We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herathera Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Herathera Island Resort to your Saves list
Herathera Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   19060 (Formerly J Resort Handhufushi)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Public transport tickets
1 review
“Mila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

That place is really paradise! !
We was in honeymoon and I really don't know better place in the world for honeymoon.
Personal is very polite, doing everything for guests.( Exactly waiter Shazlil in restaurant. Respect!!!!) The Food was good!
! Our room Was cleaned two times per day(bat normally only in the morning)
Bat view is hier just excellent! We never forget!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mila,

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your honeymoon and taking time off your busy schedule to share with us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted that you deemed our resort as absolute paradise and our team members tried their best to accommodate to your needs, with special mention of Shazlil in restaurant.

There will be more exciting changes to the resort which will offer guests an experience that is un-pretentious, more vibrant and perhaps even more delightfully unexpected. We will continue to strive to do better to provide a personal and perhaps, animated experience for all our guests.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Best wishes,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    27
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm not one, be it business or family vacations to require a lot of service.
I need just a few things, nice clean bed, coffee in the morning, beach, pool... to call it a great stay and HIR managed to provide those things quite well.

I agree, it's expensive, but you should know that going into a stay in Maldives. And with regard to the 22% added to everything, it's an island. Everything they have on it has to be transported.

The resort is big, do your homework, if you aren't willing or able to walk or ride bike,request accommodations closer to main area. I enjoyed the walk or biking around island. You rent a bike for $4 a day. (Plus 22%) ;)

And you have transportation and exercise. It's all how you look at it.
One person wrote, "there is sand everywhere". There is. It's an island. I get enough carpeting and hardwood floors at home. Sand works for me when I'm barefooted all day.

The villa floors are not sand, nor are the villa bathrooms. Outdoor yes, but tile. I loved the outdoor bathrooms. They are private and I loved the natural lighting.

The pool in the morning was my church. Loved doing to laps at 630 am and not a soul around.

The food? Not amazing. But what I tend to eat, fresh fruit, salads, fish all plenty of choices and tons to chose from.
The restaurant down at the end of the resort was the best meal I had there. A simple Caesar salad, amazing iced tea... With an unbeatable private view. Paradise.

If you're looking for night life and dancing the night away, Id say stay elsewhere. If you're okay with quiet nights and relaxing days...this is your place.

It's not luxurious or a "fall at your feet" service mind set, but I don't think they claim to be.

It's a wonderful place to let yourself recharge.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Njafares,

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your holiday and we appreciate your positive review on the resort.

We are delighted that you deemed our resort as perfect and a wonderful place to recharge yourself.

Herathera Island Resort is in essence, the last indigenous resort in Maldives and it is indeed one of the biggest in Maldives at 4.5km long.

There will be more exciting changes to the resort which will offer guests an experience that is un-pretentious, more vibrant and perhaps even more delightfully unexpected. Do look out for the changes on our website: www.heratheraisland.com.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Yours sincerely,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this resort for 9 days. It felt like we got stranded on this island resort and I could not wait to get out. The room (called a sunset villa) was shabby, the furniture were old, the wi-fi was so slow, it was like going back 10 years. The beach was rocky, pebbly, nothing like the torquoise, white sand the pictures show.

The service was the worst of all, the people who run this place have no idea what good service is. everything is over-priced and in USD and they charge 22% on top of everything.

The food was really really bad, the buffet looks good, but most of the things are so bad you would not eat it more than once. The Dhoni bar they have is big, but it looks like it was built in the 70's and never been updated and the bar staff are so clueless, it beggars belief.

All in all, it was the worst holiday ever in my life, and sincerely advise anyone from ever thinking of going to this nightmare resort.
The actvities are so over-priced, it was ridiculous, a 15 minute Jet ski hire was like 400 USD. I can buy a Jet Ski for 1500 USD.

Do youself a favor and do not go to this island.

Room Tip: worst place ever !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sudarao.

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your holiday and taking time off your busy schedule to pen down these thoughts.

Indeed, Herathera Island Resort is unlike the typical island resort in Maldives. It is an indigenous resort to spend time strolling or pedaling through rustic roads under swaying coconut palms and exploring shady trails. The island offer guests to feel closer to nature.

For a fact, the price of Jet Ski Experience for 15 minutes is USD172 (inclusive of tax and service charge). There are also other options of Jet Ski packages available to choose from.

We have also noted your constructive feedback on other services which we truly regret that we did not meet your expectation. Please feel free to contact us with more details.

There will be more exciting changes which we are continuing to improve. We will continue to strive to do better to provide a personal and perhaps, animated experience for all our guests.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Yours sincerely,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This island is absolute paradise! I couldn't stop taking photographs because I couldn't believe how beautiful it was. The sunrise and sunset every day was also incredibly spectacular. However, the resort is too big. The hotel does cover the entire island but it means to get anywhere you have to use the golf buggies and these are difficult to find! Also there is sand absolutely everywhere! On the floor of reception, in all the restaurants...everywhere. On the main stretch of beach it is very difficult to get sunbeds, and we stayed at a very quiet time. I dread to think what it would be like here at full capacity.
The rooms are standard, very clean and beds comfortable. However, the entire bathroom is outside. We stayed here in February and it was really hot. There wasn't a breeze or anything, so imagine showering in the blistering heat. It may sound refreshing to have a cool shower in the heat but it isn't. And sitting on the outside toilet with a dodgy belly was not fun either. Nobody can see over the walls, but they can certainly hear you as the bungalows are all very close to each other. And there are LOTS of geckos, ants, spiders etc. I know the hotel can't help the wildlife but at least have the option of an inside bathroom!
The food is average, however the staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful and accommodating. One evening I just wanted a plate of chips, but there were no chips on the buffet so he cooked me some specially. Drinks are very expensive.
There is a gift shop on the island, but again, it is very expensive. Some evenings they have 20% off so if you want to buy souvenirs, wait until then to buy them.
We booked a dolphin spotting boat trip through the hotel and before we booked it we were told it's a 100% chance of seeing dolphins. When we turned up the next day, they said it was only a 50% chance and they don't give refunds if we don't see them. We were on the boat for nearly 2 hours and were getting quite fed up at the prospect of not seeing any dolphins, when suddenly - there they all were! And it was incredible! Well worth the money if you do get to see them. There were hundreds of them all around the boat. Fantastic!
All in all if you like the blistering heat and want to just lie in the sun and do nothing, then this is a perfect location and a good hotel.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gardenwow,

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your holiday and taking time off your busy schedule to share with us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted that you deemed our resort as absolute paradise and our team members tried their best to accommodate to your needs.

We have taken note of your feedback for areas to be improved. Herathera Island Resort is in essence, the last indigenous resort in Maldives and it is indeed one of the biggest in Maldives at 4.5km long.

There will be more exciting changes to the resort which will offer guests an experience that is un-pretentious, more vibrant and perhaps even more delightfully unexpected. Do look out for the changes on our website: www.heratheraisland.com.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Best wishes,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addu Atoll
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great week long stay. Sharon and Eeba(sorry about the spelling if it's wrong) from the Dive Shop were great. We saw a ton of really cool wild life, Turtles, Manta Rays Dolphins etc.. Overall the resort was great with great staff in every facet. The only improvement I would recommend would be faster internet.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your holiday and taking time off your busy schedule to share with us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted that you had a great weekend stay with us with a great diving experience. In fact, Addu Atoll is home to some of the most colourful corals in the country, which make Addu Atoll a popular destination for diving enthusiasts. The atoll also possesses particularly rich whale and dolphin fauna. We have also taken note of your feedback on the speed of internet access.

There will be more exciting changes to the resort which will offer guests an experience that is un-pretentious, more vibrant and perhaps even more delightfully unexpected. Do look out for the changes.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Best wishes,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addu city
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were escorted by the guest service officer from Gan airport to the jetty.boat captain was very friendly.checking was quick and smooth once we arrive to resort.our villa was nice and on the sunset side.we requested villa next to each other which was done.Reservation Manager was very helpful with all the needful preference we requested.

The dhoni bar pool was very relaxing and pool was big.
Food quality was fantastic and delicious. Maldivian night was nice.

I will definitely recommend this place for Family,couples or friends traveling together.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Dewalkr,

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your holiday and taking time off your busy schedule to share with us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted that your needful preferences have been taken care of. We will definitely share your positive feedback to all of our team members including team members from the mentioned departments.

There will be more exciting changes to the resort which will offer guests an experience that is un-pretentious, more vibrant and perhaps even more delightfully unexpected. Do look out for the changes.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Best wishes,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We traveled to the Maldives for my birthday celebration in late January and early February.

Overall, the resort is absolutely lovely. Our first impressions were favorable. All of the attendants and staff were pleasant, with the exception of one manager in the reception area. I assume that his inexperience and age were a factor with him being so off putting.

The grounds are very well maintain and the cottages (villas) are suitable. They are beginning a renovation project which may take some time.

We were on the sunrise side which had access to the beach and water. I hear the other side, facing the lagoon was a bit grassy. Parts of the beach are rocky, so hanging out there and walking is troublesome.

The pool near the Dhoni Bar was great and not crowded. The other pool and restaurant were closed.

Definitely get the half or full board because the restaurants can be pricey (as all of the Maldives can). Also, you will not be able to get on and off the island at will and the villas do not have a stove or cooking options.

We enjoyed the restaurant on most days, but some of the dinners were a rehash of earlier meals.

The excursions were OK but limited. Some of the excursions depend on the number of people participating which is OK at first but when they back out, then you're left with nothing to do because the boat won't travel without the minimum number. I'd encourage the resort to take deposits for excursions to discourage this behavior.

Inside the room:

Bed; Comfortable and large. Lush bedding

Seating inside the room: sufficient

Outdoor seating: Standard. We had to ask for cushions because someone walked off with one or it wasn't replaced after the last guests

Shower: Partially exposed and fantastic

Another tip: Get bikes that first time, order early almost immediately and keep them the entire time.

Budget for PLENTY of spending money. Herathera is one of the most affordable resorts in the Maldives with beach access but the costs will add up otherwise.

I wouldn't suggest this for families as there are not activities geared towards children.

Room Tip: Select a sunrise room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heratheraisland, Director of Sales at Herathera Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dr Reginia,

Thank you for choosing Herathera Island Resort, Maldives as your preferred destination for your birthday celebration and taking time off your busy schedule to share with us your valuable feedback.

We are delighted that you deemed our resort to be overall absolutely lovely and our team members to be pleasant.

We have taken note of your feedback for areas to be improved. We do apologise for the less than pleasant experience with one of our team members. We will continue to strive to improve on the level of service and communication. Should you make plans to visit us again, do let me know personally on dosm@heratheraisland.com for me to take care of your visit.

There will be more exciting changes to the resort which will offer guests an experience that is un-pretentious, more vibrant and perhaps even more delightfully unexpected. Do look out for the changes on our website: www.heratheraisland.com.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to the Herathera Island Resort, Maldives for an experience, a new luxury which is “off-the-beaten-track” for the experience seekers.

Best wishes,

Jimmy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herathera Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herathera Island Resort

Address: 19060 (Formerly J Resort Handhufushi)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Addu Atoll > Herathera Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herathera Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herathera Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not at all like different atolls of Maldives, Addu city has a common safe haven inside the city bowl, as the atoll is area bolted with expansive islands encompassing the atoll. Unlike other atolls of Maldives, Addu city possesses a natural anchorage within the city basin, as the atoll is land-locked with large islands surrounding the atoll. This results in a natural harbour that is very calm and safe for sea vessels at all times, and is not affected by seasonal changes. There are unique features in the islands of Addu Atoll. The islands are protected from the storms and high waves of the Indian Ocean by barrier reefs. Coconut palms, the national tree, are able to grow almost everywhere on the Islands. Addu Atoll is home to some of the most colourful corals in the country, which make Addu Atoll a popular destination for diving enthusiasts. The atoll also possesses particularly rich whale and dolphin fauna. A great diversity of species has been found here. In Dhivehi, the Maldivian language, Herathera means a hideaway or sanctuary. It is here that you will find the unspoiled natural beauty which helps you to forget the hustle and bustle of your daily lives and enjoy the peace and relaxation that you seek on a holiday in the Maldives. Herathera Island Resort is in essence, the last indigenous resort in Maldives. A stroll through the island takes you back to Maldives in the early days with the simpler pleasures of life. The slow lane starts as soon as you hop on to the speedboat at Gan island. As you arrive the resort, all cares and worries are left behind. Herathera Island Resort is a great resort to spend time strolling or pedaling through rustic roads under swaying coconut palms, exploring shady trails in overgrown shrubs and trees, checking out secluded beaches and flourishing mangroves. On Herathera Island, the food tastes better, air is fresher and sights and sounds so soothing to the soul. The island offer guests to feel closer to nature. There were many flora and fauna all around the island and guests can be intrigued by the wide range of wildlife as it was not something that we get to see every day in a concrete jungle. The resort is located within the heart-shaped Addu Atoll, which is the just south of the equator, accessible only by domestic plane which is a 70-minute scenic flight from Male International Airport to Gan International Airport. The resort is just a 10 minute speedboat ride from Gan International Airport. The tropical island setting creates a Maldivian paradise of breathtaking rustic natures, where the warmest heartfelt welcome leads to journeys that can be deeply relaxing or truly invigorating. From the moment you arrive, you are greeted by Maldivian hospitality which is personal and warm. Expect the unexpected when our locals encourage you to try something different, to have new experience and to re-imagine the resort experience. Take part in an array of water sports including diving, snorkelling, surfing and island hopping. The resort immerses visitors in an indulgently laid back experience of pure bliss, and sun soaked relaxation. It is a new luxury with an attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Herathera Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Resort Handhufushi Hotel Addu Atoll
j Hotel Handhufushi
j Hotel Addu Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herathera Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.