We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel to your Saves list
Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel
Isiklar Mah. 219. Sok. No:14 Midyat Merkez, Midyat 47500, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Midyat
vienna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Das wunderschöne Hotel, das sehr angenehme Zimmer und die sehr lieben Leute (Mitarbeiter und Manager) waren ein guter Grund, den Aufenthalt zu verlängern und die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Umgebung länger zu erkunden.
Danke für die schönen Tage

The beautiful hotel and room and the charming and helpful people (staff and manager) were a reason to spend more time here and see more of the wonderful sights in the neighborhood. Thank you for the great days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    5
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night in May 2013 having booked through a travel site. Firstly, the hotel is beautiful, with a very tasteful mix of old and modern in the room. We had a room off a shared porch-like entrance down a couple of stairs. The room itself consisted of a lounge area, a large modern bathroom with amenities, a luggage room and a mezzanine bedroom. There was a very small window to the side of the bed, otherwise the room was rather dark. We felt like we had the entire place to ourselves and only saw one other couple at breakfast. The staff and the manager/owner were incredibly obliging, friendly and helpful. We had dinner and breakfast in the courtyard. Dinner was pretty good and prices were reasonable. The breakfast was included and was wonderful! Presentation was great, food was delicious and it just kept on coming out. The hotel is in an area that does not appear close to tourist sites, this is some of the appeal. There is a monastery close by, but we were unable to visit at the time as it is used. We will remember this hotel for many years to come and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a gem! Beautiful hotel built in an ancient tower/manor from the 6th century. The rooms are very modern yet very tastefully decorated with period items. Very clean and very quiet as it is in the old part of the town. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful. Highly recommended. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night in October, 2013 and resented every minute. The room was not up to par with a crack in the door that allowed cigarette smoke from outside to leak into the room, aside from noise in the hallways and the lobby. The food in the restaurant was O.K., though nothing fancy. The breakfast is a buffet and reasonable. I do not recommend this hotel if you think you might need a good night's sleep after a long day of sightseeing.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here in September during a business trip. It's a stone building completely rennovated with very nice rooms and a great view of the city from its terrace. The food was ok, wines are great. Most of the staff is very helpful, as well as the manager.

It's not cheap, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel for 1 night, on Saturday, 21th September 2013. I made check-in at 14:30, and they gave to us a room on the ground level, next to the yard. At 18:00 the same afternoon, the musicians arrived and at 20:00 the "party" began. Local tradiotional music in incredible level of noise JUST ABOVE OUR ROOM. At 23:30 I CALLED THE RECEPTION AND I ASKED UNTIL WHAT TIME OUR TORTURE WILL LAST. The answer was, I do not know. I forced to go to the reception and to ask to change our room or to change the hotel. The first answer was there is no available room, but after my persistence, like magic, they found available room in the next building. And, I am wondering: why they did not give to us this room, from the first moment. They knew, that, we were foreigners and travelers. We had need of rest and sleep and instead we had a terrible noise above our heads for 3-4 hours. We had already paid 93 euro FOR A HOTEL ROOM AND NOT FOR A NIGHTCLUB. The answer of the hotel manager at my complain, was, that, it is about a special group of clients. What about us? We were not clients? They must not respect us? Just ignore us........

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel is, despite an unpronounceble name, is a haven of luxury and good taste in eastern Anatolia. I stayed in Mardin and in Midyat and I warmly recommend to stay in that hotel instead of trying an other amateurish pseudo-4 or 5 stars hotel in Mardin.
Devil is in the details... Being a smoker myself, I went in the central courtyard for a smoke three times in a day in the exact same place, and the three times I found an empty clean ashtray on the table. I know that might be weird to start a comment on such matters but it tells a lot on how this hotel is running... it is exceptionnal in Turkey! This hotel never stoll its 4 stars and with a bit of refurbishment in the room, it will be one of the best boutique hotels in the country.
Trust me, go there! Enjoy the arabic bed on the rooftop on sunset, enjoy a defenetly fine breakfast in the courtyard, see the beauty of the sunny-shinning stone of the building.
Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel is the place to stay! Forget Mardin and please, make me a favour by stopping by that place, french man word, you won't regret it... at all :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel

Address: Isiklar Mah. 219. Sok. No:14 Midyat Merkez, Midyat 47500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Mardin Province > Midyat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Midyat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
General information: This summer place, in Midyat, was used by one of the first Muslim families as their home for 260 years and where Assyrians lived for centuries. The summer place, with its two bastions in the style of a church, was built 1200 years ago and was used as an Assyrian church for many years. In 1750, the Assyrians invited the Nehroz to Midyat to avoid attacks from the local tribes. Eventually the neighbourhood and house took on that name. After the Nehroz summer place had been used as their home by the Nehroz (Yenigün) family throughout centuries, it was renovated in 2009 in a regional architectural style to become the Kasr-ı Nehroz Boutique Hotel and opened its doors to new guests. Many original goods and accessories used by the family are now displayed in the rooms where the women of the Yenigün family made butter in churns years ago. The small children of the time, who now have grandchildren of their own, played in the yard. In the process of converting the summer place into Kasr-i Nehroz, special attention was paid to maintaining the warm ambiance and homely feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasr-i Nehroz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.