We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4210 Barbican Avenue, Weston, WI 54476   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had my first stay at Holiday Inn Express Weston last weekend. It is a newer hotel (2007) with a very nice lobby and friendly staff. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. There were a lot of teen and pre-teen kids the 1st night and I heard no noise even though I was near the elevator. I get to Wausau a couple times a year and have always stayed at the nearby Holiday Inn Rothschild but tried the Express this time. The kiddie pool at the Express is nicer, having 2 slides instead of 1. It offers a hot breakfast whereas the Holiday Inn has a Green Mill attached so they only offer a cold carb breakfast. The 1st morning they had hot sausage and scrambled eggs and very good hot cinnamon rolls. The 2nd morning they had a little poorer offering of very thin and burned bacon that broke into tiny pieces when you bit it and some pre-made omelets that were kind of bland, but I offer that only as a comment. Overall, I was very happy there and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heyroth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We appreciate your feed back. The breakfast is our brand standard, but as we receive comments about it we can pass this along to our corporate offices. We want to make sure you enjoy all asoects of your stay. Please be assured any comment will be addressed. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
13
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

this is a very clean and a nice hotel, its location is very close to the main highway. the very breakfast is sufficient and the staff is helpful and it is also nice to have a choice of firmness on several pillows provided in the room. great job hei.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a nice clean and quiet hotel. Its a good stay for the price and in a nice safe area. The bed was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again and plan to when I am in the area.

Room Tip: This was my 3rd stay and all rooms have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is actually the first time I have stayed in a HIE. I was quite surprised on the quality of the room. Very clean, up to date and the beds were very comfortable. I will try the HIE again, with hopes that the quality is as nice as this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the 2nd time in a year that we've stayed here. The kids like the pool area and we like the lounge area in the lobby. It's nice to come back there and visit with our friends and family by the fireplace and watching the game on the tv. The rooms are very average, but comfortable. The free breakfast in the morning isn't great, but very adequate. Must be good enough because we are all full when we're done. This is the place that we will be staying when we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are huge and comfortable. If you smoke they have first floor rooms with sliding doors to the outside. Very clean and new everywhere. The only thing bad is the typical Hie lousy breakfast. Staff very helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I travel for business and had a disagreement with my "regular" hotel in the area when they wanted to make a photocopy of my drivers license. They told me its a "new company policy that is required by homeland security" so I decided to give HEI-Weston a try based on a referral from others I work with.

Upon check in there was a snafu with my reservation, however the employee that checked me in knew exactly how to handle the matter and it was a seamless checkin after that.

My room was spacious and even had a television in the bathroom with remote. The room was spotless. I have to honestly say the room was nicer then a recent stay at a Ritz Carlton I was at!

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and plentiful. All food was hot

The employees at this hotel go out of thier way to see that your needs are met. This will be my new "regular" hotel when on business in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau

Address: 4210 Barbican Avenue, Weston, WI 54476
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Wausau, WI near Central Wisconsin Airport. Our Wausau hotel offers you ideal amenities and a convenient location off W-29, just a few miles from St Clare's Hospital, 9-Mile Recreation Park and the scenic Granite Peak Ski Area. Your family will enjoy staying at our pet-friendly hotel in Weston due to its close proximity to area attractions like the Grande Theater, Leigh Yawkey Art Museum and many choice skiing and snowmobiling areas, including Rib Mountain State Park. There are also plenty of shopping spots within four miles of our Weston hotel, including the Wausau Mall and the Cedar Creek Outlet Mall, where you can find great bargains. Business travelers looking for lodging in Wausau, WI will be pleased by our accommodations in Weston, which offer an ideal location near area businesses including Greenheck, Weyerhaeuser, Siemens, WPS, Kruegers and Lignotech. Our Wausau hotel near the Central Wisconsin Airport (CWA) offers premium services, such as a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a meeting room with seating for 80. During your stay at our hotel in Wausau, WI, you can enjoy the heated, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a separate kid's pool with a small water slide. Hotel facilities also include a 24-hour fitness center, a gift shop and a game room. Check out our great Wausau, Wisconsin hotel room deals and book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wausau
Holiday Inn Weston
Weston Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wausau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.