We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful week in Umbria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Casale Campodoro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Massa Martana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Casale Campodoro
Save Saved
You added B&B Casale Campodoro to your Saves list
Vocabolo Viepri, 106 | Viepri, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful week in Umbria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a week in the Casale Campodore and we just loved it! The casale is located in the fields next to a small little village. The enironment is very quiet and peaceful. You only hear the sound of the birds and the wind. There is a pool with view over the fields, it is just prefect to have a swim on a warm summer day. The host, Carolina & Pierot are wonderfull people. She is very helpfull and prepares you a nice breakfast in the morning while he will show you the nice places to visit during the day. He knows Umbria very well and every day we had a personalised "briefing" where he explained interesting things to do during the day. We discovered very nice little places off the tourist track thanks to his indications. He also knows all places for fine dining in the area. The room we had was country style with all necessary comfort. After all, we spent most of the time in the beautifull garden. And than there is of course the animals. They are well trained and we loved them. Thanks Carolina and Pierot for the wonderful week we had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a delightful week at Casale Campodoro in June 2012 which was also excellent value. The location - about 15 mins from Todi - is well located for visiting different parts of Umbria and both the grounds and accommodation are beautifully presented. The garden is full of flowers and fruit trees with lots of spaces for sitting out, the pool is private with a fabulous view and the accommodation is imaginatively furnished with antiques and quirky ornaments and paintings. Our two-room apartment was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped and had an immaculate bathroom. The
B &B rooms were of similar quality. Our hosts, Piero and Carolina, were friendly and extremely helpful about planning trips and local information such as where to eat and park. We had the breakfast one morning which included home-made bread, yoghurt and jams and we were invited to help ourselves to apricots and cherries from the trees.
This is a relaxed, informal place but one which has been created with style, humour and careful attention to detail. We certainly hope to go again.

Room Tip: The apartment for two was charming and well-equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just returned from a fantastic weekend at Casale Campodoro. There were 7 of us and Carolina & Piero (who seemed born to run a b&b, i.e. gracious hosts, pleasant and gregarious personalities, extremely helpful, etc.) made us all feel right at home.

The grounds are lovely and our daughter (3 years old) loved the dogs, cats and pony; not to mention the swing (which we had a hard time tearing her away from).

I think the biggest surprise for us was the food, which was delicious. We had homemade bread (made using olive oil produced on site), homemade cake/torte and scrambled eggs (possibly the best scrambled eggs I've ever had) for breakfast every day.

We will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

To get away from the hustle and bustle of the busy touristic cities, this B&B is the perfect place! Greeted by the very hospitable owners Carolina and Piero, along with their very special "menagerie" of pets living on the premises, one can relax in the comfortable rooms furnished in a very cozy and personal style or sit by the pool admiring the countryside. Piero will be very helpful in suggesting local itineraries while Carolina will pamper you with freshly baked bread and home made jam for breakfast. Whether you are looking to relax for just a WE with your partner or wish to spend some time away from the city, to reconcile with nature in the company of family or friends, Casale Campodoro has what it takes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay to explore the best that Umbria has to offer. Situated near to the lovely hillside town of Todi, midway between Orvieto and Assisi, Casale Campodoro is set right in the heart of the Umbrian countryside. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and full of quirky character. Owners Piero and Carolina are animal lovers and the grounds are shared with an aviary, a horse, 3 dogs, 4 cats and a duck – all friendly! Piero and Carolina – who both speak very good English - couldn’t be more helpful, Piero will happily sit down with you to help plan your days out. He’s a fount of useful knowledge about the history and traditions of the area and will tell you the best places to visit, eat and even park your car. We visited several lovely places off the usual tourist trail that we’d otherwise have missed were it not for his advice. Breakfasts at Casale Campodoro are not to be missed – delicious fresh home baked bread and pastries, Piero’s amazing omelettes and Carolina’s home made jams make every morning a joy. Oh and there’s an excellent swimming pool too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Carolina and Pietro work very hard to provide a really special experience. Carolina ensures that you are all settled and prepared. Breakfast is taken at a leisurely pace, and then Pietro will give you all the time you need to find the charming, small places in the local area, as well as the major sights. He has good restaurant recommendations for you as well, from a small local pizzeria 10 mins drive away - such value, €25 for 2 antipasti, 2 pizze, a half litre of wine and a bottle of water! - to a great restaurant, Il Re Beve, in a country house. There are lovely views, and, with all of the small hidden corners of their smallholding, you feel like you are in a piece of Eden! Marvellous, and slightly mad. A real special and unique experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the apartments and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in september with our three children. We had a spacious and tasetfully furnished 3 bedroom apartment. The property has a pool with a lovely panoramic view on the beautiful countryside. The owners are very kind and and go out of their way to be helpful (in Italian, English and French). Breakfast is delicious with homebaked hot bread every morning. Easy to visit Todi, Spoleto, Spello and Assisi. We found all the elements of a a great family vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Casale Campodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casale Campodoro

Address: Vocabolo Viepri, 106 | Viepri, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Massa Martana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Massa Martana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campodoro was once a typical, stone-built Umbrian farmhouse, today it's a guest-house surrounded by an ample garden with a swimming pool and many cozy corners where one can sit and relax. We have decorated the rooms with antiques coming from our families, and painted them with the colors of the land: yellow, green, blue. Breakfast is served in the garden during the summer, in a room filled with books during the winter, and all our guests sit together around the table, thus having a chance to make new friends. If you wish, we'll be happy to talk to you about the art-cities and to share with you the knowledge of this fascinating region we have acquired. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Casale Campodoro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.