We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous venue and food... People need some work..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Orange Bistro

Silver Orange Bistro
R513, Hartbeespoort, South Africa
0823782948
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Nicsdxb
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous venue and food... People need some work..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Recent trip to Harties saw us booking a table at the much raved about Silver Orange Bistro.

While we could not fault the meal in any way, nor the prices, we were disappointed by the rushed and somewhat dismissive server who made us feel as though we were a major inconvenience. I noticed that we were served our starters at least 10-15 minutes before the table beside us, who had ordered when we were being seated. Was unimpressed for them!

The ambiance of the restaurant was lovely, intimate but not too much so that you felt the need to whisper as not to disturb the other diners, however the chef/owner ranting and swearing from the kitchen definitely put a damper on things!

Having said all this I would go back as the food and the incredible prices are most definitely worth overlooking the grumpy staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    26
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best in the Madibeng district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was some time since we were last at Silver Orange Bistro - we were worried that since it has gained awards and some measure of fame, standards may have relaxed or prices increased dramatically. However it has grown better; the food was simply excellent, at prices that are similar to some franchise restaurants in the area. My wife and I shared a very tasty salad to start. The main course was beautifully presented and full of taste (camembert fillet and stuffed whole trout respectively). But we could skip the lot for the desserts - we argued over whose was better - her crème brulee or my tiramisu - and neither of us would give ground to the other about ours being the best! The restaurant was quiet enough for easy conversation - which I always enjoy - and, aside from a dying fluorescent light that was flickering, the lighting was good enough to read the small print! Some choice in terms of smaller bottles of wine (such as the excellent 500ml Springfield Estate Life from Stone Sauvignon Blanc, which was the prefect size for us) would be appreciated, or offer a range of wine by the glass.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ribeye on the rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Silver Orange must be my favourate Bistro in all of the surrounding area
The ribeye steak was superb as were the dishes of the company at the table
At prices comparing to the Spur, I am grateful that there are not more foodies out there

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Recommended and booked for us by Yolandie of Stirling Manor, this place was perfect for a nice, quiet meal. The staff were very attentive, and the food was excellent. The Duck I had was perfectly cooked.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb attention to detail and an experience on the palate, if not the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a big family gathering at the restaurant and from the moment we set foot through the door we were treated with a great amount of hospitality. I commend the staff for their attention to detail and the service they deliver. The speed with which they provide the amuse bouche and the drinks upon arrival was welcomed and we were a rowdy bunch, but this was all accommodated in a beautifully decorated room, offset from the main dining area.

I cannot fault the food. Every single course was beautifully presented and the attention to detail really takes your senses on a wonderful adventure. You will not want to miss any of the courses as it a treat to visit the restaurant and it is something special that you will want to share with loved ones again and again. Really a must do!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Orange Bistro also viewed

Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
Schoemansville, Hartbeespoort
 
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
Hartbeespoort, North-West Province
 

Been to Silver Orange Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Orange Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.