We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Gorriones

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Gorriones to your Saves list
Melia Gorriones
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Barca S/N, 35627 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Pajara
Fuerteventura
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very good hotel and excellent value for money. Magnificent beaches but unfortunately this time it was not great weather. Food and facilities are good. Entertainment is of a very hight standard suprisingly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Phillippa, we are terribly sorry if the weather was not good during your stay in Fuerteventura, and we hope that despite this, the rest of details were nice, making your visit an special moment. We offer all our efforts, facilities and services for when you decide to visit us again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    509
    236
    104
    63
See reviews for
407
708
55
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have been visiting the hotel for many years on the recommendation of our close friends and love the location and the surroundings. The staff have been amazing and treat us as valued friends. We can find no fault with the food apart from we eat too much! There are three different pools which are all very clean and tidy so something for little ones upwards. We always enjoy a pleasant drink overlooking one of the pools at the end of our day on the very pleasant terrace. In the evening there is entertainment in the Fun Pub or a quieter bar for adults only. Over the years we have met up with some lovely people and together with our friends we look forward to seeing them each year. We can see no reason why we shouldn't be visiting the hotel for many more years with its wonderful golden beach stretching into the distance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear REGF, you make us very happy writing that once again you are fully enjoyed after your days with us. For us it’s a great pleasure that customers like you visit us year after yearf, feeling like at home and knowing that here be treated like one of the Gorriones family. All of our efforts and affection becomes in hospitality for you. Looking forwards for your next arrival, receive a warm greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay which was a last minute booking.. Wonderful Hotel, location and food. The entertainment is what you would expect when abroad!!! We were put into room 503 which is low level and next to the parked cars, we requested a move, which they arranged at their earliest convenience. For our last two nights we were in room 384 absolutely perfect, above the pool area with fabulous views out to the sea. As an earlier person said, avoid the East side due to the wind, this advice we took, how right they was! Plenty of choice at meal times, although it is a bit of a scrum at times. We queued one evening but have to say the staff worked hard to find tables and the wait for only a few minutes.. Overall a wonderful Hotel with some nice touches...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear LibbyDavi…, Thanks a lot for choosing us to spend your holidays in Fuerteventura. It was a pleasure to receive you, as well that know that your days with us were enjoyables. We’re glad to have understood your needs and you could relax in our facilities. Thanks also for your positive feedback about the environment and food, very important supplements for a satisfactory stay. We hope to see you soon. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We love this location and have been coming for many years so have seen the changes both to hotel and to target market which is now appears to be families , yes the hotel is old but well maintained and spotless. This visit we think coincided with french holidays, so many families with children staying, and the restaurant in the evening was extremely busy, as staff tried hard to keep queueing to a minimum. In fact all the staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful . There are childrens' and sporting activities throughout the day , and a mini disco in the Fun Pub most evenings which tended to over run so entertainment was sometimes late in starting. The shows we saw were good , but we tended to stay in the adult only area - the Gabi Bar which had limited seating. My one suggestion would be to remove the Balenese beds as no one paid to use them during our stay, and replace with more seating for guests. Food varied and plentiful and walks to the next towns help to work it off.

Room Tip: In my opinion don't bother with The Level if you are a beach lover then there is not really muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Spirito1, thank you very much for your trust and positive comments after your recent stay in Meliá Gorriones. We are glad to hear that once again you had an enjoyable stay. It’s true that during your visit we increase the number of families with children, but we try to provide different options to please the preferences of everyone (“only adults”, miniclub or sport activities) offering you the best of our 4 stars. Your suggestions will be considered by the hotel management for possible changes. Looking forwards to see you again in the future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

So a bit impersonal. Up to 1,200 guests - 900 when we were there. The service is polite but lacks that something that makes you want to come back - even the regulars found this time a little less user friendly. The setting is stunning - wonderful beach and beautiful gardens. The food is great but it's a scrum at the night meal - like a very busy refectory. As two ladies we like to dress up and go out for dinner - but this was T shirt and fleece crowd.
So - not glam, great for families with young kids, very relaxed eating - sort of three star eating - had one child kicking a football around the restaurant. Not my thing. Also took us some time to understand the all inclusive - and we did not go for it, the wine offered was poor and spirits / cocktails were cheap brands with little kick. An opinion of 'one' I know - but it might help others understand how this is pitched.
Entertainment staff are the best part work very hard - Nadia and Jarvis - added some fun.

Room Tip: On the side with the kiddies pool there is noise and busyness - the other side offers quiet beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Marcie5 is a pleasure to know that your stay at Meliá Gorriones was pleasant despite some details that we always try to manage on the best way. There is a simple logic dress code to go to the restaurant without forgetting that we are in a beach hotel. About the children, we also try to contribute that their behavior don’t disturb other customers. Thank you for your comments about the staff and activities. Your words will be translated to our employees to continue working in this direction. Our beautiful beach is waiting for when you decide to return to Fuerteventura. Here we will be waiting. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's isolation., peace and quiet, and beautiful beach., it lived up to all those expectations., the food was great with plenty of choice., our room cleaned daily., and the entertainment of high calibre and in both Adult Bar and Fun Bar. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is beautiful as well the gardens and access to beach. There were some essential works to the pool area going on, but as an 'all year round' resort, suppose it had to happen some time. The weather was not the kindest to us, but we did get some sunny breaks, and in a way it made us relax more, as not tempted to go galivanting! (we have been to Canaries last 4 yrs in January, and usually had wall to wall sunshine, so this is not the norm).
There is an unattended Gymn next to the pool area, fully equipped and available 24 hrs., and we used the Spa for Steam, Sauna and Jacuzzi on one of the cooler mornings, was reasonably priced, but would not go first thing, as steam not up to optimum when we went at 11.30am. The mini market was open each day from early til late, but we were All Inclusive, so didn't use.
We would have liked some background music in dining room to lighten the mood, and generally mute the noise open plan dining presents. (not a disco, just subtle music, like they have on the veranda outside the snack bar) Our other disappointment, if you like, was the fact that although German visitors are in the great majority, we felt that other visitors were less catered for., most TV channels were in German (only about 3 English), signage in German, a lot of the food choices., and it seemed most staff had German as second language to their own, and assumed everyone was German, greeting us in German for example., we just greeted them with Holah including other guests, who in the majority were unsociable - but we didn't let it get us down., we would go back to this stunning location, and would likely take along the family and grandchildren., and at least have guaranteed smiles! As well as beautiful, this beach is safe as there are lifeguards on duty for water sports, and a natural lagoon is formed when tide out, ideal for children to splash about in, and within arms reach.

Room Tip: We paid extra for Sotavento Beach sea view., were allocated 4th floor, but view of tree tops, and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Veronicaa, thanks a lot for your comments. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your holiday in Meliá Gorriones. That is our main objective. Thanks for appreciating our products in the buffet and our environment, waiting that the relax of Playa Barca please you. Work in the pool were necessary, following the comments of many of our customers.
In reference to the language, of course, the staff speaks English, and excuse us if we bother dealing in the wrong no changing. It was not our intention.
About your suggestions of details of our services, inform you that we take a good note to improve our service to visitors. We want to make your stay an unforgettable experience.
We look forwards to see you soon in Fuerteventura. Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is our second visit to this wonderfull paradise hotel and hopefully it wont be our last :)
The rooms are excellent, food excellent and the staff cannot do enough for you especially Tracy she is womderfull
Location is ideal as right on the glourious sandy beach, Great for children with activites for all ages.
The beach is safe and great for walking to Costa Calma and also towards Jandia

Room Tip: Book a sea view room, you get the sun for most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEX_MeliaG, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Gorriones, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Tryfan D, we are very delighted to know that your holiday in meliá Gorriones were nice and you enjoyed our facilities and water sports. Your comments helps us to identify improvement areas and potencial changes in some details of our services. We hope that the back home trip was fine and looking forwards to see you soon. Your Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Gorriones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Gorriones

Address: Playa Barca S/N, 35627 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#15 Family Hotel in Pajara
#15 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Gorriones 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Melia Gorriones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Gorriones Hotel Pajara
Melia Hotel Gorriones
Melia Hotel Pajara
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Gorriones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.