We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly and informal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anderson

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fortrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anderson
Save
You added The Anderson to your Saves list
Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly and informal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is so friendly and very laid back - if you want attentive formal staff, don't come here. The rooms are nice, the food is excellent and it has a really nice ambience. There's not a huge amount to see or do in Fortrose (though the haggis from the local butchers is tasty and there's an old abbey next door) but if you have a car the Highlands are right there. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    32
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
73
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed here several times and always leave completely contented and very relaxed. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. It is 20 minutes north of Invenress, set in the beautiful coastal village of Fortrose - (make sure you go to watch the dolphins and the seals at the lighthouse. Best to get a beachside view at the incoming tide.)

A major highlight is the food, whether eating in the more formal dining room or in the cosy bar is great. Everything has a real home-made and locally sourced focus, and is truly delicious!! Not to mention breakfast - yum! My hubby swears it is the best coffee ever - while I enjoy the lovely tea!

The rooms all have a wonderful, ecclectic, home-spun theme - and I always have to set an alarm so that I don't sleep in as the beds are just too darn comfy!

Also really dog friendly!

I will definitley book in when I am next up North.

Room Tip: Room 1 has the comfiest bed ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

At just 20 minutes or so outside of the center of Inverness, is the Anderson Inn. Situated in Fortrose, it is right on the street with lots of parking. Service is absolutely excellent and the owner will frequently "check in" on the patrons to ensure that everything is superb.

The dining room is well lit but not "bright" so its perfect ambiance for romance or just dining with friends. Cleanliness is top notch, including a really lovely ladies room.

Nothing here is "standard fare"...it all has a bit of a different twist to it...ie: hand battered chicken breast with a sweet potato waffle and maple syrup dripped over it.....heaven! Everything is recommended! Appetizers are terrific too! Try the brie with fig or the Buffalo Style Wings, (American style) with the buffalo sauce being strong, fire-y and buttery! I have had my 2 favorite desserts (puddings) here at this restaurant, (among ALL the ones i have ever had in the UK). The first is the black and white brownie plate, (hearty servings of a chocolate brownie and a blondie brownie, with sauce and chocolate ice cream). ALSO - the WARM apple cake.....I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my Mother on our annual 'family pilgrimage' to the Black Isle. Originally chose the hotel as it accepted dogs and the previous hotel we'd stayed in no longer did. It's the 2nd year we've stayed and a good experience on both occasions. We've had a couple of issues re damp bed linen last year and the bed made up as a double when we booked a twin this year .....but... all was sorted at once, with good grace. I do think that the measure of a business is not what goes wrong, but how it is dealt with, and in this case they scored highly.

It is clean and welcoming with an eclectic taste in furniture and fittings that suits both the building and the owners! Service efficient and most helpful, with perceptible respect for us as The Customer. We had dinner in the bar and the menu was a fabulous mixture of local produce with an American twist. Imaginative presentation and delicious. We will return next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wlales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hubby and I visited you again for another great meal. Ian was in foody heaven with your Fillet Steak and sauce and I thoroughly enjoyed the fact that you were able to mix and match my main course. In addition we had lovely desserts and waddled out of the pub after hubby decided to sample the alcohol on offer. We will see you again next year we hope for another great meal and atmosphere. It was a pity we were not there next week for the quiz. Batty, bonkers and brilliant. If you want to visit an eclectic eatery with excellent facilities, then this should be your choice.
Ian and Chris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great find. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a fabulous selection of real ales and whiskies. The food was home made and delicious - the Viking Soup is superb. The staff cannot do enough for you - so friendly it was an absolute pleasure to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Group of 8 stayed in the hotel for its extensive selection of fine ales, both local and international. Fantastic atmosphere in the bar, friendly locals and guests. Magnificent selection of alcohol (ale,whisky and wine) and very reasonably priced. Staff were very helpful and were very knowledgable regarding their drink deletion (in particular Jim, the hotel manager. A great host) The restaurant is charming and the food was wonderful. Excellent value for money. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Fortrose itself is a quaint village and is a only a few minutes from Chanonry point, an ideal location for dolphin spotting. I will definitely return to stay at the hotel as I thoroughly enjoyed my stay (and I have many for ales to try!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anderson

Address: Union Street, Fortrose IV10 8TD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Fortrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fortrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish restaurant with rooms on the beautiful Black Isle, featuring a new menu of exotic Global Cuisine every day. The fire lit Whisky Bar stocks more than 200 single-malts, 100 Belgian beers and well-tendered real ales. Convenient to Inverness and perfect for golfing, walking and dolphin-watching. Nine well-appointed ensuite guest rooms. "Top Ten Scottish Restaurants 2007??? (Sunday Herald) "You'll be treated like royalty" (Scotland for Dummies) ???A beer drinker’s Mecca. (CAMRA, Pub of the Year 2007) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anderson Hotel Fortrose
Anderson Hotel Fortrose
The Anderson Fortrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anderson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.