We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food in the middle of nowhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Can Fabes

Can Fabes
Calle Sant Joan, 6, 08470 Sant Celoni, Spain
+34 938672851
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Sant Celoni
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed in Barcelona and wanted to go to one of the very best restaurants in the area. Quintessentially recommended and booked Can Fabes for us. We took a taxi out to the small village of Sant Celoni, about 40 minutes or so away from our hotel. It probably takes much longer if you hit the rush hour in the late afternoon. Next time I go there I will probably pay a little extra for a limo service and enjoy a champagne aperitif in the car on the way to the restaurant.

So what about the food? When you go to a 3 star Michelin restaurant you expect impeccable food and service, and this is exactly what we got. Along with our visit to NOMA in Copenhagen, this was our most memorable restaurant visit so far this year.

The restaurant organized a comfortable Mercedes taxi going back to Barcelona. I think I fell asleep after 2 minutes and woke up when we pulled in front of the hotel.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The BEST Michelin 3 Star Restaurant we have eaten at. Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Santi Santamaria created it. Xavier Pellicer has maintained the incredible standards since the death of Santi. Xavier ran his own Michelin 2 Star Restaurant in Barcelona before returning to Can Fabes where he had worked with Santi.
The building is full of charm.
We started the evening in the Cava with champagne before going upstairs to the restaurant for a wonderful gastronomic experience. Meticulous attention to flavours and detail. All local ingredients. Service impeccable. House's own Vino Blanco, Chardonnay, very good. Chose with the assistance of the sommelier a Catalonian Red.
We spent two nights in the upstairs accommodation. A must! Very tasteful and quiet.
Another highlight was breakfast in the Kitchen. We watched Xavier's assistants prepare our breakfast and their preparations for lunch while we ate. What an experience.
Angels Santimaria, Santi's widow, recommended a day trip to the nearby mountains. Stunning.
Our parting purchase was the House's own olive oil.
In the future, whenever we are near Barcelona Can Fabes for an overnighter and dinner is on our itinerary.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Michelin 3 Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Food, Service, atmosphere are ALL very good but.....

This restaurant is impossible to find even with our GPS and

Better Signage is Absolutely Necessary.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good but EXPENSIVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This restaurant is difficult to find if you are driving yourself. We actually stopped to ask directions 3 times when we were within a mile of the restaurant. One time we stopped and rolled down the window and before we could say a word, the guy asked if we were looking for Raco de Can Fabes.
Once at the restaurant the service was top notch. The menu had a la carte options or a choice of two tasting menus. One of the people in our party was vegetarian and the restaurant made substations for her where necessary.
I do have a complaint, if you want bread it is 12 Euro. This was in small print at the bottom of the menu. Having ordered a tasting menu, and being offered bread, we thought bread was included as part of the tasting menu. We were disappointed to see we were each charged 12 Euro each for bread that was nothing special. In my opinion it should have been included in the tasting menu. It just seems cheap to not included it in the tasting menu after spending so much.
In conclusion, although the food was very good, I have had better at a fraction of the cost. I enjoyed the experience, but when balanced against the cost, I won't go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minervois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“wonderful food, perfect service, excellent room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Can Fabes is a serious 3-star restaurant, focused on Catalan food; and it fully lives up to its reputation for excellence. We stayed in one of the five rooms, hypermodern, elegant, and spotless. The welcome at the restaurant was delightful; but if you drive there, take a satnav - the Sant Celoni one-way system, through roads designed for donkeys, is baffling. The chef's menu was magnificent; and the ten courses are added to with various witty and delicious additions, so take a big apetite. Nice touch - they gave us a menu half an hour before, and offered to change any course that didn't appeal - my wife had local lamb in place of the pigeon, but otherwise we took their choice. Every dish was perfect and full of different tastes; the shrimp ravioli was one of the finest dishes I have ever tasted; the lobster was better than any I've eaten; the salt-cod tripe stew with black pudding was unusual, strong, and I loved it (though my wife didn't); the jugged pigeon was tender; and the puddings were every bit as good as expected; the restaurant sommelier was brilliant, helpful and clear; he offered an excellent sherry, then two wines produced in Penedes for the restaurant, an unoaked chardonnay - delicious - and an intense 2006 merlot powerful and rich; the sweet sherry with dessert was gorgeous. Service was perfect throughout; charming and very professional.
Breakfast next morning was magnificent: we managed about 10% of the cornucopian table. As we breakfasted we watched the kitchen staff cleaning - amazing attention to detail. We loved the whole experience; the worst thing was trying to escape the town centre in our (very large) car.
This restaurant is 3-star expensive, but well worth it; and the overnight stay is the icing on the cake - perfect!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Fabes also viewed

Sant Celoni, Province of Barcelona
Sant Celoni, Province of Barcelona
 
Sant Celoni, Province of Barcelona
Sant Celoni, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Fabes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Fabes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.