We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Amazon Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juma Amazon Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Juma Amazon Lodge to your Saves list
Juma Amazon Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Av. Eduardo Ribeiro, N0 520 Sala 1210, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69010001, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Amazon Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a group of 15 (9 teenage girls). There was something for everyone. We had a wonderful time. The food was very good. We had some vegetarians and picky eaters with us, but everyone seemed to find something they liked. The rooms were so cool. Loved the hammocks. It was the end of July, the fans were enough to keep cool. The tours were awesome. We experienced things that are once in a lifetime. People are shocked to hear that I went Piranha fishing and had it for dinner or that a monkey curled up with me in a hammock for a nap. The sunrise was spectacular and the night sky was amazing. I don't think I'll forget how many stars and shooting stars we saw. Not something we see everyday in our city. I also got to swing from a vine and tried to climb tree. The kids did much better at this activity. Our guide, Joao, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and very patient with our group with so many questions. If you enjoy nature/camping you will enjoy being here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. After being in Rio with 3.5 million people for World Youth Day, it was a wonderful way to relax before coming home.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    33
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
70
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July/13 for 4 nights. I think that's enough to have greater day trips and not get bored to repeat same experiences. Hotel has many activities during the day, since walk at jungle, fish, crocodile adventure, sunset, sunrise... everything about trips were amazing ! But be prepared to stay in a very simple room, with warm water at shower, no glasses at the windows. In July, after all rainy period, the river is completely full and you need a boat to leave the hotel. You stay "inside" the river. It's an amazing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Juma Amazon Lodge is a jungle lodge set well away from the usual tourist haunts.It is about a 3 hour trip from Manaus by boat and car, with the boat trip to the lodge being the most scenic.

From the outset everything was taken care of. We were met at the airport by Juma staff and taken to our hotel in Manaus, where we were overnighting, and picked up from the hotel the next morning for transfer to the lodge. The reverse happened on our departure.

The lodge is an eco lodge and they have done much to be sympathetic with the jungle and rain forest and minimise the impact of the lodge on the environment. We were greeted on arrival by our guide for the 6 days we were there, with a welcome drink and an explanation of the intent and operation of the lodge.

Activities included Piranha Fishing, Caiman spotting, jungle hikes,bird watching, farm visit and a night in the jungle. Swimming is from the boat pontoon and it is quite safe

We caught piranha and a saw a number of caiman, both black and white and saw a multitude of bird varieties.

The staff could not be more helpful, every request was met and the manager enquired regularly to ensure everything was to our satisfaction.

The lodge is exactly as described, a jungle lodge. If you can't survive without the internet or five star hotel service then Juma is not for you. If insects bother you or you need air conditioned rooms, Juma is not for you, but if you want a great jungle experience complete with monkeys, caiman, frogs, fish, and a natural jungle setting, then go to Juma. Tours are organised but there is no obligation to join them, but you will miss some memorable experiences if you don't go.

Our thanks go to all the staff for making our visit a memorable one but a special thank you must go to Joao, our guide, who went out of his way to ensure we did and saw as much as possible. His knowledge of the rain forest and animal life is encyclopaedic and he speaks 3 languages fluently.

Room Tip: The Special rooms have hot water but you don't really need it give the ambient temperature
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

From their meeting us at the airport (with a sign with my name on it!) to taking us back there, the Juma Lodge experience was incredible. My husband and I and our two grown sons (ages 32 and 28) wanted to do something different for a vacation, and Brazil was it! But our 3-day Juma Lodge stay was the most different of all our Brazil experiences! (The others - also great - were Rio, Iguazzu Falls and Isla Bella.) The rides to Juma (boat then van then boat) were interesting in themselves, as was the "shack" where we waited for the second boat. There was a pool table there that my sons enjoyed and it was fun to get to know some of the other guests joining us at Juma. We were all so curious about what we were getting into! The boat ride after that was fun and exciting and fast! Upon arrival we were served unique smoothies and after settling into our "hut" built on stilts near the water, we were served lunch. The buffet was wonderful. I am a fussy and not adventurous eater at all, but I loved the fruit, pasta dishes and chicken at every lunch and dinner! The rest of my family tried everything and loved the variety of dishes. We did buy bottled water sometimes and other times drank the mineral water provided and never had any sort of sickness at all! (Our immunization doctor in Phoenix where we are from had told us to be careful about what we ate, but we were NOTcareful and had no illness problems throughout Brazil including Juma Lodge. We did take anti-malarial pills.) After relaxing in our cabin after lunch we went on a boat to a home on the Amazon and saw how people live there, far from the nearest city. Our guide Kendrick was excellent and spoke perfect English. He did the tour in English and Portuguese. We later had a sunset boat ride, a good dinner, and fell into bed! I wished we had had air-conditioning - one of my wishes for Juma Lodge! But the fans were adequate at night. The next day we were up early for a sunrise boat ride and then breakfast and then a jungle hike with our guide Jaoa or Joao - not sure! He had his machete and led us on a very informative and fun tour of the jungle or rainforest - I never got the differences straight. Again, a well-spoken guide who knew so much about this new to us environment. After this hike we returned by boat to Juma Lodge for lunch and much needed rest. A sunset boat ride, then dinner, then a night-time caymen hunting boat ride concluded the day. Because we were on the short 2-night stay at Juma Lodge, we left the next morning after breakfast. We were deposited promptly at the Manaus airport and easily made our flight on to Iguazzu Falls. The entire Juma Lodge experience was wonderful; the employees met our every need!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had decided to include a jungle trip in our trip to Brazil and a friend had stayed at Juma Lodge so we booked a four day trip.
We were picked up in Manaus from our hotel.It is a long trip to Juma (about three hours). This includes two boat trips and and bus/van.
The only mis communication was re luggage. We had a long complicated trip and two big heavy cases full of clothes we would not need in the jungle. They recommend that you repack and bring just what you will need for the jungle trip. In fact Juma takes care of your excess luggage and arranges for it to be brought to the airport when you leave. Our connection was fairly tight upon departure and we worried that we would have to go back to our hotel in Manaus. In the end this was done seamlessly but was not well explained ahead of time.
The trip in was enjoyable especially when on the water. You pass through the Black and White Rivers on the way out from Manaus. Watch for it when you fly out. They are clearly visible from on high. It was amazing to feel the temperature difference.
Our host/guide, Tony was wonderful. He looked after us from the hotel pick up to our flight out. Great guy! Our party was small, three couples and we did everything together.
We arrived to a tropical drink in the reception area and two little howler monkeys playing around our chairs. Opinion on the monkeys varies. They are kept around as pets when young and are clearly an attraction for many. Some people, including one woman in our group and my friend who referred me here are afraid of the animals. At the age we saw them (six months) they are playful and affectionate but not dangerous. This apparently changes at around 1 year and they do not keep them after that.
The female curled up in my arms for a little nap the first day which was very endearing.
We loved our cabin. It is very private and has a lovely balcony with a nice big hammock. All cabins are up on stilts and platforms connect to the dining hall and reception area. You really feel that you are in the jungle with wild parrots, monkeys etc all around. The accommodations are comfortable and the food plentiful. If you want to try some Brazilian style food like fejoada it is there. If you want to stick to traditional North American/European food, there is plenty of that too.
You are kept busy with activities throughout your stay. Tony oriented us on the first night with maps and we went bird watching, fishing, hiking in the jungle and visited a small farm on the other side of the Amazon.
We wanted to get in the river and swim which we did twice a day during our stay. The location for swimming is not optimal as it is the boat dock. The water is bath water warm and we enjoyed our swims.
I would strongly recommend Juma for this kind of trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Juma Lodge! The trip to the Lodge by boat is very beautiful. The Lodge is totaly integrated into nature. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Food was great. We had a lot of fun with the activities, specially the jungle hike and canoeing in the evening. Also recommend the optional tours of boto encounter and tree climbing (the view at the top of the tree is amazing)! Juma is certainly an excelent option for those who want to be in contact with the Amazon Forest!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Juma has a beautiful setting right on the Amazon, and the rooms are on stilts over the water. Walking between rooms is via elevated boardwalk, also over the water. A Lodge representative picks you up in Manaus and takes you to a boat where you meet your Juma guide and then go upriver (about 2-3 hours) to the Lodge. This is all very professionally done, and very enjoyable. When at the Lodge, different canoes (each hold 12 people) take groups on trips around the rivers and to connect with jungle walks. For those staying 5 nights, Juma offers a "night in the jungle" on hammocks with mosquito netting (we did this and it was great fun). We enjoyed Juma and were impressed with their staff. However, We had 2 real complaints about Juma. First, our pour guide had to handle 11 people! So even though he sat in the middle seat of the 12 person canoe, only those within 1 or 2 seats of the guide could hear him. The same was true on the jungle walks - unless you were in the first 3 or 4 people (out of 11 or 12), you didn't hear or see much. It was very frustrating. The second complaint is more serious - of our party of 4 ALL of us became ill. And we spent 3 more weeks in Brazil and NEVER became ill. So that tells ua Juma isn't careful enough with their food preparation. Our theory is that the juice was watered down with untreated water.
So, in summary, this is a good lodge and could be a great lodge with a lower guide to guest ratio and more careful food prep.

Room Tip: The lake view bungalows are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaioFonseca, Proprietário at Juma Amazon Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Cayakc

Thank you for your review about us.

Good to know that, overall, you had a good experience!

Usually we work up to ten people per boat, but sometimes, because of the high season, we have to work with a bit larger groups. But we are working on that: we bought one more boat to be able to provide always groups not bigger than ten people.

Our water comes from a well that we have in the back of the lodge. From this well we use a filter, in order to provide a clean water. I asked Renato, my partner that takes care of the maintainance, to keep monitoring it, in order to avoid any malfunction of our system.

Hope to see you again at the lodge.

Best Regards,

Caio Fonseca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Juma Amazon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juma Amazon Lodge

Address: Av. Eduardo Ribeiro, N0 520 Sala 1210, Autazes, State of Amazonas 69010001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Amazonas > Amazon River > Autazes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Autazes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Juma Amazon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juma Amazon Lodge is a small and comfortable hotel designed to be totally integrated to the Amazon Jungle. The construction and operation of the lodge comply with and respect the limitations of the environment, which is the very reason for the hotel to exist.Juma Amazon Lodge's goal is to offer a real and unique experience in the untouched Amazon Rainforest. All trips are organized in small groups; guests can take part on many activities around the lodge, each one is designed to help explore and learn about this unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Juma Amazon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juma Hotel Autazes
Juma Amazon Lodge Brazil/AM

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juma Amazon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.