We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nani to your Saves list
Nani
Opposite Clock Tower, Main Road | Chinnakada, Kollam 691 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Staying in Kollam for two nights was a bit of a mistake as there is not much for the tourist to do that is wildly exciting (I had already done the Backwaters and didn't fancy any more of them) and the town is a typical Indian town - noisy, crowded and a bit scruffy. However, staying at the Nani was NOT a mistake - the hotel is well maintained and clean and the staff polite and helpful. The room and attached bathroom was fine. When I called Reception to tell them that the TV in my room did not seem to be working, within minutes two technicians arrived and tinkered about with it and then showed me how to get the channels in English. The hotel is situated opposite a derelict clock tower and the hustle and bustle of the town is right outside. The restaurant served good food in the evenings and I was directed to a hotel at Kollam Beach so that I could partake of alcohol (30 rupees in an auto-rickshaw). Breakfast on the first morning was a plate of fairly unappetising Indian fare but on the second morning there was a small buffet, mainly of Indian food. It was a pity that the girl in charge of the toaster did not understand that if the dial was increased from Number 1 then toast could be produced without having to put the bread through the machine about eight times and still not really producing toast. Apart from this, Nani is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
28
39
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirupur, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is centrally located . Very neat and friendly service. The quality of food was good. Had a good sleep, very suitable for business travellers. The hotel has ample parking space for car. The only disadvantage was that when we open the window we had noise from the theater next to the hotel. So avoid those room in that side.

Room Tip: Avoid room in the side of the Theater
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A short distance from the railway station although access is typically littered will all kinds of rubbish. In contrast, the Nani is spotless and comfortable. If your room faces the clock tower, you'll get treated to the sounds of Westminster Chimes!

The Chinese food in the restaurant can be on the bland side but if you stick to Indian food for the buffet breakfast, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We didn't stay here but we had dinner at the restuarant and it was exceptional. The traditional Keralan food was superab, especially the Fish Mollie and Prawn Masala and the butterscotch milkshake was a big hit with us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padstow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my family, the reception and staff were very good,we were fortunate enough to meet the owner who was very pleasant and helpful.the rooms were spotless, with cable tv, which my children loved for all the different programmes.bathroom also had hot water another +in India.this hotel made our trip to kollam more enjoyable,the breakfasts were the best on our trip so far, plenty of choice and good hot coffee and tea.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I, stayed at Nani Hotel for only one day. We had a very comfortable stay. It is centrally located.The room was compact, clean and well maintained. Food was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

From a location perspective, the place is centrally located, a 5 minute walk from the Railway Station. The rooms are ok, however would need to be spruced up if they want to even apply for some rating (which I heard they are).

In this age of Free Wi fi everywhere, charging for wi fi is not appreciated.

Food and service was okay.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nani

Address: Opposite Clock Tower, Main Road | Chinnakada, Kollam 691 001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kollam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Kollam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nani is a 3 star luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Kollam town. It boasts 28 well appointed rooms, a multi-cuisine restaurant, conference hall, business centre, library and fitness centre. All rooms are stylishly appointed using only the finest of materials to satisfy the most discerning of guests. Welcome to Nani, for an experience as unique as you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nani Kollam, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.