We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa

Save Saved
You added Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Localita Montignano, 6, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Massa Martana
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I have just got married at Castello di Montignano. We had a party of circa 50 visit from the UK, generally couples between the ages of 25 and 40. Every single one of them loved the hotel. My wife and I took about 30 seconds to decide it was where we wanted to get married after arrival, and every time we have visited (many times now) we have been made to feel like it is our home.

The rooms are the perfect balance of luxury and rustic, mixing othopaedic mattresses with wooden beams, and every room has fantastic views of the stunning rolling countryside. The rain showers are to die for, breakfast is a massive spread, and the food and wine is all locally sourced from nearby and cooked to perfection by the chef. I simply cannot praise this hotel enough. They made our wedding day amazing from start to finish - the flowers, set up of the various areas, music, photography - we were simply overwhelmed. Furthermore, how many people get to have a spa party the night before their wedding, while the boys are downstairs drinking fine whisky.

However, it is no coincidence that Castello di Montignano offers such a personal and immaculate service. The owners, Claudia and Giuseppe are always around, and are truly lovely people that would do anything for anyone. Their staff are a credit to them, in particular their assistant Beatrice, and I simply cannot understand how anyone can criticise service. Everything is done with attentiveness and a smile. I could get 30 guests to put a perfect review on here, and whilst everything else is also fantastic, they would all say that the staff stand out.

Do yourself a favour and ignore the nonsense comments from people like Shlomzee, who must go to places looking for something to complain about, rather than to enjoy a holiday or to relax. We have travelled all over the world, stayed in the Ritz Singapore, Oberoi Udaipur, and many many others, and not one has ever made us feel as happy as this place - hence why we decided to get married here.

If you read this Claudia/Giuseppe - See you very soon - and thank you so much for a truly amazing wedding.

Lyndon & Roxana

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding, but Arnolfi is extremely romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    73
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
226
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

With love and attention to every detail, Claudia and Giuseppe surpassed our expectations by taking every yet impossible idea and made it come true for our unforgettable wedding celebration.

Our guests wouldn't stop praising the outstanding food- that is proudly "kilometre zero", locally grown and fresh.
Cooking for a big wedding party can be challenging (especially for an outside dinner), nevertheless their team excelled impressively.
As did their staff, that was always attentive, accommodating and helpful to every little need- also at impossible hours.

"Your castle is my castle" was their take on this elegantly renovated, modern yet antique boutique hotel and we fondly think back to how they made us feel at home and part of the "montignano-family" at every moment of our week stay!
Thank you!

Lots of love from New York! See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you are going to Italy... anywhwere in Italy - do yourselft a favour and travel to Castello di Montignano. Claudia and Giuseppe, along with their staff make you feel so incredibly welcome. We had our wedding there (July 30th). It was perfect. Literally perfect. The staff attended to every need of our guests. Claudia, Isabella and Bea, did an amazing job of organzing and executing an experience for our guests they will never forget!

Claudia and Giuseppe, you should be very proud of all you and your team at Montignano have been able to accomplish. We will visit often.

We cannot thank you enough!

Mike and Nat

p.s. we will post picks asap....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This could be such an incredible destination, but is let down by the staff and total lack of service. They give the impression that they are doing you a favour when asked to do something, assuming you can find them in the first place. We were part of a large party attending a wedding at that property, and most complaints were shared by other guests. I would really like to return to this place, but it's missing something that would draw me back. I hope they sort themselves out so that we can find that reason to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent four wonderful days at Castello in June for my daughter’s wedding. Claudia and Giuseppe (owners) pulled out all the stops to make my daughter’s special day, truly unforgettable. The Castello really is a first class spa retreat in an absolutely stunning location. The bedrooms are very individual and maintained to a very high standard, with fantastic views over the Umbrian countryside. All the staff are friendly and extremely attentive. Great location, stunning views, and absolutely fabulous food and wine. I can’t recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights at the Castello in early July, 2012. We had been at professional meetings in Florence for a week and were looking forward to a little luxury, some good food, and a lot of relaxation. We found all in abundance.

The location is superb.The Castello is situated on the top of a hill overlooking some of the most beautiful countryside in the world. In the foreground are fields and villages; further on the foothills of the Apennines. The building, which dates to the 10th century AD, has been carefully and creatively restored and combines a feeling of the old with the most modern of conveniences.

We were greeted by the enthusiastic staff and given our choice of rooms. Everyone, including the young owner and his wife who live on the premises, could not have been friendlier. They helped us plan some side trips and walks. They went out of the way to accommodate our need to leave early to catch our flight from Rome.

We used the pool on a daily basis: it was clean and cool. We tried the Roman baths and enjoyed them a lot. My wife had a massage which she enjoyed. Despite the heat (high 90s some days) we managed a few walks in the glorious countryside by getting out early. We only regretted that the weather made more walking difficult.

The food is sophisticated and well prepared and the wine list, which includes several superb local wines but also many from other regions, was excellent.The chef, Orlando, who brims with enthusiasm, did a great job. We especially liked his wild guinea hen. Orlando also gave us a suggestion for dining (Antica Hosteleria del Valle) in Todi which was spot on.

We were lucky to be there when the place was far from full. This gave us a chance to get to know the enthusiastic and very competent staff better than we might otherwise have been able to. That added a lot to the feeling of being in a friendly atmosphere.

Naturally, we had a few reservations. The system for logging into wifi is cumbersome--every time you turn on the computer you have to enter a long string of numbers. And initially we had to get a new password every day but they finally fixed that. They probably could have had a little more information about local tourism and walking paths. But these are very minor problems.

We travel a lot and in many countries and I can say with confidence that the five days at the Castello ranks very high among our experiences of like places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed in Castello di Montignano in the last week of August 2011 and it was superb.We enjoyed every minute of it. We were travelling with our 11 month old daughter and stayed in the lovely Benedettoni suite. The owner, Giuseppe, also showed us other suites and they were all very beautiful and spacious. So is the entire castle. Giuseppe and Claudia really make you feel at home, as if you are staying with friends or family. All staffmembers were friendly, helpfull and attentive. We absolutely loved the lunch at the poolarea, a large table full of lovely salads, meat dishes and fruit, in the most relaxing ambiance, enjoying a glass of wine and the magnificent views. We had diner in the hotel garden every night of our stay so our babygirl could sleep with the babyphone turned on, and we enjoyed every dish, especially the chef's (local) specials. We also enjoyed the wines, there were some very good local wines. For our little girl everything you can wish for was available, and when travelling with older kids, the garden surrounding the pool is absolutely ideal. As the garden is very big, it is also the ideal place for you to relax if you do not like children while enjoying the sun on a bed.
Although August 2011 is a long while ago, we still think of Castello di Montignano very often. We can not think of a more relaxing and friendly environment and will definitely come back! Thank you Claudia, Giuseppe and staff; we are still enjoying the olive oil!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa

Address: Localita Montignano, 6, 06056 Massa Martana, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Massa Martana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Massa Martana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello di Montignano is a Heritage Hotel set on a hill with great view, very close to Todi and Massa Martana and very easy to reach from Rome.It has 12 romantic rooms with view, Spa Acquadegna with relax area, outdoor pool, gourmet Restaurant Materiaprima. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Montignano Relais And Spa
Castello Di Montignano Relais Hotel Massa Martana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.