villa and a fairy-tale castle. What's more: it comes with a gourmet restaurant, so no need to go out in the evening. When I looked at the price of the hotel room and restaurant bill the following morning, I thought there had been a mistake, but no: it's just very inexpensive. This must have been one of the best price/quality scores ever in my lengthy Italian hotel experience.
The only small downside is that you need a car to get there, but that applies to just about any place in Italy outside the city centres.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I return every yr. for at least a week and i am greeted like a lost relative.the rooms are Iarge with marble baths. the bkfst. is superb. the surrounding grounds of the castle and dining rooms are set in a tuscan scene that you will never forget. last yr. we had 25 guests to celebrate my grandaughters 25th birthday . the owners put on a dinner etc. that was unforgetable. someday she plans on having her wedding there. believe me, as a seasoned traveler, this is a hidden ruby. close to florence, monticatini, lucca etc. oh,the white truffles!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Sonnino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonnino

Address: Via Castelvecchio, 9-11 | La Catena, 56028 San Miniato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > San Miniato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in San Miniato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sonnino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Sonnino, built in 500, when the Restaurant Castelvecchio, and situated halfway up the slope of a hill in the heart of Tuscany halfway between Pisa and Florence in San Miniato.The eye of the attentive observer will sense the presence of a church on the hill near the recently restored and housing which it dominates: Cigoli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Sonnino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sonnino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.