We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelo Jandia Playa - March visit - Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Jandia Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Jandia Playa to your Saves list
Barcelo Jandia Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sancho Panza, s/n | Playa del Jable | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Discount
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Pajara
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Barcelo Jandia Playa - March visit - Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Brilliant holiday destination. We were looking for a relaxing break and got exactly that.
Food - well season, a lot of choice. I am a meat person - my friend a fish lover and both were always happy with selection food.
Rooms - as per pictures provided clean, quite spacious, lovely clean bathroom, terrace.
Service - waiting on staff - brilliant, friendly, eventually even remembered our usual orders.
Entertainment - loved the team - very cheerful people, enjoying their job very much, it always seemed to be the same people joining in activities, even I got involved in some dancing and archery and I do not like participating in group activities. Evening shows are engaging as well, and as entertainment team have advised changes through courses of weeks for those staying longer.
Beach - to the ones whinging about beach being far away - did You bother reading up about the island before you came? There is NO hotels on the beach - there is a strip of wetland that that you have to cross to get to beach. Which is beautiful, which crystal shallow water(I am not a strong swimmer and enjoyed still being able to go in to the ocean) and white sand.
Pool - 2 main ones, where still quite cold, but we frequently had a swim in it. 1 heated - did not visit, as didn't feel the need were happy enough with the main pool.
If you are looking for a good party location this is not it.
There is a 'disco' after 23.30 that plays contemporary music, which we danced ourselves crazy in.

I truly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    760
    356
    147
    105
See reviews for
552
962
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from this hotel after spending a week here from 9th - 16th March. We arrived fairly late in the afternoon and after a wait for our transfer got under way to Morro Jable. We were told that the journey time was an hour but expect at least 1.5 hours due to stopping for drop offs along the way. After reaching the hotel we walked through the lovely open marbled and clean lobby to the reception desk. We left our luggage there and were given our all inclusive wristbands immediately and told to pop off to dinner which suited us fine! The hotels main area is massive with two sets of steps or a lift down to the main restaurant. The food choice was amazing even for the fussiest of eaters. You had fish, chicken, pork, rabbit on occasion, stews, rice dishes, tapas, garlic potatoes, chips, beans, calamari, pizza and a massive selevtion of fresh salad to choose from. For desserts the chefs would lay out cakes, pies, bowls of whole fruit, lots of ice cream with sprinkles, sauces and everything you can think of. The drinks were free flowing with red, white and rose wine, beer and soft drinks on a self service facility. All the restaurant staff are mor ethan happy to assist with your plates, clearing as they go, bringing you new cutlery. You hav the choice of tables for 2,4,6 or even 10 so there was never not enough space.

THe evening entertainment consisted of an entertainment team that did a great job, they really put so much effort in to their performances with a Caberet, Michael Jackson and 80s show amongst them. Then when they had the evening off they organised a duo who sang in the piano bar. Everyone was up and dancing it was a lovely atmosphere.

The outdoor areas were stunning, with two massive pools (although very cold) with plenty of sunbathing space around them. The pool bar was a lovely way to relax on the poolside offering a variety of drinks which really was nice. THey played music during most days which was not too loud at all. When the entertainments team did water aerobics or salsa lessons many people joined in.

The hotel is set up on a high hill opposite the beach. To access it all you have to do is go to the front of the hotel and come out of the gate. From there you get a lift down to the road, cross over and walk ten minutes alongisde the sea to be able to get on to it. THe strecth of beach was the most impressive I have seen throughout all my travels in Europe. It was stunning.

There hotel in itself has alot of stairs and has windy pathways to different facilities and accomodation. It might not be too suitable for wheelchair users or older guests as you can start to feel it on the backs of your legs and im 28!!

Alot of reviews i read on here stated that blocks 8 and 9 are like a 15 minute walk from the main hotel and are a real pain to get too. I have to say i have no idea who wrote that but this is not the case at all. Anywhere on the resort is easy peasy to access from the main building.

Overall we had the best time in this clean, energetic, warm and friendly hotel and I would definately say the best 4 star i have stayed in. Would recommend it to families, couples, groups of older friends and anyone wanting a relaxed, more remote week in the sun.

Room Tip: All the rooms are adequeate, some people would prefer blocks 8 or 9 for the sea view but you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stay: April 5-12 (one week)
Family with two boys (4 and 2 years)
Family room – two separate rooms connected via door
Plus:
• Morro Jable – nice place, beautiful see view
• Hotel is near to Morro Jable town, shopping centre right downstairs the hotel (few good shops including Interspar), access also by a lift
• very friendly staff English and German speaking, every problem solved almost immediately
• enough places in the main restaurant, always free seat to find
• very tasty food however the choice could have been wider and more varied
• self-service for soft drinks, table wine, beer, water and hot drinks for all inclusive guests
• simple but practically equipped rooms, no problem with cleanliness
• we appreciated especially the possibility to have two connected rooms
• advantage for families – play ground for children, kids club

Minus
• in case you want to spend the holiday on the beach – you need cca 15 minutes to walk to the beach that is very windy, the temperature of the see water is quite low (what is usual for the Fuerteventura Island)
• sometimes the evening entertaining program was noisy
• sometimes it was overcrowded at the main pool during the day

Tips for trips
• No problem to rent a car for good price and conditions directly at the reception or in the Morro Jable
• our best trip was the visit of Corralejo sand dune

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit after 2 years. And as first time, we enjoyed our stay very much.
Good value for all inclusive. We got upgrade to ocean view free of charge.
Complex itself is large and needs some attention here and there but all in all its not bad for 4 stars. That type of resorts are very common in Canaries.
Pool area is situated on two levels, plenty of sunbeds, lifeguard.There is also heated pool in spa area with comfy sunbeds. Gym and sauna free of charge.
We didnt use wifi, cant comment.
Food is good, plenty of choice for every taste. Im not a fussy eater, cant fault anything. Paella every evening, at least two types of fish, meats, salad bar, soup. If you dont like anything, you can try something else. Breakfast buffet was excellent - freshly cooked bread, selection of cheeses, fruits, crepes and traditional breakfast items. Lots of fresh fruits, very delicious. I was surprised about desserts stand - soo delicious fresh cakes, every time something different. Fresh smoothies. Espresso bar.
Juices were rubbish but i dont drink them anyway. Only downside - very busy around food, some people just seems not to notice queue but tries to make a crowd.
Alcohol - yes, local brands only included in all inclusive but wine, beer and coctails were drinkable. Tea and coffee making facility available all day. Cant comment coffee as i dont drink it.
Good quality night shows.
All staff very polite, positive and helpful.
On my boyfriends birthday we got bottle of cava with cakes in our room (as well as on arrival), nice touch, we were surprise as i didnt mention about birthday to hotel staff.
Lots to do around hotel - all type of watersports, fishing trips, off road excursions, oasis park with shows (camel ride, swimming with sea lions)..and of course stunning beach. Yes, its a good walk away, some 10 minutes. Iberostar hotel available just in front of the beach but its more than twice Barcelo price!
Plenty of free parking around the hotel.
Would go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This 80's style hotel is built without any consideration of the environment and local surroundings. It has no style, is in desperate need of an upgrade (loose tiles in room/doors don't close properly) and offers no convenience to the leisure traveler.
Although the front desk staff is very helpful, the hotel seems to be understaffed and employees are overworked and have to patience.
Buffet is below average, quality of food is low, everything tastes the same. Besides buffet there is only one additional restaurant open 4 days of the week serving "Canary Island food" which is pretty much the same as in the main buffet.
Pool is not heated, no jacuzzi or hot tub except in spa. Do not recommend visiting in winter month with kids as pool is unusable.
Drinks are watered down, only domestic labels are included in all-inclusive package. Any branded alcohol is extra.
Internet is Euro25 per week and, although available in room, restricted to the lobby area where it is usually very loud with no privacy. Even with a paid log-in code, hotel does not allow access to Internet in room.
Beach is about 2km or 1.2 miles from hotel. Long downhill walk, crossing a highway in order to get to beach.
This hotel is a "German enclave", even staff members address guests routinely in German language.
There is a shopping mall with a supermarket and about 10 stores attached to the hotel.
With occasional bad weather there is absolutely nothing to do at the hotel or in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building (above reception) have good view, however they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A pretty average complex that could do with updating, but still good value for money.

A couple of bad points, we were in block 8 which is right at the bottom of a hill, it really is a hike up to the main area and bars and restaurant and pools, ok for us but if you have health problems it could be an issue. We found that our balcony rail was coming away from the wall, we reported to reception and within 10 minutes it was being repaired.

We went all inc. and well worth it, the food was generally pretty good, not a bad choice, plenty of it and caters for all types. One thing that was not mentioned until we arrived was that men must wear long trousers in the restaurant in the evening, take a few spare pairs.

We are not heavy drinkers but the all inc. came into its own in the bar in the evening, very generous measures and a large choice.

The staff were excellent, very friendly and made an effort to speak to you, the rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard.

Evening entertainment was a bit limited but they tried, but we were not expecting West End shows.

The resort itself was pretty average, however the beaches were tremendous, miles of sand, plenty of room. A fair number of naturists but we dont regard that as a problem.

All in all a warm and sunny week in a pleasant location with good accomodation and good food and drink all at a fair price

Room Tip: The room at the lower levels i.e 7 8 and 9 are a fair distance from the pool/ bar/restaurant and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

All services including the rooms are average in this establishment. Staff has done a great job although the overall experience has not exceeded the "Average" quotation in a single category. It is more a management or a strategic approach to serve the average package traveller. It is a pity as i have been to this hotel 7 years ago and enjoyed it very much back then. Rooms are an average 3*, by far not the quoted 4*. Very noisy rooms, slamming doors are part of the atmosphere. Food has been disappointing.
If you want to stay in the larger area you should choose the Melia Gorriones, a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: choose the lower blocks 8 or 9 and a room in the second floor, this will give you nice views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Jandia Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Jandia Playa

Address: Sancho Panza, s/n | Playa del Jable | Barranco de Vinamar, 35625 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pajara
#9 Spa Hotel in Pajara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#18 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Jandia Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 634
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barcelo Jandia Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Jandia Playa Hotel Pajara
Barcelo Jandia Peninsula
Barcelo Hotel Jandia Playa
Barcelo Jandia Playa Fuerteventura, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Jandia Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.