We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary

Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary
R512, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
12 258 9908
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monkey Sanctuary is one of several sanctuaries in a group of sanctuaries, including the elephant sanctuary that provides for orphaned and abused animals. Situated west of Hartbeesport Dam alongside the Elephant sanctuary it provides an environment where monkeys (primates) can be given their freedom in a natural environment. The sanctuary situated in one of the many Kloofs (Gorges) of the Magaliesberg mountain range provides the perfect environment for Monkeys from around the world.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Monkey business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was very quiet when we were there, so there were only 7 people on our walking tour. Everyone enjoyed the interaction the monkeys. My 1 year old daughter loved it. She sat patiently in her carry back pack for the entire 1 hour walking tour and took everything in, but she was most upset when a monkey sat on her mom's shoulder.

It is a beautiful walk, there is not a big variety of monkeys, but the quality of the interaction was great. Well done to our guide who kept us informed and slightly entertained - sorry, have forgotten his name.

Facilities are very good and they are adding a conference venue as well.

Entry is R200 per person, but it was well spent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    38
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great day out!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The audience - myself, hubby and a 2 year old. We arrived in time for the 11h00 walk (recommended) as there were not a lot of people and it was not in the heat of the day. We paid the entrance fee, packed our bags in the lockers provided (Keys and locks provided) and started our journey with our very knowledgeable guide.Most of the paths are all build on stilts and we walked under trees greeted by various species of monkeys on the paths and in the trees along the way. Absolutely loved that there is no cages and they are free to roam and go about their normal lives as we amble amongst them. The walk is not strenuous and the 2 year old managed almost 90% of the way including the hanging bridges!!! Our guide was great and we were fortunate to have had a great group on the walk. Although we did not see a lot of monkeys it was a very enjoyable morning out. Afterwards we sat down for a bite at the restaurant -do not expect a big selection as they only serve the basic burger and toasted sandwiches. I will definitely recommend families to visit the sanctuary at least once when they are in the Harties area. A great day out!
Cons - no baby changing facilities available if you have a little one in a diaper!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautifull environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The parc is quiet and beautifull but we have not seen a lot of monkeys. The guide was really interesting, he takes the time to explain and answer questions.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Elusive Bush Baby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have to say we had a great time. The monkeys and lemurs were so cute and in an open and natural setting. All the paths and buildings were beautiful. But we felt a little mislead. Even though this is a bush baby sanitary with over 300 bush babies, you will not see any of the bush babies. Bush babies are nocturnal and can't be seen during the day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great time out!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary experience is something different. You are entertained by your guide on an hour long walk and given information on all the little critters spotted. A little bit pricey. I would recommend going fairly early to avoid a rush of youngsters as they tend to be a bit loud for the monkeys and you do not get as many close-ups as you'd like.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary also viewed

Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.