We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT - AWAY FROM THE MADDING CROWD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria
Placa Major s/n, 17214 Regencos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Regencos
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“PERFECT - AWAY FROM THE MADDING CROWD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in the Senior Suite with our two teenaged children and had a wonderful experience. The hotel makes up this small village just a few minutes' drive from Begur and some of the most beautiful coastline on the Costa Brava. Our room was very big with two spaces, one for sleeping, the other with a fabulous view over the hills. Our children used the foldout couch and were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge. The restaurant is beautiful and we ate there two nights - delicious food and wine - out on the terrace. You feel as if you are the only people in the village, and in a sense you are. There are only seven rooms in the hotel. When we went to Begur, we were astonished at how overrun that town was and were grateful for our little oasis. There is a relaxing garden and small wading pool to cool off in. Towels are provided by the hotel. Breakfast is included in the cost and is simple, delicious food: orange juice, yoghurt, toast, pastries, cereal and coffee all enjoyed outside on the covered terrace. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Our Senior Suite was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed one night and ate in the restaurant. We booked a suite which was very large, with a spacious and well equipped bathroom. The bed was not the most comfortable, but the welcome was warm. Our dinner in the restaurant over the road was first rate and the hotel is in a good position to visit the beautiful local beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had dinner at the restaurant, which is located in this hotel. They did a very nice job with the decor, blending the old with the modern, giving the place a warm and homey atmosphere. The food and service were very good. Prices were very reasonable. If you're staying nearby at one of the coastal towns or visiting the Dali museum in Figueres, its worth the detour to have dinner there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The junior suite was very ample and charming. Having booked through I-escape, we received some chilled champagne and watermelon on arrival - what a treat!
Both Mercedes and Alicia are incredibly helpful hosts, with endless customised tips to make our holiday one to remember. We spent most of our time exploring the beaches nearby, long walks, and the occasional bike ride.
One thing to mention is that despite being a remote part of spain, this region is renowned for top notch food, and with it comes the prices. We ate at some great restaurants in begur and beyond, but not without a hefty price tag (at least €100 for 2 people with wine). The food is a mix of Spanish and French, so a little on the rich side (foi gras and pâté a plenty). The hotel restaurant was nice, but a little pricey for the meal we had - we would recommend finding others in town. Also be warned - this is a popular destination for the high class in Spain - people are very dressed up, even heels for breakfast!
All in all, an amazing stay - would definitely return. Pool side was incredibly peaceful to lounge and relax amongst the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a long drive from La Rioja. The building is lovely. Small village but quite close to other towns. Out of season so restaurant closed but we were given lots of information of local restaurants that might be open, we'd recommend Los Platillos in Begur-excellent! Booked with Mr & MES Smith so had some fizz waiting for us. Also had tour of medieval town Peratallada included too. Wasn't looking forward to it really but loved it, Nik was very informative. Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel del Teatro. The hamlet of Regencos was small and basic (as expected) and not as picturesque as some Spanish villages, but the hotel made up for it. We booked a junior suite, which was excellent. It was spacious, stylish, with laptop and a great bed. The communal areas were similarly charming. My only frustration was that the table tops were not sealed, so (our) ring marks were all too easy make! Also a couple of beers in the mini-bar would have been appreciated.

Unfortunately we went out of season so we had to get taxis to local restaurants in the evenings, as the hotel restaurant was shut. But this was no problem and the local coastline was a highlight. The staff were very friendly and were extremely flexible with our breakfast and check-out time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Barthelemy, FWI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.Our first impression wasn't great because it was so quiet and in the evening we wondered if it was really a nice place.As soon as we were shown to our beautiful suite we were more then satisfied.
The rooms are more danish looking then spanish, very comfortable,modern and stylish.The large bathroom with big tub just great.There were lots of nice amenities and products, lacked a bathrobe. The restaurant was also really excellent and a good value and so was breakfast. During the day we thought the hotel was truly charming and the village beautiful. We went horseriding just 2km away and it was magical.I highly recommand this place if u don't mind a small hotel charm luxurious but with little staff (to b expected in small places)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria

Address: Placa Major s/n, 17214 Regencos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Regencos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Regencos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel del Teatre, is a charismatic hotel located in an XVIII century building in the medieval village of Regencos in the heart of the Costa Brava. This four star hotel has 7 exclusive cozy rooms and it´s located 5 minuts from the best beaches, golf courts, medieval towns and sports clubs.The restaurant “La Cuina del Teatre”, is located in the town's old theatre, in a hundred-year-old building dating back to 1800. Our restaurant has not lose any of his initial essence, evidence of this is the conservation of the actual stage where images are now projected, while soft music is played creating a special atmosphere for our guests.Our hotel is located in one of the most beautiful regions of Catalonia known as the “Golden Triangle.” This area offers the visitor a wide variety of typical Mediterranean landscapes and scenery: pine trees, cultivated farmland, hidden coves and beautiful sandy beaches typical to the Costa Brava. Making the Ampurdan region even more unique is the numerous inland medieval villages waiting to be visited.EL TEATRE HOTEL OFFERS:- Outdoor pool with porch and shaded areas.- Cozy garden for our guests’ exclusive use.- Reading room.- Restaurant “La Cuina del Teatre.”- Large terrace for relaxing- Conference room- Private parkingENVIROMENT:The hotel is located in the heart of the Ampurdan region of the Costa Brava, one of the most prestigious and renowned destinations in Spain.The area offers an extensive range of diverse natural beauty to its visitor. Medieval villages such as Peratallada, Palau Sator, Ullastret, Monells or Pals are recommended visits as are the pretty coastal villages with their beautiful coves or beaches. We suggest: Begur (Aiguablava, Aigufreda, Sa Tuna, Sa Riera), Palafrugell (Calella, Llafranc, Tamariu), Palamos (Cala Estreta, Platja del Castell, La Fosca) or Cadaques (Cap de Creus). Other towns of interest are La Bisbal (ceramics and antiques), Figueres (Dali museum) and Girona (capital of the province and site of one of the most famous Jewish Quarters visited in Europe). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Escapio, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Teatre & Rectoria Spain/Regencos, Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Teatre & Rectoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.