We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place gives value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Gorriones

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Gorriones to your Saves list
Melia Gorriones
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Barca S/N, 35627 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Pajara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place gives value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to Fuerteventura. The island looks like the moon or a dessert but with many spots like the hotel.
The trip from the airport gives you the feeling of - is this the right choice, but when you are there - you have the feeling - this was right.
Perfect hotel build in a modern style. The rooms are ok and big for 2 persons (double rooms). We had one with sea view - and what a view. Try wake up in the morning with the sea view from the bed !
The food is with everything you want - we have full pension - you can drink wine, beer, soft and strong drinks as much as you like. The service is very good as one of the best we have seen in the area.
The beach is so big and nice, sepcial for children, as it is flat many hundreds meters out.
We played tennis 4 days and did spinning 3 days...and there is much more sport if you like.
Really nice pools and they keep them clean many times during the day.
We have travelled a lot all over Europe.
This is one of the best places we have seen.
Try this !!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    462
    217
    95
    56
See reviews for
364
631
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

REception area:
When you arrive from the airport we had no help from anyone to Carrying our luggage, no smile at the reception, no friendly gesture, no explanation, no communication during the process of enlisting, no welcome drink. At the end of enlisting just: THERE IS THE ELEVATOR and then the women points to the direction of the sea at the end of the lobby area. I remember thinking hmmm Elevator in the direction of the sea…..no map from hotel, no explanation about which Floor the room is, where to eat, where to drink, what the rules are, whether there are different areas where you can go and where not. Even no information where to go when you leave the elevator presuming you can find the right Floor. Lift was broke for three days, people with children and elder people who do not walk that good anymore: do not go here 9 floors up and down by stairs. Bad Maintenance in this old hotel. A few days later: the lift works bus is in a miserable condition, sometimes all the lights go off for no reason. When that happens the whole systems seems to get a complete reset: then you have to press the button of the Floor where you want to go to again. It Works now but how.
Men Toilet: there is only one men toilet to sit down in the reception area, and this one was closed for more than 10 days.
ROOM:
All the doors in the toilet and bathroam are made of a substance that soaks up water during the years, all the doors in toilets have swollen up on the bottom side, also in the bathroom.
Looking at the TV and then everything get black: for hours no Electricity and no light in the evening, no idea when it would come back. Asking at the reception area the answer was: yes we know. That was all no sorry, no explanation, whether they are working on it, no alternatives, no help, nothing. Just a simple yes we know and that is all. When does the Electricity reach us again ?
TV: on a regular base the TV programs are of a very bad quality, days after eachother you only see snow on the screen at several programs. Then it Works for a few days, and after a while it all repeats Asking at the reception, they say yes we know. And that is all.
Shower: when you are under the shower and someone else flushes the toilet (also flushing a toilet in one of the other rooms in the hotel can cause this) you are being burned, because all the water is redirected to the toilet.
Matrasses: the matrasses in the room are old and worn out, they are Squeeking, and you can feel the springs in your back.
Interior of the room breathes long gone luxury, the only jump in time in the room is a flat screen TV…keep in mind that the receiving of the channels breaks down on a regular base.
Food is tasteless and dining hall is a huge canteen which is very noisy feeding hundreds of people at the same time. The is 20 or 30 meters of buffet with completely and utterly tasteless food. Cooked with no love at all, sometimes the food is stinking, and looking bad. Even when there is rarely ”good” food like pieces of marlin they accomplish that the marlin deponated on your plate is completely raw on the inside. How difficult can it be to cook it for a few minutes on one side and for a few minutes on the other side ? We are here now for 10 days and have to stay here for another 9 days.At the breakfast the coffee tastes like Brown water with some kind of strange agressive ulster forming ingredient that does not taste like coffee.
Cashcowing, that is the best word, no interest from management to serve people a decent meal. Bad Purchasing, Bad Cooking, Horrible Canteen area, Ear damaging noise. Ugly Rooms, not functioning elevators, not functioning toilets, bad beds, do i have to say more: This is a hotel run by extremely greedy people.
We have an all inclusive, and go out on a regular base to have a decent meal or a decent drink, we drank yesterday a mojito at the rene egli bar which was absolutely astonishing.
There are also good sides at the hotel:
The good sides of the hotel: sporting is a light bulb at the end of a dark tunnel, did a lot of spinbiking with her. She is motivating, gives 100 percent, and on a regular base more. We came there one day not subscribing to the spin bike lesson. Simple reaction from her, well then we will ad another lesson in 45 minutes, who will be there, guess what there were 6 persons havin a nice lesson. GREAT ! go on with that positive energy lorena. Give you to everyone who is interested in taking a class ! The spinbikes also were good !
In general the people helping are friendly at least if you are so Lucky to meet the younger staff in the hotel. The older people who probably work there for a long time are less friendly.
On the question whether i would go here again: the answer is no. The big advantage of this hotel is that it is near the rene egli windsurfing centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husvand and I went to this hotel in September 2011. The place is full is Germans and mot of them were very rude indeed. They hotel is supposed to be all inclusive but you find yourself having to sign for everything. We got the impression they were checking up on us all the time. Drinks are very limited and not many bars to choose from. We were offered local wine, local beer, or two cocktails. Apart from those everything else had to be paid for. The "adult" bar is just that - they even have beds in it!

The food was not particularly good and as we had upgrated to "the Level" we were disappointed. It was also disappointing to find that snacks from the snack bar had to be paid for. This was supposed to be an all invluse holiday - it wasn't. I think the problem is that they run a two tier system - all inclusive and half board. Sorry but it doesn't work.

It is also difficult to communicate with the staff unless you speak English or German. The staff automatically address you in German because they assume that you are German.

The beach is not particuarly attractive - covered in broken shells and very difficult to walk on. It is also impossible to sunbathe on the beach because it is a water sports centre - people with kites all over the place.

It was supposed to be a relaxing holiday but my husband returned with food poisoning and severe mosquito bites. We will not be returning. Back to Cuba for us this year.

Room Tip: Could not recommend any as they all suffer from noise from the bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is set in splendid isolation on a fabulous beach 30 minutes walk from Costa Calma.
Having been to Fuerteventura many times before we found Costa Calma our least favourite resort, but the hotel had everything you would need anyway including a mini-market, clothing shop, and a couple of other gift shops.
Reception area is on the 4th Floor and contains the Gabi Bar - which is an adults only area - very atmospheric with chill out music, floor to ceiling windows looking out to sea and a lovely terrace but it was never open during the day so you didn't get to enjoy the view and the seating was obviously chosen for style not comfort (concrete sofas??) Drinks selection very good and measures very generous.
Internet corner also on this floor- never used it so can't comment.
Main Restaurant is on 2nd Floor - very large with outdoor terrace, food very good in the evening with a massive selection including at least one roast, a choice of fresh fish and cuts of meat cooked to order, plus loads of other choices. Breakfast was a little disappointing, not really geared to British tastes as not many of us there!
The pool area is very nice, but watch out for uneven concrete around the pool edge which hurts bare feet. A walk down through the grounds takes you directly onto the stunning beach.
The daytime snack bar was fine, and as the hotel was not full we we got to have our lunch in the Oasis Restaurant on the ground floor which is where 'The Level' guests have their breakfast, smaller and nicer than the main restaurant.
Definitely recommend you take All Inclusive as drinks and food are expensive and there's nowhere else in the area to eat or drink.
I emailed ahead and enquired about a sea view room, I received a reply saying this would be an additional 24 euros per night, so decided against it but asked for a quiet room on a high floor. I get the feeling if I annoyed them by deciding not to pay the extra because they put us directly opposite the main restaurant on the 2nd floor! I always ask for a high floor in every hotel we go to as I am terrified of cockroaches and feel safer higher up.... yes you guessed it ,we had cockroaches in the room and in the corridor outside. We complained to reception who arranged for maintenance to attach a brush strip to the bottom of our room door - it fell off almost immediately and we spent most of the holiday with a rolled up towel outside the room door blocking off the gap underneath it.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a fantastic location, if you don't mind cockroaches.
Would we go back? Only if we could afford to upgrade to The Level - very much more expensive than rest of the hotel but means you are guaranteed top floor room - and armed with several cans of Raid!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

an old refurbished hotel, with some limitations.
It is expensive for the kind of hotel, it is not luxury (we had a suite, upgraded from a Level Room), in fact it is quite standadrd for a beach hotel, except for the beach.
An enormous, huge beach, in which there is a great kitesurf and windsurf activities (hotel included) (in fact, world championships are celebrated), and all for you: lots of space (watch the photos).
There is little else to do, also there is nowhere to go, I had a rental car, and there is nothing near, no activities or restaurants, a major drawback really, depending on our expectations.
Relax and enjoy the beach: If that is what you want, and you can excuse a non-perfect hotel, I cannot think of a better alternative (and I know a lot).

Room Tip: all rooms have sea views,but better overloking the south of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Had a room on the third floor, nice room until i saw a number of cockroaches. The landing also had roaches and outside the main bar. Its mainly full of german and russians who at first had never seen a person of colour by the looks of things as i was watched (actually stared at ) for the first 4 days. So i decided to give them a show as it seemed i was of great interest i purposely over dressed every night. Then on the 5th day i had many of them saying hello. The food was good and my son loved the kids club. The rep from thomas cook was rubbish as i hardly saw her and when i did and mentioned the roaches she said oh yes its because its hot (oh please). Wont be going back.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Spent Christmas and New Year at the Melia Gorriones Hotel Fuerteventura, two weeks of being well looked after and in the company of tremendous staff, friendly and very efficient. Hotel excellant location, right on the beach, food and facilities excellant, overall a first class Hotel and I would highly Recomend.
Weather also great !
Well done and thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.
Best holiday ever.
Pat Sheedy (Mr) Hampshire.

Room Tip: South Facing Get sun in PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Gorriones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Gorriones

Address: Playa Barca S/N, 35627 Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pajara
#13 Family Hotel in Pajara
#17 Luxury Hotel in Pajara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pajara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Gorriones 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Melia Gorriones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Gorriones Hotel Pajara
Melia Hotel Gorriones
Melia Hotel Pajara
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Gorriones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.