We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What seemed to be a typical Portuguese home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Adro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa do Adro to your Saves list
Casa do Adro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Diario de Noticias 10, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-257, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“What seemed to be a typical Portuguese home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent two nights at Casa do Adro while on a recent walking trip. The place is a home/b&b on a small street in a fabulous Vila Nova de Milfontes location. The hosts were incredibly accommodating and thoughtful, down to every detail. There were snacks and drinks at our disposal. The staff was there to assist with anything needed. The home was immaculate, with lots of traditional Portuguese decor everywhere. Our room was comfortable, large enough (but we had two twin beds, with separate bedding, which was... interesting.) The breakfast was wonderful. Although everything about the place was great, we had somewhat of a sense of being overwhelmed. It might have been because everywhere else we stayed was so much more simple and quiet, which this was not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
117
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was a positive surprise from the very beginning..
Where to start? it is a very familiar, very clean, small & cozy place. The rooms have quite enough space and a very sweet terrace/balcony.
At arrival, you might be offered freshly pressed Orange juice & cake & tea.. and from then on, there should be no reason to stop smiling :)
The owners and the people working there refer to each other in the first name basis and pay many attentions to all you might need. For example, I was sick with a cold and they prepared lemon tea with honey and so on, making me feel very at home.
Breakfast is just AMAZING! All kind of fruits ready to eat, typical Portuguese meat and the top cheeses from the region..
I wish I could have stayed there forever... We were there just for 1 night, but next time we will plan to sleep there longer and do day trips to other cities in Costa Alentejana, since it is so well located! Otherwise, it is also quite central in Vila Nova de Milfontes and you walk 1.5min to be at the beach..
Well, I hope you have the chance to visit it and enjoy it as me and my boyfriend did!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

You really feel as though you are staying in someone's home (which you are:)) and are being cared for by family (you will feel like they are by the end of your stay). Fresh tea and cake is provided in the spotless and comfortable rooms. Decks provide good light and a comfortable place to take in some sun. Breakfast overflows with eggs, fruit, hot toast, freshly squeezed orange juice and a hot caffeinated beverage. The picturesque beach is just a short walk away. Idalia and Antonio (and staff) are the perfect hosts. If you're headed down the Portuguese coast, don't miss this!

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is unique, but similar in what they provide. We took up 3 of the 6 rooms and all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

One of the nicest B&B/small guest houses we have ever visited. Its tucked into the old part of town, with small streets and cafe lined squares. Good local street directions are needed until you get a feel for the tangle of one-way streets. The rooms are not large, but have private baths and are beautifully decorated and cozy. Idalia is a most wonderful inn-keeper. She really likes to make the quests feel like they are personal company in her home. The breakfasts were extensive and delicious. Milfontes itself is a gem! We were there at the end of a tour through Spain and Portugal and had a most relaxing time in the beautiful setting above the river, dunes and ocean. Absolutely charming and peaceful!

Room Tip: Two rooms on the second floor in the middle of the Inn, with balconies, were bigger than the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Idalia and Antonio could not be more welcoming and helpful. The house is crammed full of nick nacks but spotlessly clean and, as other reviewers have said, the welcome tea and cakes and the enormous breakfasts are amazing. Unfortunately it was raining the day we were there and my husband had man-flu so we could not walk on the Ruta Vicentina as planned but Antonio insisted on driving us to the chemist and then took us on a driving tour of the area so we did not miss out and then on to our next hotel. Way beyond the call of duty! Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Not the easiest place to find as the signage is very low key but that sums up the Casa (just head for the church). A lovely welcome with fresh orange juice and fantastic cake. Rooms don't overlook the sea but are very close and there are lovely balconies around the Casa to enjoy the sun and have breakfast outside. Although you're staying in a family home you don't feel you're intruding as you're made to feel so welcome - you are even told to help yourselves to drinks and the cheese/fruit etc in the fridge! We were a bit out of season but still managed to find a great local restaurant (thanks to the owner's recommendation) and the coastal walks are really beautiful. We can't thank the owners enough for helping us out with a spot of car trouble - their local mechanic did a great job!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

everything was perfect, the hospitality of Idalia and Antonio, the food, the room, the service, the staff, the weather, the beach.... the Fado music....
Certainly an address to visit again. We have nothing to add to all the other comments.
Arno and Christina

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Adro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Adro

Address: Rua Diario de Noticias 10, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-257, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa do Adro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa do Adro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Adro Hotel Vila Nova De Milfontes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Adro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.