We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding- location,staff,food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam to your Saves list
WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thevally,Mathilil P.O.,Kollam | Kerala, Kollam 691601, India (Formerly The Raviz Kollam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding- location,staff,food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night here which was a last minute reservation due to a change in our holiday plans due to a strike and the taxis not being allowed on the road, It was a great find by the travel agent and we had an out standing stay. The view from our room over the back waters was excellent as were the reception, restaurant and door men.The food was wonderful. Although it was a 5* it was one of the best. The pool area was very pleasant.At 4.30pm we went for free tea followed by a trip on a houseboat which was an added bonus since we were unable to go on a house boat over night as planned due to the strike.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking the water and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    82
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
171
109
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Motoring through bustling, congested Kollam, we arrived at the gates of the Raviz. Immediately, the cityscape fell away to a beautiful backwater oasis. One would never suspect that there would lie such a serene getaway in the heart of the city.

The accommodations are excellent, the service is outstanding. The staff really go out of its way to make sure your stay is comfortable. The grounds and the backwaters are a special treat. The Kerala cuisine merits a special mention, being authentic and flavorful. There is so much more to say about this lovely haven, but we will leave that to others to discover!!!!

We sincerely wish we had more time to spend at this visit but plan to return in 2015 with our family for an extended holiday.

Room Tip: ask for backwaters' view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The visit to Raviz, Kollam, Kerala was a long planned one. But the experience was out of the world. A pleasant surrounding, bang on the banks of Ashtamudy Lake. The reception lobby is well decked with a couple of traditional lamps adoring the centre and a beautiful arrangement of spices inside a country boat. The rooms are well furnished and the food is a sumptous treat.
Though the place was well-occupied, we never felt the crowd. The most enjoyable even was the house boat ride around the lake. That was one of the best maintained house boats too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very modern hotel, with good food and very friendly staff. The hotel is about 3 Km
outside Kollam so a little isolated in not being about to walk out and dine.
However this was not a problem as the food quality was excellent, you pay more than locally, but in India I prefer to eat quality and avoid an tummy problems.
This hotel has lovely views of Ashmudi lake, at the south end of the backwaters, and is ideal for houseboat trips on the lake. Would recommend for 2 or 3 day stay.
The Raviz does houseboat trips, but I found their Webpage lacking in information and detailed prices. So arrange my own trip from Saha Yathri Tours (Rajeev )
There are two trips to consider on the lake, a full day houseboat trip, or a trip to Monroe Island and take a small canoe down the very small backwater channels.
Rajeev ( Saha Yathri Tours) did me a package and we combined both trips into one. We had a full day on the lake, starting at 10.30 am and finishing at 5.30 pm
( being collected and delivered back to the hotel on the boat)
We stopped off and did about an hour and half side trip up the side canals at Monroe Island. THe trip included a Shrimp and Fish curry lunch consisting of twelve seperate dishes .!!! In the afteroon we has Tea and banana fritters.
The trip was 8000 Rupee ( abouy £100) the boat can accomodate four, so at £25 a head, it was a great day out. The lake/backwaters at this end are sea water so have adifferent feel to the Alleppey end.Try both if you have the time.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

"Atithi Devo Bhava " - This is what you will exprience at The Raviz Kollam.

We were group of 5 couples & every one had a Year old Kid.We stayed here for 3N/4D.
We enjoyed every moment of our stay here.The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.They took good care of our kids when we used to dine.

You never get bored here as there are so many activities which will keep you occupied all day [swimming,table tenis,snooker,shuttle,tennis,kids room(the best),indoor games,....the list goes onnnnnnn....]

The breakfast,lunch,dinner was awesome & wide spread with lots of varities for pure vegetarians like us.Most of the time we requested for special meals [breakfast/lunch/dinner] for kids & the chef himself used to come to us to discuss the menu.Trust me all the kids loved the food.

Evening Tea/Coffee/Snacks,special sunset cruise,cultural show was very good.

Overall The Raviz is the best luxurious resort to stay in and around Astamoodi Lake,Kollam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, the owner appears to have a close connection with the famous SRK who appears to have done a bunch of marketing for him. The public areas and garden and well kept and impressive as are the views out over the backwaters. The houseboat owned by the hotel is also very pretty, we spent 2 nights on it touring the same.
Where this establishment really falls down is the service and planning. We ran out of loo roll on the boat within a day (we're not heavy users) and the three staff on the boat had little concept of service. Our rooms were not cleaned until 6pm the day after the first night. It appeared that the staff were arguing over whose duty it was, NOT impressive, especially when in the confined spaces the boat offers. The excursion to the 'fish market' to pick up some local delicacies was actually to a tiny stall on the main street in a very busy village....don't bother if you're offered this 'excursion'. It was the chef on the boat's first experience cooking on his own (he was 18) and it showed, all the meals tasted the same

Breakfast in the main hotel was ample but really of very average quality compared to the several other hotels we stayed in in India and once a service was lacklustre and strained.
It's a relatively new company so maybe with time they'll get better, at the moment they're about a decade behind the service you'll get at Taj etc. Until they get this in order perhaps their tariffs should respect their novice status.

Perhaps this is all a hangover from the marxist history in Kerala but it makes for a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a marvelous stay in ‘The Raviz’. This is a very reasonably priced for a luxury hotel. Clean surroundings, Wonderful interiors, friendly staff, excellent dining, cozy hospitality and in a very apt location… That’s Raviz in short!
After the hectic travel, we reached the hotel exhausted. The warm welcome, cheerful smiles, energy packed front office staff wiped out all our sickness and charged us!! We have to specially thank Mr. Deepak for his full swing support and his entire team especially Rose Mary (You have a beautiful smile, Rose…) & Sajini (the cute little chatter box…). Also the buddy driver, the restaurant team (Mr. Suraj, Sujish, Faizal) and the spa (Julie, you were amazing!) and lot many….!
We’ll never forget the surprise cake and the sudden gathering in the restaurant. Bamboo rafting, swing, oh... the thattukada, boat rowing.... classical dance by Neenu.. flag hoisting for Republic day followed by the parade and many many precious moments... :)
I have no words to thank each one of you… who made our stay memorable! May God Bless…!!

Room Tip: You can ask for room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam

Address: Thevally,Mathilil P.O.,Kollam | Kerala, Kollam 691601, India (Formerly The Raviz Kollam)
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kollam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kollam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star deluxe property on the banks of the serene Ashtamudi Lake. In the heart of Kerala’s lush backwater country, in Kollam. The Raviz skilfully redefines luxury combining a historic ambience with modern luxuries. This five star deluxe resort, Spread over 5 acres of beautiful landscaped lush green gardens, boasts 93 guestrooms designed with subtle touches while incorporating the finest comforts of contemporary living. Whats more, the 93 exquisitely furnished rooms and suites including heritage villas and private villas with pool, provide an astonishing level of comfort that is hard to match. At The Raviz you will indulge in nature’s luxurious surroundings and tranquil waters, while you are swept away and enchanted by its beauty. The serene Ashtamudi Backwaters exude stillness and calm, while its exotic beauty, freshness and purity welcome you.Welcome to the untouched and unseen Heaven in God's own country, Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort And Ayurveda Spa, Kollam Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WelcomHotel Raviz Ashtamudi, Resort and Ayurveda Spa, Kollam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.