We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Hospitality - As it should be...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Water's Edge to your Saves list
Water's Edge
Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Fortrose B&B and Inns
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Scottish Hospitality - As it should be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived on the doorstep at Waters Edge, nothing was too much trouble. Bill and Gill are quite possibly the nicest 2 people on the planet. We booked the room on Gills recommendation that the bathroom overlooks the Moray Firth... she wasn't wrong. I wallowed for soooo long in that beautiful tub that I almost grew fins!!
The room was immaculate, the fresh flowers dotted in tiny vases throughout the accommodation gave the place a heavenly scent.
Breaksfast?? Make sure you have time, they don't scrimp... and I'm glad, it was delicious, hearty and set us up every day, we are still giggling about being offered whisky, cream and local honey just for the porridge! On the subject of Whiskey...Bill thank you for the lesson, Tony is a convert and is costing me a 'wee' fortune in the purely medicinal stuff!
I know I'm drooling, but the Waters Edge truly deserve this accolade, I almost don't want to write this as you will visit and I may not get booked in for my return journey.
Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!!

Room Tip: the one with the huge tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This guest house was excellent,gill & bill were such great hosts,nothing was too much,the breakfast was very good & our room was outstanding & very clean & the view from the balcony was fantastic,we will definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Steiermark, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are from Austria and went on a two weeks tour through Scotland. We went to many B&Bs, but the one of Gill and Bill was an marvelous experience. We travelled with two boys aged sixteen and eleven. The owners were very uncomplicated and very kindly.
The beautiful rooms, could also have been furnished by a designer because they are so nice equipped. Every of the rooms have a wonderful view on the sea, a really nice location.
The breakfast was unimaginable! The range of available food was amazing, and everything was nicely prepared!
The conversations with Gill and Bill were always amusing and enjoyable. They had many good advices and all of them were helpful. (for example, a nice spot for watching dolphins)
After one night we decided to stay another one, because we liked it so much!
We would like to recommend this unique place to everybody and we hope you can enjoy your stay like we did it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and we were welcomed with luxury! The room was lovely, with a massive en-suite bathroom, heated floor, walk in shower and huge bath. The balcony was amazing - the views from it were stunning.

Gillian & Bill were very welcoming, and breakfast was amazing - we had bacon and pancakes with maple syrup and it was truly delicious!!!

The highlight of our visit though, was seeing the dolphins a short drive away - we were warned we may not see them, but sure enough, we did! It rounded off a perfect, comfortable stay.

We would definitely return - complete idyll!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place is amazing! I can't really explain in words what awaits you when you arrive at Watersedge but myself and my husband were stunned into silence for the first day of our stay at the beautiful house and the mind blowing scenary from the beautiful french doors and balcony of our room! Bill and Gill are fantastic hosts, warm, friendly and very welcoming. Our trip has been amazing x

Room Tip: We had the rrom with the free standing bath. Absolutely gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The only negative points we can make are that it felt a little too pristine, and the couple we stayed with had no tea or coffee in their room and thats it. The beds are lovely, the hosts are wonderful, theres a great choice for breakfast and every amenity is provided. The biggest mistake you can make is not to spend any time on your balcony.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for only one night at the end of a long trip around Scotland and only wish that we could have stayed longer. The house is simply gorgeous -- lots of personal, tasteful touches, like the welcoming drink and treats, as well as fruit, shortbread and a selection of teas in the bedroom (and umbrella too!). All rooms look out to the water and should weather permit, just sitting out in the terrace is lovely. The bed and sheets are probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in, the bathroom is modern with a huge tub big enough for two. Everything is just luxurious, elegant and sophisticated. A perfect place for adults on a romantic getaway. Bill and Gillian are wonderful and welcoming and well-traveled, which shows in their wonderful house. I can't recommend Water's Edge highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge

Address: Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three double bedrooms have en suite bathrooms with bath and shower are luxurious and very special. Each has a large balcony with magnificent views over the sea and the hills towards Culloden. The sitting room has an inglenook fireplace with a log fire, antiques and flowers from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Fortrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.