We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Prize Winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eilean Dubh Restaurant

Eilean Dubh Restaurant
High Street, Fortrose IV10 8SX, Scotland
01381 620690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Fortrose
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Prize Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We called in for a Sunday lunch and found a space for two. The staff were cheerful and welcoming and explained the specials carvery board and other choices. The food was locally sourced and delicious so much so that my husband booked a second meal a week later without prompting! They have just been awarded Winner of the Highland and Island Eateries 2013 and were thrilled.
The second week I chose Cromarty Crab for starter, roast pork with a huge choice of veg and then a white chocolate cheesecake which was a real eye roller! Scrumptious - all of it.
For the last meal of our stay on the lovely Black Isle we called for lunch - steak as juicy and good to eat and then an amazing Scottish cheese board. The best cheeseboard I have ever had the joy to savour. Ann the chef and all the girls are to be congratulated. We will be back for more. Congratulations

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    42
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in Fortrose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and delicious food. Sunday carvery had great trimmings but a small complaint would be that the beef was pretty overdone. Perhaps a side effect of a carvery situation. Gravy and Yorkshires were completely delicious.
Desserts really nice and well made. Good, solid home cooking.
2 suggestions: supply proper napkins - those paper ones are just awful and make me feel like I am in a greasy spoon. Also, could you supply placemats? It just feels wrong without a placemat somehow.
Thanks for a great lunch though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a late lunch with my wife and kids. Great friendly service. Catered well to the boys, with menus, placemats and crayons. Mix up between steak and steak sandwich, but they sorted it out on the bill. My eldest (aged 7) claimed the macaroni & cheese was the best ever!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Two words - Eton Mess!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This has become one of my favorite restaurants that is a must-visit for me and my wife when we travel in Scotland. Loved the Cullen Skink and the smoked salmon on a baguette, but the highlight was definitely the Eton Mess, it had to be one of the best desserts I've ever had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“well done anne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Have eaten here a few times and have never ever been disappointed. The food is fresh and the staff are knowledgeable and really really care about your experience. The cook Anne is a marvel she knows her stuff ad can adapt her cooking to accommodate most tastes and dietary requirements. Waiting staff are young and enthusiastic you really feel like this is a team that care about the quality of the service offered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eilean Dubh Restaurant also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Rosemarkie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty
Munlochy, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Eilean Dubh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eilean Dubh Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.