We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality apartments in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duna Parque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Duna Parque to your Saves list
Duna Parque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eira da Pedra, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-291, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good quality apartments in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with Activities Abroad and found it to be good value 3* accommodation. It's just a short walk across the dunes to a quieter beach than in town, although swimming is easier at the estuary beaches. Our apartment was clean, comfortable and looked recently refurbished. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with hot and cold options. Lunch and dinner was good but limited if you don't want to eat meat. The town has a few good restaurants. There is not much to see in the area other than the coast and beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
30
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The apartments are quite cheap if you go with a family. However, we would not recommend this for a couple. The apartments are very old but spacious. The 5€ breakfast is not worth it (it tastes like cardboard), rather take a pastel de nata and coffee in the city (bakery next to supermarket). Quite frankly, we didn't like the duna parque apartments nor the city as they seemed depressing and run down. However, from Duna Parque, you can have a nice walk to a remote beach.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Min points, 1. Outdated appartments 2. Bad smelling water recycling factory just on the corner 3. Surrounding beaches poor, cold and bad smelling 4 you have to pay for wifi

Pluspoints, 1. Swimming pool ok, 2. The nearby village is nice

I would not book this again. The beaches are also very windy and cold

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was a little bit distracted when booking this place because when I got there I realized I had booked an apartment which is something I never do! But as each minute passed, from check-in to check-out, I was pleasantly surprised with the service, decoration, staff and location. Each apartment has the name of a flower and the decoration is then inspired by that flower in a very cool and trendy way, they provide quite clear guidelines on how to maintain the apartment and you can see they are respected. The cleaning ladies come every day to make beds, change towels and clean the sand off the flow (yes, it’s very close to the beach) which is just great and unexpected when renting an apartment. The garden and pool area is quite small, ideal for a swim at the end of the day to watch the sand off from the beach and enjoy a cocktail. The staff were super nice, the cleaning ladies came at the time I asked, the barmen would bring he cocktails to the pool and the other ladies gave excellent suggestions on where to go in town. This is not what you would normally get from a 3 start venue, so really great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our second time at the Duna Parque and we took advantage of a good deal for half-board (as last time).

A warm reception from Leonardo and with a combination of our limited Portuguese, some English and some Spanish we managed to obtain a safety deposit key, pool towels and establish that wifi is free in the room for 168 hours (excellent). There is also unlimited free wifi in the dining room.

This time we were allocated to Amor Perfeito (Pansy in English!), a spacious, spotlessly clean and refurbished room, on the first floor.

Breakfast is a fairly basic affair but adequate – fresh orange juice, a couple of cereals, coffee, tea, bread, jam, cheese & ham (boiled eggs would have been a nice addition though). For the evening meal, we did warn the hotel by email (in Portuguese) before our arrival of our dietary requirements (fish eaters), and although we did have some issues, we felt that the management dealt with this very generously.

All the staff were absolutely charming and a special thank you should go to Inez in the dining room for her attention and consideration.

Was there anything we didn’t like? Well, they have changed to sun-beds around the pool from the usual white plastic affairs to some rather ugly, slug like brown bean bags. They were not particularly comfortable and almost impossible to get out of. However, this is a minor point - this is a rather charming, low key hotel with lovely staff in a pleasant location.
We are awarding 4 stars for the hotel and 3 for food.
The hotel is recommended for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nigths in a two bedroom townhouse (living room, kitchen and WC dowstrairs, 2 bedrroms and bathroom on the 1st floor a terrace and a small yard). The house was not renovated and didn´t correspond to the pictures on the site. The accomodation was funcional but datted. The resort outside space is not very appealing and resumes to the pool area. You don´t have green areas to hang on. The recepcion hall is very tiny. The location is not central but is within a walking distance from the beach and from the village center. Didn´t find it fantastic.
The village is quite beautifull with a plus for river mouth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The apartment was clean, reasonably well equipped, and quiet. The central courtyard was very well kept, with a kids playground, mini golf, and grassed areas. There was an enclosed heated pool and hot tub, and an outdoor pool.

Duna Parque is away from the main part of town, but is a fairly short walk to downtown. About 200 metres of sand dunes separate the facility from the Atlantic beach. In May, the dunes were bright with flowers. The beach is long and wide. Not a beach for swimming, as the waves were strong even when the sea was calm. You can walk over the dunes to the river side of the town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duna Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Parque

Address: Eira da Pedra, Vila Nova de Milfontes 7645-291, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Vila Nova de Milfontes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vila Nova de Milfontes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Duna Parque 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Duna Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duna Parque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.