We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ruins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortrose Cathedral

Fortrose Cathedral
Cathedral Square, Fortrose, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 attractions in Fortrose
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely ruins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This must have been a large and impressive cathedral in its day. Now it's a set of lovely peaceful ruins. You can't really go inside the cathedral because a centuries old piece of masonry might decide to lodge itself in the top of your skull, but you can walk the grounds and look inside the cathedral from the safe side of the fence.
Free parking and no admission fee, that's a plus. Nice place for a pick-nick.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely picnic spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been here a few times. It's a lovely picnic spot and great for kids as the cathedral has a wall running around it. It's tucked away from the main road and a beautiful peaceful spot. My kids love playing hide and seek here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice ruin just off the main road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We hadn't even planned to visit the cathedral but came across it quite by accident. We were looking to park the car and walk up to a restaurant when we notice the ruin.

We took some great pictures and walked around the fence to see all the sides. It seems lovingly looked after and offered great picture opportunities.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The cathedral was an unexpected find in the middle of Fortrose. It is a ruin, but, with imagination, you can see how large and powerful the cathedral was in its day. I felt at peace there, where the only thing to disturb the serenity was a seagull sitting on her nest by a doorstep and the expectant father doing guard duty nearby.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterbrough
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went here and looked around it, it must have been quite beautiful in its own time, shame it is fenced off now (health and safety)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortrose Cathedral also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Fortrose Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortrose Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fortrose Cathedral to your Saves list