We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Outlook.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge

Save Saved
You added Water's Edge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge
Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Fortrose B&B and Inns
Canberra Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Outlook.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed in room 2 on the first floor. The room was comfortably furnished and featured a luxurious modern bathroom with a large shower and separate bath.

The breakfast was generous and well cooked with a number of choices. The dining room and guest lounge were beautifully furnished with an outlook over the water.

The property is a short walk (five minutes) from Fortrose which has only two restaurants (which are closed on some days of the week).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Gillian and Bill are your hosts at this beautiful B a B. The accomodation, food and hospitality were the best. If you read the web location details the setting is spot on. . The location is within walking distance of good an excellent reastaurant and fine dining pub named Andersons. Be sure to visit Channory point for the Dolphins.
We have visited many B and B's this is one of the best.
Linda and Roger

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Gillian and Bill are top drawer professionals when it comes to running a bed & breakfast. The accomodations, food and hospitality were far above average, and the setting was delightful.

The location is within walking distance of good reastaurants and a quaint village and marina. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We booked a one night stopover at Water's Edge on our way to a week's holiday in Orkney. We were swayed by the location photos on the website and the 5 star grading and we found the reality even better than expected. The house overlooks the Moray Firth which is a stunning stretch of water and the garden leads down to the shingle beach. A perfect location. All the bedrooms have the same stunning view with french doors onto a large balcony and the lullaby of the sea to help you drift off to sleep in the big, comfy bed. Ask for room 1 if you also value having untinerrupted sea view whilst soaking in the bath or taking a shower. There were some nice touches in the room - a little bowl of fruit, proper shortbread biscuits and even a few butterscotch toffees alongside the usual tea and coffee facilities. Before we left for our trip to Orkney we booked for 2 nights on our return south and would have stayed for 3 nights but they were booked up. Bill and Gillian are charming and friendly hosts and their home is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and very welcoming. The breakfasts are perfect with a large choice of hot dishes including the impressive option of whisky and cream for your porridge. We enjoyed being seated with the other guests (max 6) round a large table overlooking the garden and the sea. This was a lovely way to swap ideas for the days events and pass on experiences of the local eateries. You can walk from the house (leisurely hour) or drive to Chanonry Point to watch the Moray Firth bottle nosed dolphins, just a few yards from the shingle beach, follow the fish into the Firth on the rising tide. What a treat. Bill very kindly puts a copy of the tide tables in your room so that you can plan your day to include this 'must do' experience. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

We'd seen the pictures on the website but they don't really do justice to the place... but then i think no photos could. We've stayed at some high end hotels that don't come up to the standards of Waters Edge. As you approach from the road you'd be forgiven for thinking you've got the wrong place.... no big sign... this is a good thing..... and it looks like quite a small property... but it is tardis like once you're inside. All 3 guestrooms are on the upper floor with a huge balcony outside the french windows that are in each room. They are incredibly well put together with loads of lovely features. There are thoughtful little touches... so many in fact that it takes quite sometime to notice them all... we didn't notice the bowl of fresh fruit until just before we were leaving!

Room facilities include the usual coffee/tea making equipment but also a mini fridge! Yay for being able to keep a bottle or two chilled for sipping on the balcony watching the sun go down... glasses are provided too!
Because of the house's position you see both sunrise and sunset... no wonder they have the balcony!

The bathroom in room 2 was better than any hotel bathroom I've experienced.... immaculate and so spacious and the bath HAS to be used!

We were surprised to get a choice of breakfast....6 or 7 choices! To be honest we would have been content with just our choice but there was also a wide choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit and toast would've kept coming if we would've had room!
Bill & Gill are excellent hosts and have done an amazing job with Waters Edge!
It was a real shame to have to leave..... and this is one place we will definately go back to again and again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Great place, lovely room, amazing view, brilliant breakfast. Loved the bath overlooking the Moray Firth & the delightful balcony. Lots of little touches made our stay so comfortable.
Best B & B we've stayed in in the UK.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We can only endorse the other excellent reviews of this property. The Black Isle is a delightful area, and staying at the Water's Edge made our visit truly memorable. The decor and furnishings are really first class, and Bill and Gill could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very well appointed, and the views from the large balcony were an added bonus (especially the spectacular sunrise). The little extra touches enhanced the overall "five star" experience, such as the wonderfully soft bath robes, the heated bathroom floor and the welcoming glass of whisky or sherry. We felt like guests in an elegant home rather than paying customers.
Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of cooked dishes.
The location is very convenient, and is just a short walk into the village of Fortrose. We spent a very enjoyable evening at the Anderson - great food and atmosphere.
Do stay at the Water's Edge if you get the chance. Our only regret was that we were only there for one night.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge

Address: Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three double bedrooms have en suite bathrooms with bath and shower are luxurious and very special. Each has a large balcony with magnificent views over the sea and the hills towards Culloden. The sitting room has an inglenook fireplace with a log fire, antiques and flowers from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Fortrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.