We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Water's Edge

Save Saved
You added Water's Edge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Water's Edge
Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Fortrose B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

We had a really fantastic stay in the luxury of Waters Edge. This is a fantastic accomodation with all the right finishing touches and very pleasant hosts. The breakfast was also superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Wonderful location. Great attention to detail. Good breakfast

Room Tip: all 3 rooms have views over the loch
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed with Bill and Gillian in the beginning of May. And we loved it! We had been staying in luxury B&B's all over Scotland, and the memory of this one has stuck with us ever since we stayed there. Everything was kept with such love and attention to detail. The room and bathroom were absolutely spotless. This was all framed by breathtaking views from the private balcony. It needs to be said that Bill and Gillian were very welcoming and open hearted people. We were looking for a nice place to rest after busy travelling, and we found it at Water's Edge. They really understood how to make people feel comfortable in their home. This also holds true for the small ducklings that had just hatched when we arrived and which Gillian was taking care off. The breakfast was sumptuous, and prepared with again very much attention to detail. All in all a great stay, with even greater people.An absolute hit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Bill and Gillian are by far the best hosts that Calvin and I have ever had in a bed and breakfast. The smallest attention to detail is taken care of. The place is spotless. The food is prepared with love and served in scrumptious volumes. The rooms are dreamy and the bathrooms make you want to soak the night away. I could've happily curled up in bed all day with the french doors opening on the balcony with the magnificent view but the sunshine called us out. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. In fact, I was very sad to go. You will be missing out on a very special place in Scotland if you do not stop and linger here for a while.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Welcoming, friendly, luxurious, clean, tasteful and an exceptional breakfast......but the real wow factor is the outlook from the room/ balcony. Stunning uninterrupted views over the sea. We'll definitely be back to this special place!

Room Tip: Go to Chanory Point (5 mins drive) to spot dolphin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband and I spent two lovely nights at this amazing bed and breakfast. What attracted us was the close proximity to the sea- we both love dolphins and we were not disappointed. Only a 5 minute drive and we were able to stand on the beach watching these amazing animals who seem to love human company. One of them had a baby with her- we got some great snaps! What an amazing place to stay!

Aside from the stunning location, the standard of accommodation was better than any we have experienced in Scotland. It certainly deserves the 5 star gold accolade which it won from Visit Scotland!

The sumptuous Scottish breakfast was beautifully presented and to enjoy it with the stunning views of the sea was an added bonus! I heartily recommend Bill's porridge and Dave recommends Gill's Cinamon French Toast with delicious fresh fruit. Something a little bit different and the kind of unique special touch which you can only obtain from a quality B&B.

As for the room well it was amazing! There were huge patio doors and a generous balcony from which to enjoy the views- very romantic! It was immacculately clean- a difficult task as everything was light in colour. It was so beatifully relaxing! With the beautiful decor and the comfy bed we had best sleep we have had in years! Oops! nearly forgot to mention the fabulous bathroom! bucketloads of piping hot water and powerful showers are always a plus for me!

Gill and Bill are wonderful hosts- always there if you need them, but not too intrusive like so many B&Bs where we have stayed in the past. Clearly attention to detail means a great deal to them and they enjoy what they do immensely which made our stay all the more memorable. Don't hestiate to book here!! This is the best place we have found yet! We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Book up quick- it gets busy in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

After problems obtaining a confirmation we arrived to be told we were expected the previous day! We also mentioned that a 3% surcharge had been added to our bill for credit card payment, but not mentioned on the website. The owner apologised and promised to rectify this. Never mind - mistakes happen.

The room was fine but the bathroom had not been cleaned - also it had no towels. We found pubic hairs in the shower, body hairs in the bath and kindly asked the owners to make sure this was cleaned up while we went to dinner. On our return, we were subjected to a torrent of abuse from the owner's wife because we had complained. She then told us to leave rather than resolve the issue amicably!

To avoid further unpleasantness we agreed to leave at 9.00pm and find another hotel - difficult in a small community. We asked the owner's wife to ensure we were reimbursed including the 3% surcharge. She told us, very ungraciously, that it was their choice whether to do so

Don't go there

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge

Address: Canonbury Terrace, Fortrose IV10 8TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three double bedrooms have en suite bathrooms with bath and shower are luxurious and very special. Each has a large balcony with magnificent views over the sea and the hills towards Culloden. The sitting room has an inglenook fireplace with a log fire, antiques and flowers from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Water's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water's Edge Fortrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water's Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.