We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, neat and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashtamudi Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kollam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashtamudi Villas
Save
You added Ashtamudi Villas to your Saves list
Thevally, Mathilil . Po | Near Nambarath Junction, Kollam 691601, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Villa for 1,250 (INR) pn
Ranked #2 of 34 Kollam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, neat and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This site is much better than most of the resorts I have I been.. (been to a lot).. Beautiful location, friendly host, lovely view... Will come back for sure and stay longer.. Keep doing the good work.. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
75
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights there. Joseph (owner) & his staff are very helpfull. Food is very good. Place is nice. Rooms are clean & finishing work is very impressive (very rare in India!). Ideally located : outside the city center so very calm area, but not too far (5mn by auto). We decided to come and stay in Kollam for a couple of days in order to attend the main puram festival and avoid the crowds and hassles of Allepey and that was I believe an excellent choice. Joseph can arrange backwater trips for a very reasonnable price and indicate where/when to go for attending nearby festivals (there are festivals featuring elephants, dances and music from December until April). I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I found this place more by chance but I was positively surprised! It's very relaxing, the staff is extremely helpful and the location just right on the banks of Ashtamudi lake is really beautiful. Cold beer is available (not common in budget acommodation across Tamil Nadu) and the food is great too!

Room Tip: A very relaxing place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent just one night there, but I wish I could stay longer.I was very lucky to find this place: ideal location at the lake, far from noise and traffic. The ambiance is also wonderful: very beautiful with hammocks. I loved to sleep there under the palm trees, even though the room was very comfortable, well and comfortably equipped and spotless. The food was also excellent,and so the service. The owner is an outstanding person- I can not even find enough positive words. He helped me a lot when I wanted to get my luggage from the cloak room at the train station and when I wanted to take part in a temple festival,he made sure I would be safe coming back late at night. He is really friendly and cares for guests- you won't find often this kind of attitude even in a luxurious hotels. It definitely was one of the best places to stay during my trip to India.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed every minute. The setting is outstanding, with beautiful cottages in pretty gardens on the edge of the lake. Perfect for relaxing. Meals were an absolute treat, we ate the biggest, tastiest prawns ever here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us drinks whenever we wanted them. The cottages and bathrooms are very attractive and well appointed. There is an eco-friendly theme, which accounts for the lack of air conditioning, although fans are supplied.
Thank you Joseph, Jason and Aloysius, we hope to come back!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but do not have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and were really glad we did. The garden location by the lake is great for chilling out, and the food served was some of the best we had in India. Nightmares concerning mosquito hell due to being right on the lakeside were entirely misplaced. Trips out from the hotel are easily arranged (we took a canoe ride in the backwaters) but you don't feel pressured to do so at all. They also went to some lengths to organise our 2am taxi to Trivandrum airport and be around to see us off. What more could you ask!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spent one night here. Its in a beautiful tranquil spot right beside the water. You can relax in the hammocks by day and then eat your dinner with a beautiful view of the water. Service was excellent, we were allowed to check in early as our train arrived early and booked canoe trip which was well organised and a must when you're visiting kollam. Both Joseph and his young apprentice were extremely helpful and spoke excellent english. The accommodation is of recent construction and immaculate throughout. Despite not having AC it is the nicest accomodation we have stayed in in India. Only minor grumble is that the location does not have anywhere within walking distance to go for dinner or even a coffee. Despite this it was top notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashtamudi Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Villas

Address: Thevally, Mathilil . Po | Near Nambarath Junction, Kollam 691601, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst Kerala's peaceful backwaters and overlooking Ashtamudi Lake is Ashtamudi Villas, your private retreat in Kollam, offering a unique opportunity to enjoy the tranquility of Keralan life. Accommodation: Situated in their own private gardens, each lakeside villas boasts double bed and modern bathroom facilities. Our brand new villas employ the latest in eco-friendly technology, setting innovative new standards in sustainable tourism. During your stay with us, simply take time to relax in Ashtamudi's tranquil surroundings. Enjoy a book from our well-stocked library or take time to sample the delights of Kerala cuisine. Furthermore, canoe-boat and house-boat tours can be arranged from your own private jetty in the grounds. Location and Access: Ashtamudi Villas is located just five minutes drive from Kollam, near Thevally Bridge. Alternatively guests may arrive via house-boat running between Kollam and Alleppey. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Villas Kollam, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashtamudi Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.