We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream house with a beautiful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Water's Edge to your Saves list
Water's Edge
Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Fortrose B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dream house with a beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were delighted with our accommodation when we arrived at Water's Edge. Our hosts were friendly and our room was beautiful, with thoughtful little touches throughout. The view from the balcony across the Moray Firth to Castle Stuart golf club was amazing. Our meal at The Anderson was just what we needed to complete a thoroughly enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spend 7 days in the Water´s Edge,is the best place to be. Everything is done with love and high quality. We thank to Gillian&Bill for the nice breakfasts with the stunning view and
the eggs 13 minutes!!!! The house and the rooms are super super nice and cleaned!
We have just looked for the flights for the next holiday in 2012.
Thank you Gill&Bill and all the best for you and nice holiday for you!!!

Thomas & Juliane from Italy

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I returned to Water's Edge after orginally visiting here in September 2009. What a beautiful place this is. Set on the very banks of the Moray Firth you can't get any closer to the water or the Dolphins!!!! Gillian and Bill are simply wonderful hosts, happy to chat and help you whilst leaving you to enjoy your stay. The house is immaculately clean and welcoming. Keep an eye out for the ducks in the pond. The Fea family are looking forward to returning again in 2012.

Room Tip: Give Gillian and Bill a call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Craven
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Absolutely fantastic in every aspect. It was that good I have made a reservation for my parents next year as a treat for them.

Great hosts, great breakfast, great views from lovely rooms with wonderful features.

Highly recommended by all.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful balcony with a view of the firth. Coffee and a Scotch on the balcony - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay. House is very nice and the rooms are very well thought out with everything you need - the terrace and views are what really makes the difference. Spotlessly clean and Gillian and Bill are very pleasant and unobtrusive hosts. Breakfast with a view was very nice too! On our last day we also saw dolphins swimming from our room as well as the elusive otter..what more would you want?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Like many others, we seldom book any hotels, trips or restaurants without first checking reviews on Trip Advisor. On a return visit to see the dolphins of the Moray Firth we booked a two night stay in Water's Edge on the basis of these reviews. We can only fully endorse the long list of lovely positivities highlighted in the previous review (' Absolutely lovely' July 26th) and beg to differ from their two, tiny negative points. We found the firm mattress just perfect for us and that the eight thirty breakfast allowed us plenty of time to fully enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
The only thing we would add to the previous review is that although the house and gardens do look very lovely on their website, it does not do them justice. The views from the terrace are stunning. Room 2 has been refurbished and is now similar in feel to our room ( room 3), beautifully decorated in creams and soft whites. The garden has evolved beautifully from earlier pictures and has obviously been lavished with artistic loving care. It is simply a delightful place to stay.
This was our very first visit to a B&B and found the whole experience overwhelmingly positive.

If going to the area dolphin spotting, can highly recommend the boat trip with Ecoventures, Cromarty.

Stayed September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Room 3. It is a stuningly lovely room, everything white and cream. After you have been in the deep bath full of hot water, dried yourself with the large white towels standing on the heated floor and wrapped yourself up in the fleecy white bathrobe there is the feeling of total relaxation. This feeling is enhanced by the placement of things both in the room, the house itself and the stunning garden full of artefacts from the sea such as old ship's wheels, ropes, anchors and sculptural pieces of driftwood. We were greeted by Bill, a lovely kind man rightly proud of his house, which you feel you are a guest in. The smell in the room was of fresh rose, artistically placed in a china cup and saucer on the dressing table. The french doors to the balcony were open, allowing us to immediately see the unique selling point of this B and B - the view, uninterrupted of the Moray Firth. Lovely wooden furnture to sit on on the balcony, pots of herbs demarcate your area from that of the two other rooms. On further investigation the room was so full of nice little touches you really do feel looked after! It was spotlessly clean, again adding to the restful, luxurious feel. The shower is one of the best power showers I have experienced, I found it hard to get out of! I would have been happy just staying in the room and balcony for the entire time. My only slight disappointment was the mattress which was a little hard for me, but this is only because I like a mattress topper. The pillows are lovely. And I loved the hand crocheted bed spread, and the beautiful white curtains at the French windows blowing on the slight breeze.
Breakfast has plenty of fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt, cereals, juices and a choice of quite a few cooked options, and no baked beans in sight, thankfully. If I have a criticism it might be that the bread is a bit ordinary - freshly baked would have been better (but that is perhaps being a bit picky) You eat at 8 or 8.30 which is earlier than we would like on holiday, but again we can live with that! You sit at a table with the other guests which is potentially a bit daunting so early in the morning for me, but luckily everyone was so relaxed having stayed in these sumptuous rooms that it felt okay. Also we were again facing the stunning view as we ate. We all felt lucky I think to be there! Gill chatted to us all, and is very open and friendly.
When we come back to Fortrose or the area we would stay here without a doubt. Highly recommended for anyone looking for something unique and special. Superb, thank you.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge

Address: Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three double bedrooms have en suite bathrooms with bath and shower are luxurious and very special. Each has a large balcony with magnificent views over the sea and the hills towards Culloden. The sitting room has an inglenook fireplace with a log fire, antiques and flowers from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Fortrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.