We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back - suggest you do not either” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Weston Inn & Suites

Weston Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Weston Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Weston Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5810 Schofield Avenue, Weston, WI 54476   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Weston B&B and Inns
Sussex, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Will never go back - suggest you do not either”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were there with a group for a bowling tournament at the lanes next door. It was overpriced for the rooms - there are many other hotels in Wausau much nicer at better prices - it was not worth the convenience of being next to the bowling center. Many people booked there rooms in blocks together - when they checked in they found they were on different floors - the front desk charged them to move their room. We were told when we checked in "there will be NO moving". The continental breakfast was a joke, only 1 ice machine in the entire building, soda machines not working, toilet broken in our room, heat sounded like a jet engine when it started.

The person at the front desk was incredibly hostile and “couldn’t be bothered” with problems. Now I admit they were understaffed some of the employees had been on over 24 hours but that is not a reason for the rudeness.

On Sunday many bowlers were bowling early so they checked out and left on our hallway at least ½ the rooms were vacant and standing open. We were told that some called in and they there were only two maids and they were not even going to get to the third floor until Monday. A few of us didn’t bowl until 1pm and didn’t have to be at the center until noon. We asked for late checkout – we were told no because that is their rule. I have never heard of a hotel not offering that service when there was not wait for a maid to get to all of the room to clean before noon. Three people in our group went to breakfast and asked if coming back after 11 would be a problem – they were told it was ok. At 11 am everyone’s room keys were turned off and if you were not in your room you could not get back in – fortunately a maid let me back into my room.

At the end of the day two of the maids tried to convince us that it is not usually like that and apologized. Those two maids should get a raise – they were the only bright spot in that hotel.

The person at the front desk was incredabley

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    6
    0
    7
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at Weston Inn with my soccer team. We had a soccer tournament in the area and this was the most reasonable place price wise. Everyone was very friendly towards us and took the time to help us with our needs. The kids really liked the pool and game area.
Rooms were very clean overall the hotel is very clean and welcoming. If you want a hotel where you can spend couple nights and not go broke this is the place for you. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family always stay at the weston inn and love it.. Great pool and jacuzzi, and we love to go bowling next door :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We took a group to the Weston Inn recently for an overnight retreat and for the most part enjoyed the hotel. The lobby was clean and fresh. The rooms were functional, if not a bit dated. The pillows were slightly thicker than a doormat.

For some reason, the hallways smelled of food the entire time we were there. It reminded me a bit of Taiwan. The smell was okay, but not welcomed around the clock.

On Saturdays, the pool is open around the clock - a nice feature. For our stay, there were very few other guests. Our group swam from 10:30 to 11:30 and the front desk manager came in to tell us he was going to shut the pool down if we didn't keep quiet. The room echos really well and there was no shouting going on, just some laughter. I was a little disappointed.

I've stayed at a wide variety of hotels in the past few years (I'm a consultant) and would stay here again, but would likely not book a group event there, they don't quite understand the process.

The entire purpose of our weekend was to have a church service and luncheon on Sunday in their modest conference room. As we wrapped up our lunch, we were informed that we needed to get out and pay an extra fee for spilling into a second day. In other words, if you book the conference from 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., this would be TWO days (because its a hotel).

The person on duty at the front desk was not very professional or accomodating. Maybe they were just having a bad day adopting a "the-customer-is-always-wrong" attitude.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Hotel was clean but the help was less than cordial. The continental breakfast was stale and not well stocked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weston Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Inn & Suites

Address: 5810 Schofield Avenue, Weston, WI 54476
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Weston Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston & Suites is a 60 room hotel that is located only 25 steps away from Dale's Weston Lanes in Weston, Wisconsin. Our mission statement is to have all enter as strangers and leave as friends! We pride ourselves as being a very friendly and clean hotel that is privately owned and operated. At Weston Lanes they feature 60 lanes, restaurant, game room, billiard room along with a lounge for family or adult fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Weston Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Weston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weston Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.