We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Jandia Mar

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Jandia Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Jandia Mar
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa del Jable S/N - Barranco de Vinamar, 35625 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 75 hotels in Pajara
doncaster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

just had two weeks and it was lovely, would love to go again, food excellent, drink free flowing, weather to die for need i say more. Bit of an uphill trek back from the beach so we went in car. Plenty of variety in resturant, a la carte was worth a visit also

Room Tip: block 6 sea view rooms and very quiet even though overlooking kids playground
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    586
    308
    105
    69
See reviews for
381
748
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I have just enjoyed a week here courtesy of our daughter and son-in-law to be!
We did not know where we were going but my daughter had researched it's suitability for myself as a disabled wheelchair user prior to booking.
A disabled room had been requested and I'm pleased to say that we got a lovely room with fully accessible wet room!
The whole hotel was fully accessible to people with mobility difficulties - there was plenty of elevators and everywhere around the complex was well served with ramps for easy access. Needless to say, this is also an advantage to people with prams and buggies!
The food on offer was very much standard for any All Inclusive type hotel. Some may say that a lot of the fayre on offer was repetative but, in all honesty, there was always something for most peoples taste buds - even the 'fussy eaters' could find something to eat. It's back to the old adage, 'you can't please all the people, all the time'!!!
Drinks were on a 'self serve' basis for beer, wine and soft drinks, with spirits, cocktails, etc being Bar Service. Some alcoholic beverages were available at extra cost.
There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool. However, at times it seemed packed because some people reserved beds with towels and didn't appear ALL day. This practise is 'supposed' to be 'forbidden' by the hotel and yet nobody actually enforces it. Other guests did actually start to remove towels in some cases out of frustration!!!!
The General areas of the hotel are kept clean and tidy which is nice to see.
The Staff are very pleasant although there does appear to be a need for guidance from a strong Manager. When we had a couple of problems, ie the Maid left the door to my daughters room wide open after cleaning it (!!!!!!) the Receptionist tried to tell my daughter it was her own fault. A bit worrying really but then that particular Staff Member was like that with any issue taken to her. Other Staff dealt with things differently.
The Dining Room was spacious (although not all of it in use) but lacked organisation and 'flow' as far as the layout of food was concerned. For example, bread at one end, plates at another and butter at another. It just needs a logical eye to be cast over the 'system' and it would make a big difference.
It was good to see a Lifeguard on duty at all times around the pool area too and he did intervene if necessary.
On a personal note, on a future visit I would prefer to go back to Corralejo as the terrain around the outside of the hotel and down to the beach, is not so steep for my needs. The transfer time from the airport to here was also quite a journey, at an hour and a half. Corralejo was much less.
Overall, we went away for a relaxing week in the sun prior to my daughters wedding. This is exactly what we got, which was great.

Room Tip: If you have specific needs, speak to your travel agent (they have extra info) and make a request. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Danmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Barcelo Jandia Mar is a lovely hotel with an amazing view over the sea. However We expected a 4 star Hotel to live up to their stars. The Buffet restuarent was not at all near to 4 star, We hardly experienced anything that was cooked perfectly, steaks and fish was generally over done and seasoning was missing. It's simply not good enough by a 4 star Hotel !
On the flipside we found a perfect restuarent in the small nearby village Morro Jable "La Gaviota". Ask for todays special, they really know how to treat you.

Room Tip: Choose the seaview rooms, but eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just come back from 2 weeks at the Barcelo Jandia Mar, we were a group of 4 which consisted of 2 couples. The Hotel is lovely, very clean very friendly and very nice. We hired a car and being familiar with the island we decided to have a couple of days out, in our opinion the Jandia Mar is one of the nicest Hotels on the island. One our group is not as adventurous with trying different food, he is quite english with his tastes, but there was something every day for him to eat, even if it was cheese and crackers, however the rest of us really enjoyed most of the meals, I believe no hotel will ever please all of the people all of the time, I especialy enjoy trying something new, which I did on this holiday I tried Goat and Shark for the first time. I have to say the wine was very good for an AI and you help yourself to wine, beer and soft drinks. The only downfall for me was the area, I prefere Costa Calleta to Jandia, just my personal choice. Overall though we had a lovely relaxing holiday with lovely food, drink and weather and I would go back.

Room Tip: Block 6 is next to the pool and snack bar, we had a sea view and its really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Most reviews of this Hotel i would say are fair and representative, for us we found the public areas clean and modern, our room was clean and spacious, the food to be varied and of a good standard without being outstanding, the drinks were of a good standard and easily available, the soft drinks wine and beer were self service, you got served to cocktails and spirits. The pool areas were spacious and fairly well maintained save for some more attention to cleaning around the sunbeds, which by the way were plentiful and mostly were not subject to masses of sunbed snatchers. i found the staff to be helpful when you needed them (although check in was a bit chaotic). The animation team were very enthusiastic and hard working and well done to them for entertaining the people around the pool every day.

Room Tip: Ask for a block near the pools or with a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I just came from there and I can say the hotel is very nice,clean room,the weather was great. The food was good but not so varied,pretty the same every day...could be better. The hotel has two big pools,very nice with a lot of green areas. If you are going for the beach that would be a problem because it is pretty far from the hotel,600 meters but it is a very nice beach.
The problems of this hotel are with the services. For a 4 stars hotel and if you choose all inclusive services the services are very poor. You have to pay for everything. You have to pay for the safe box from the room,you have to pay for the minibar,you have to pay for the internet,you have to make a 40 euros deposit for the towels,you have to pay for everything!!! So,for a 4 stars hotel and to all inclusive services this is outrageous !!! Rip off !!!!!! And above all,after 11 pm every bar in the hotel was close and you couldn't drink even a glass of water!!!!!! In this case you have to go to your room.
The entertainment was a disappointment,the staff are not friendly at all. The shows are so boring with boring people.
For the second time I would choose another hotel for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we returned from here on oct 10th 2012.
i try to be honest with all my reviews, and i know that different people see things differently and have their own expectations. with that in mind this is what we honestly thought of this place.
checking in was quick and efficient, as there was a few of us who all arrived at the same time we were given paperwork to fill in and hand back with passport numbers etc, which saved a lot of time, we were given our key and directions to where our room was, all done really quickly.
our room was spotless, nice balcony overlooking the pool, and a nice size bathroom.The beds were comfortable and bedding was changed regularly.
The pools were huge with plenty of sunbeds available, although if you wanted one in the shade you would struggle after about 930am. the pool was clean and cold! the bar was well stocked and was mainly self service, unless you wanted a cocktail or spirits, but even then there was never much of a wait. There was always seating available, but it was difficult to find an ashtray, and as a result there were cigarette ends stuck in the walls or left in cups with a bit of liquid in on the table, not a nice thing to come across if you are a non smoker and easily rectified!.
breakfast is as you would expect, with bacon eggs etc available, plus cereals and fresh fruit, a nice touch was having hp sauce available, there was the night befores vegetables available too!!!
lunchtime we only ever used the snackbar by the pool, which again had drinks available, plus burgers hotdogs chips, plus pasta and salad. drinks were available here too, both hot and cold.
evening meals were a bit of a let down with a choice of either fish or veal every night, and i mean EVERY night! pork chops came up once during our two weeks, but they were too tough to eat, and chicken breast twice, again very tough. there was a barbecue on a friday evening, but nothing was labelled as to what it was, im assuming the meat was again veal, german sausages, ribs and steaks. and jacket potatoes.
now for the location.
a lot has been written on previous reviews about the hill outside, yes its steep and long, if you are not used to hills then i can see why people would struggle at times with it, remember you have probably spent a few hours out in the sun on the beach or shopping, so the last thing you want to see is a hill! take your time on it, its really not that bad.
at the bottom of the hill are a couple of shops, a spar which sells tetley teabags! and milk. you can get hot water most of the time in the hotel.
go through the subway and onto the beach, (stop and feed the chipmunks and parrots on the way) the beach is fantastic, soft golden sand and it goes on for miles and miles. sunbeds and parasold are available to rent, but just a warning ( a couple of people we spoke to were a bit shocked!) naturists mingle freely (almost as soon as you get onto the beach) with people with swimwear on. nobody takes any notice. there are almost as many naked people as ones with clothes on along most of the beach. the sea is actually warmer than the hotel pool! take some bread with you and feed the fish that swim by.
the main shops are located about 20 mins walk from the hotel, a good selection of souvenir and high end shops here, plus bars and restaurants. we can highly reccomend la isla pizza restaurant, good value for money. there is an english bar too serving guinness and cider, plus fosters etc, its right opposite the lighthouse above an arcade. it was nice to get a pint of strongbow! the shops are busy but you dont get hassle from the staff like you do in other places. prices vary, so look around. there is a market on mondays and thursdays selling the usual sunglasses and watches etc, go along and haggle! we found thursday had more stalls and a bit more selection.
there is a zoo on the way to the shops, to be honest....dont bother! 2 alligators and a few birds. 7 euros each to get in and you can go back all week, but even then its not worth it!
All in all it was a nice hotel but i think in the wrong location.
I wouldnt go here again and i wouldnt reccomend it to any of my friends but thats my personal choice.
one last thing. you will need good quality suncream for your stay. there was a sun advisor visited twice a week while we were there, we have used their cream before in fuerteventura and its good stuff. 19 euros a bottle but the after sun is excellent and leaves you with a really good brown colour!

Room Tip: most rooms have a good view of either the pool or sea, but away from the main block people did say t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Jandia Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Jandia Mar

Address: Playa del Jable S/N - Barranco de Vinamar, 35625 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Pajara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#17 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Jandia Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Barcelo, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Jandia Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Mar Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Mar
Barcelo Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Jandia
Barcelo Jandia Mar Fuerteventura, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Jandia Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.