We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying here 2 nights a week for business... great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4210 Barbican Avenue, Weston, WI 54476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“staying here 2 nights a week for business... great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

they let me check in early (on my lunch break) and check out late.. comfy beds, pretty good breakfast, and a "managers reception" where you get 2 free drinks (beer or soda) along with popcorn, chips n salsa, and pretzels.

I stay here Monday through Wednesday every week for business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We appreciate your business. Thank you for your kind feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
13
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was well laid out and very roomy.
Bed was a little more comfortable than the usual hotel bed.
Nice breakfast.
Very large and nice pool area. There is kids splash area, unfortuneately the water was not turned on so my son was not able to play in it. The next morning it was on; my son saw this and he wanted to go in but we had to leave. That was the only dissapointment during out stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We want you to enjoy your stay everytime you are with us. Next time you come please let front desk know you would like water features on. We do not run them all the time because of conserving energy. We would be more than glad to accomadate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a fairly new (2007) hotel, but it could use a good scrub down. Not as clean as the last time we were here a couple of years ago. Not unacceptable, but could be impvoved.
Service was good, everything else as you would expect at Holiday Inn Express (including a good, hot breakfast). There is a Chinese restaurant adjacent, we did not go there but it is said to be good. All other restaurants are a moderate drive from there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Good Afternoon:
We certainly appreciate your feedback. Our aim is to WOW the guest and in your case we failed to do so.
Please be assured my employees and I will assess the hotel and search out where we have failed in your eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice but the front desk needs to pay attention to the clients more then they do to each other. The employees seem to talk a lot to each other and forget that they are working. I waited 7 minutes before they were finished telling each other what they did the night before. It happened more then one time during my stay and the employee knew I was there which made it worst. It is a nice hotel besides that, if you could skip the front desk it would have been great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to address your concerns during your stay with us. Our whole mission is to make your stay a complete success. I will be addressing your concerns with all of my staff. We will make every effort to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked at the last minute to ski Granite Peak about 10 minutes away. I have to say, I was impressed. I didn't expect a lot from a Holiday Inn Express but it was one of the cleanest hotels I've been to in a while. The beds were comfortable and the room was good size. The pool area was very clean and larger than I would've expected. The free breakfast had a good variety of cereal, bagels, pancakes, etc... I don't give a review of 5 often and this wouldn't be a 5 against a $250 per night room but for comparable hotels, this was the best. I'd look to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room with a patio door to the parking lot, it makes to unload and load the luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
My staff and I want to than you for yhe kind words. We strive to make your stay wth us an enjoyable experience. Please think of us again when you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday January 19th. I have stayed a few times in the past and have been impressed with the property, but it has shown a decline that is disappointing. The first thing I noticed when checking in at around 1pm was that any glass surface in the lobby: doors; counters; pool windows; etc. were all very finger printed, smeared and dirty looking.

I never saw staff sitting on the service side of the desk, and several times I saw people waiting at the desk to check in or get assistance, including myself. There is no bell to ring for service. After checking in I wanted to grab a cup of tea and the water was out and no tea was in the tea basket. I asked for a tea bag and staff said she didn't know where they are kept it, I would have to wait until the morning staff came in.

Later that evening when getting ready for bed we turned down the covers to find long hair and some sort of gunk on the bed sheets. Obviously they had not been changed. The front desk staff had nothing in the way of an apology or compensation but did give us a key to a different room. The room was just across the hall, but still no fun moving all of our things in the middle of the night.

Worth mentioning is couple of signs I saw posted around the property. There is one on the phone that says ‘this is not a toy…”, and also one on the door to the pool that goes on about how the pool is for hotel guests only and if you take a guest in the pool and you are discovered you and your guest will be required to leave the hotel. I assume this is in reaction to some past incident but essentially the signage addresses guests like they are either idiots or hooligans and cheapens the feel of the property.

Room Tip: The 2 queen room looking over the parking lot was a bit bigger than the first room with the dirty sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Please accept my apology for the problems you had with your sheets in the guest room during your stay with us. I can certainly understand how frustrated you felt.
Our mission is to "Impress the Guest " and in your case we failed on all aspects. I have
used your review to impress upon upon my staff the importance of providing our guests with outstanding service and cleanliness.
I appreciate your informing us of your concerns. I would like to speak with you personally, and discuss the situation and my staff . Please give the hotel a call and ask to speak to the manager. I will return your call.
Again thank you for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loved my room & experience here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Wausau WI (Weston).
Very clean, and kept up. Comfortable and friendly staff.
I was a bit surprised when I first arrived to see that there were no restaurants in the immediate area.
But if that's the worst, at least you know you'll get a good quiet nights rest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping to get restaurants out in our area soon. We do have frozen pizzas at the hotel. They are homemade and the taste is wonderful. Please be sure to visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Address: 4210 Barbican Avenue, Weston, WI 54476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Wausau, WI near Central Wisconsin Airport. Our Wausau hotel offers you ideal amenities and a convenient location off W-29, just a few miles from St Clare's Hospital, 9-Mile Recreation Park and the scenic Granite Peak Ski Area. Your family will enjoy staying at our pet-friendly hotel in Weston due to its close proximity to area attractions like the Grande Theater, Leigh Yawkey Art Museum and many choice skiing and snowmobiling areas, including Rib Mountain State Park. There are also plenty of shopping spots within four miles of our Weston hotel, including the Wausau Mall and the Cedar Creek Outlet Mall, where you can find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Wausau, WI will be pleased by our accommodations in Weston, which offer an ideal location near area businesses including Greenheck, Weyerhaeuser, Siemens, WPS, Kruegers and Lignotech. Our Wausau hotel near the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) offers premium services, such as a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a meeting room with seating for 80. During your stay at our hotel in Wausau, WI, you can enjoy the heated, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a separate kid's pool with a small water slide. Hotel facilities also include a 24-hour fitness center, a gift shop and a game room. Check out our great Wausau, Wisconsin hotel room deals and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wausau
Holiday Inn Weston
Weston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.