We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuerteventura Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fuerteventura Princess to your Saves list
Fuerteventura Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Canaria, 13 (Urb. Butihondo) | 35625 Pajara, 35625 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 77 Hotels in Pajara
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week as couple and had a lovely time in a lovely hotel.

When we checked in the woman on the desk (can't remember her name, Eva?) was lovely. She spoke brilliant English and told us everything in detail and then got another member of staff to show us to the restaurant. We arrived about 12am so there was only a pre-made plate of food with some fruit (wasn't very nice but I'm a fussy eater).
We booked through Thomson/First Choice and booked a room with a sea view; we were definitely not disappointed! We got the room closest to the beach and on the top floor, the view was lovely.

Our room was cleaned every day to a very high standard as well as clean towels each day. The grounds were kept spotless and the vast majority of staff were polite and friendly (you get the odd moody person everywhere you go.),
The food was very nice (lots of fish though) but it does get repetitive after a few days. You also have to sign for your drinks at evening dinner? I'm not sure why that is.
The pools were great and kept very clean, just very cold, but you get used to it once you're in.
The entertainment was great each night and all the animation team were polite and friendly.

The staff are also very efficient; our bathroom door locked itself one evening, we rang reception and it was fixed within the hour. Our keycard also stopped working one night but it was fixed straight away at reception.

Yes the hotel is very German centered however I did not feel as though as we were made second best at all by any of the staff, and there were quite a lot of English there. Sue the Thomson rep was also very nice and helpful.

The only issues/comments I have on the Fuerteventura Princess is that the shops on the complex are very overpriced - go to the supermarket up the road.
There are alot of hills, some quite steep so it's definitely not good for people with mobility problems.
The birds do sit on the tables and on the food in the La Choza restaurant.
It took us a little while to find our room when we arrived in the dark (you get given a map that's not much help).
Wifi is 6euro a day and can only be used around reception.

Overall we had a lovely time here, very relaxing. Wouldn't recommend going here if you don't like the wind though.

Oh and the alcohol is definitely NOT watered down! :)

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views. It's definitely worth booking a sea view room however the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Beth B,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us
We appreciate all of our guests’ comments, because they help us achieve top quality service levels. We hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below. We wish to assure you that our service standards are very important to us and hence worked upon each and every day
We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Care Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    346
    163
    56
    31
See reviews for
229
428
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Don't let the transfer journey put you off even though the landscape is similar to that of the moon.The hotel met almost all our expectations.
Where does it go wrong? The ridiculous attitude to men having to wear long trousers whilst a large majority of females look as though they have just walked off the beach.The long wait at the bars in the evening becomes a little tiresome.
The food and drink are of a very good quality and the staff in the restaurant are outstanding.Rooms are big and comfortable and always clean.
Would I upgrade to an adult or platinum grade?No not really unless you just want a sea view there is little extra benefit for the extra charge.
Would I go again?With the grandchildren,'Yes'On our own,most definitely not.As a retired cou[le there is absolutely nothing to do but lie around.We can do that all day in Devon.The resort itself.No much there but what else can you do when its raining.
My advice for what its worth,choose somewhere a little more exciting!!!!

Room Tip: Blocks 7 or 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Malcom J

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us
We appreciate all of our guests’ comments, because they help us achieve top quality service levels. We hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below. We wish to assure you that our service standards are very important to us and hence worked upon each and every day
We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Care Horel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Myself, my husband and our 16 year old son stayed here for two weeks June/July 2014, and after reading retrospective reviews on here, have realised that some people love to find things to moan about. There really isn't very much that I can criticise about this hotel - apart from that it may be difficult for people with mobility issues- as there is quite a steep hill to the main restaurant/bar from the rooms in the gardens. This was not a problem to us, luckily. We encountered fabulous service throughout our 2 week stay. All staff from the bar and reception through to the gardeners and cleaners were always pleasant, courteous and helpful. The hotel is large and the grounds big - every area was spotless. The food was beautiful,always hot and plentiful - particularly the steak. Absolutely superb. We very much enjoyed our breakfasts and lunches at La Choza restaurant where you eat overlooking the stunning Atlantic. There was a fantastic barbeque here one lunchtime with a live Spanish band, quite amazing. Our room was beautifully cleaned daily and the beds were especially comfortable. The hotel provides towels for the pool with a free daily change service. The Animation Team really looked after our son who got involved with all the sporting activities such as Rifle shooting, beach volleyball, table tennis, archery and football. Our son had a lot of laughs with Steve, Matteo, Alberto and the rest of the team - thanks guys! The beach in front of the hotel is stunning, (the sea can get very wavy)and you can walk into Jandia - takes about 40 minutes - taking note of tidal times as you may get stranded on the rocks for a while! There is not very much outside the hotel grounds bar a little supermarket but we didn't find this a problem at all. We visited Oasis Park one day which was a fantastic experience. We were kissed by sea lions and hand -fed zebras, camels, elephants and giraffes. The bird of prey show was incredible too. A real gem of a place and a lovely shady place to visit if the sun gets too much. We wouldn't hesitate in returning to this hotel or recommending it to anybody.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Clare C,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us

Your evaluation is of special importance to us. The fact that we continue receiving positive reviews like yours is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our Management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Care Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Fuerteventura Princess for 1 week. The hotel was lovely and clean and our rooms were clean and in a very quiet part of the complex. We had only two complaints. There were no sun canopies to allow us to hide my grand-daughter from the sun when needed and trying to get under the wooden canopies was impossible as people had already taken them very early in the morning. The only other complaint was some of the staffs attitude when we were ordering drinks. There were 5 in our party and when we asked for 5 ice creams the staff members questioned us on why we needed 5. I don't think this is very professional especially as the hotel is all inclusive. This also happened when we were ordering drinks. It did not happen all the time. It was mainly in the pool bar. My grand-daughter attended the kids club and the staff were very friendly and she enjoyed her time there. I feel that a more varied timetable would have been more advantageous as the timetable was much the same every day
However, we had a great holiday and overall the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms inland and not near the beach are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Frances L,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us

We would like to thank you also for your comments. We will make sure the department in charge receive your feedback, this is what make us improve to give you a better service.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Care Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

came back from a week at the Princess yesterday. We have used this hotel a few times over the past few years and for most of that time we have really enjoyed our visits.

Prior to our arrival date I emailed the hotel on no less than three occasions to request a top floor room. I am very noise sensitive and a top floor room helps with this. Many people are less mobile than us and I suppose would in any case appreciate a lower floor room so i thought my request was quite reasonable. Wrong - I was completely ignored and plonked in a middle floor room.

The nature of the hotel has changed since we last visited. It is now possible to book on an all inclusive basis which has made a difference. We booked half-board as we enjoy lunching on the beach.

We did read a review before our holiday about queues at the bar and yes it is true. The main bar that we used was the Piano Bar and most evenings there was only one barman on duty serving many-many guests. On one occasion, quite early in the evening I counted 12 people waiting for service in the queue. The barman was quite unpleasant and I'm convinced that he was wilfully obstructive in pretending not to understand simple English. I suppose this is a strategy to reduce consumption of drinks to all inclusive customers ?

Food was ok although is always a bit of a scrum - the hotel was quite full and sometimes we had to search out a table but always managed to find one. Food choice was ok and we didn't go hungry. Breakfasts were ok although it sounds ridiculous but we could not buy bottled water in the mornings but we could at dinner - strange. Pancakes were quite nice and I had one every morning. One thing that was quite noticeable was the coffee pots in the morning. they were minging. They looked quite unhygienic and need to be changed. on top of that the coffee inside was always too cool and I spent the week using the coffee from the dispensers.

Rooms are very-very dated. They need redecorating and modernising. Little things matter. Our black-out curtain was ripped which caused light to flood into the room early in the morning. The room was just tired and knackered ! The TV was out of he ark - just as well cos there isn't anything worth watching in English.

The grounds of the hotel have improved and the whole place looks a lot nicer than in recent years. The hotel is on the beach but you do have to walk down a fairly steep path to access it. Do not consider coming to the hotel is you have mobility issues as the whole hotel complex is set on a hill and the vast majority of the rooms are set below the main hotel complex building.

The beach is really nice and you can walk for miles - the best part of the holiday.

If you go to the Princess be prepared to be in a minority - the vast majority of guests are Germans. They are ok but it is true - they do put towels out early. I got up to use the lo at 7.30 and looked out to find them doing the towel run at that time !

One thing to be prepared for is that there now appears to be two classes of guests at the Princess. A few of the accommodation blocks and one of the restaurants are now restricted for use of visitors booking via Platinum. Not Thomsons. I don't know if the rooms are upgraded but the restaurant seems to be the same as the plebs restaurants although is little less densely tabled maybe ?

Weather was a bit unpredictable and we had a couple of days which were cloudy and rainy at times - never known this before.

Wi-Fi is not available in the rooms but is available at the reception lounge for 6 Euros a day. A bit steep.

All in all an OK week but we wont be going to the Feurt Princess again. If you do decide to book, be prepared for a relaxing time - there isn't much about and the local town Jandia is crap. Don't pay over the odds for what is now a fairly bog standard run of the mill mass tourist all inclusive, German dominated complex.

Room Tip: No point asking for a particular rom cos you will be ignored and will be plonked wherever they feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear IesWest Wa,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us

We would like to thank you also for your comments. We will make sure the department in charge receive your feedback, this is what make us improve to give you a better service.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Care Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Have just recently returned from this Hotel and had a lovely time Hotel very comfortable and clean the only problem is you have to go either up or down hill to get anywhere. Check in very slow and did not really explain very well where rooms were as spread out in various buildings. We were in room 6210 which had a lovely view over the pools and sea. Food good although sometimes could have been a bit warmer. One downside they could do with more Bar Staff especially of an evening as there was only ever one person serving people going up to the bar so you had to queue and one serving the waiters and waitresses going round the tables so with the world cup also being on it was a bit hectic. On the whole enjoyed very much but not suitable for the less mobile

Room Tip: rooms in block 6000
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Karen S,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us
We appreciate all of our guests’ comments, because they help us achieve top quality service levels. We hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below. We wish to assure you that our service standards are very important to us and hence worked upon each and every day
We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Care Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here from 14th of June for 2 weeks and had a great holiday. The hotel is nice, big, with enough sun beds and nice pools. Jandia town is 3 miles away and if walking on the beach it's around 40 mins to the shops but it's a very nice walk and doesn't feel long at all, taxis there and back are 7-8 Euros each way. The hotel wifi is expensive and you do have to hover around reception for it but there are free wifi zones in restaurants and bars in Jandia. This hotel does have a German Platinum area, closed off from the rest of the hotel, they have their separate accommodation and restaurant area, but they share the same food with everyone else. They also stay in the non platinum area, it did feel very German orientated. Many people assumed we were German, TV in the hotel bars was German channels etc, and you did feel second best, it was just a shame there weren't many English people to speak too. Although that was the case, it will not put you off your holiday unless you strongly dislike German people. The food was amazing, massive range of choice each day in every restaurant, there is no Pizzeria though! The snack bar / late breakfast bar (La Choza) do have little Spanish Sparrows flying around, as it is an open conservatory type room. The food was not covered very well but personally, this did not bother us at all, or many other people, no one ever died or got ill. Drinks and bar staff were very good, nice selection of drinks, personally did not like the Estrella beer but everything else was nice and you also get a selection of 4 cocktails which is nice. They are very strict on no shorts in the evening so men do need to pack jeans / trousers, but women are fine to walk about in absolutely anything. The hotel is literally on the beach, steep hill but the beach is really nice. Pool temp is fine after reading other reviews saying it was cold? It was well maintained throughout the holiday, yes, there are a few tiles missing but realistically are they going to drain three pools to fix a few tiles. We went on 3 Excursions via First choice, Lazy day cruise which was on a boat in really choppy sea with about 70 people on board which we were told 25 people maximum, so we couldn't hardly move and it was awful. Volcano explosions which sounded amazing, but was far from it. We had to get up at 6am get a coach to the top if the Island (2hours) then a ferry over to Lanzarote (50 mins) then sit on a coach all day whilst driving around volcano's, and stopping 3 times for 15 mins. All we saw was a green lake for 10mins from the top of a cliff, an aloe Vera museum which was a sales pitch to buy their product, and went round the national park in a coach with a tape playing. First choice did not explain it like this so beware. The last one was the Oasis Park, which was such a nice day! It is 30mins from the hotel and is a must in my opinion. Overall had a quality time, there is not much to do or see in Jandia area but a nice chilled out holiday in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionFTV, Guest Relations Manager at Fuerteventura Princess, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Jay C,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Club Fuerteventura Princess and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us
We appreciate all of our guests’ comments, because they help us achieve top quality service levels. We hasten to express our sincere regret that your visit fell below. We wish to assure you that our service standards are very important to us and hence worked upon each and every day
We thank you sincerely for choosing the Club Fuerteventura Princess and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
RRPP Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fuerteventura Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuerteventura Princess

Address: Gran Canaria, 13 (Urb. Butihondo) | 35625 Pajara, 35625 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#14 Family Hotel in Pajara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Pajara
#20 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fuerteventura Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 669
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fuerteventura Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Princess Hotel Pajara
Fuerteventura Princess Playa De Esquinzo
Hotel Fuerteventura Princess
Fuerteventura Princess Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuerteventura Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.