We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are good -Food is terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viadero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Viadero to your Saves list
Viadero
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Santander, 10, 39180 Noja, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Noja
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Rooms are good -Food is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and never again. To be fair we were with a coach trip
and there were 90 of us. The hotel is classed as a 4 star but the service and food could not
be classified as any star. The rooms and suites were or a fair standard. We were in a basement room for our meals and the variety and quality of the food was awful. It may be due
to the fact that the hotel was used by a tour company and they had agreed a low price per pax. and therefore we were given the basics of food. This is the worst food experience we have ever had! Noja has a nice beach and there are other hotels so don't discount Noja as a place to stay.

Room Tip: There are no good views from the rooms as the hotel has streets on 3 sides. Suites were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    20
    28
    18
See reviews for
24
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Went with a coach party to this hotel. The bedrooms were ok but we had to ask for extra pillows, there was only 1 blanket for 2 beds so a good job it was warm when we went!, there were 4 coat hangers in the wardrobes,2 each!! I had to ask 3 times for more hangers, these came at 2 at a time over the next 2 days! Wi Fi was only available in the reception area.
The restaurant, well I can't really call it a restaurant it was a canteen in the basement of the hotel was very disappointing.i had expected to be dining in the nice looking restaurant in the photos on the web site. No such luck, it was more like a works canteen! The food was terrible,not much choice and each food was repeated twice during our stay over 6 days.One evening it was tripe or pigs trotters, thankfully that was the evening we had decided to eat out at another local hotel.The desserts were either baked apple,yogurt or mousse no other choice! The first night we arrived there were no spare seats in the "dining room" so we sat in a roped off area at the end of the dining room. The terrible restaurant manager came over shouting and waving his arms about and telling us we could not sit there! After discussions with our courier we were all allowed to sit down there. We called the manager Basil Faulty after that! There were so many complaints about the food whilst we were there! Their only saving grace were the 2 pleasant helpful waiters! As stated earlier this is certainly not a 4 star hotel in any way shape or form.Thankfully as there were so many excursions we didn't have to spend much time in the hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were well prepared for this hotel having read various reviews on Trip Advisor. Initially the hotel appears modern, the reception area quite pleasant, however, it is the only seating area available. Our room was large, but not really inviting, and the staff were not interested in my request for something to make the bed a little softer. The bathroom was the best part of the accommodation, which at all times was basic rather than four star.
Why do they have four stars??? Possibly for the lifts, or is it for the electric window shutters?? It certainly is not for the cuisine which is "served" in a basement room and offers such a poor choice of tired, dried up food. Mealtimes were always an either/or situation. At breakfast (which was not served until 8.00am) there were cornflakes or bran flakes. White toast or baguette. Cheese or processed meat. The "hot" section consisted of luke warm bacon or churros. If you wanted to eat before 8.00am you had to forgo the bacon, churros, cheese and meat. Lunch and dinner were similar - meat or fish. Lettuce or tomato. Joghurt or fruit. Thank goodness for the local restaurants where many of our group chose to eat and the supermarket just down the road.
Dinner was served from 8.30pm to 9.30pm with no replenishments after 9.15pm. They really did not put themselves out to please the paying customer. The only good thing I can say about the canteen was that they offered lactose free milk at breakfast!! Perhaps that's why they got so many stars!
The hotel also has a dining room and a separate restaurant for walk in trade. We read the menu and were keen to sample the fantastic seafood platters, but they were not available to us, as the restaurant was closed during our stay.
The town of Noja was pleasant enough, but it is 15kms from the main road, so every time you want to visit anywhere you have to travel that distance before starting your journey. I would choose a different hotel in a different location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

THe Hotel Viadero, It was clean albeit old and tired, lacking in a lounge area. The bedrooms were basic with very hard beds, no pictures or niceties. Although advertising Wifi, there was not enough output to connect.
Some of the staff uncaring and rude.

The restaurant was in the basement and more like a canteen (yet they had a pleasant dining room upstairs for the Spanish). The so called food was appalling on the whole. Vey little choice very old and dried food, sometimes reconstituted. Most days they ran out of food and you had to wait while they sorted something else out. Very dubious about the quality of the food and freshness.
Example main meal .Pigs trotters, dried pizza base with some bits of food, or small fish. dessert yoghurt or emaciated fruit. wine and water. well the wine was only red and similar to paint stripper, the water was put into bottles from a tap . I know as I marked several empty bottles only to have them reappear.
For a 4 star hotel it was dreadful.

Room Tip: don´t go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Let me say at the outset that our room at this hotel was entirely adequate and clean with TV, telephone and mini fridge. The bathroom was well appointed and provided plenty of hot water for showers but there was no bath plug. The decoration was basic but in no way luxurious. Star ratings are often given on the basis of a hotel's amenities and with two lifts and a swimming pool the Viadero may just have swung an official four star rating. My feeling was, however, that this hotel does not warrant anything like a four star rating and potential clients should be aware of this before booking. If you expect 4 star comfort you will not get it here. In particular the food served during the course of our six day stay was of very poor quality - limited in choice and, at times almost inedible. The breakfast selection in particular was very poor and probably the worst I have ever experienced. Dinner was little better and many of the guests opted to eat elsewhere rather than take the full board option they had paid for. The dining room was like a works canteen. Fortunately there is a supermarket nearby in which to stock up on essentials to stave off hunger. The area is lovely and well worth a visit - but avoid this hotel if you can!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viadero

Address: Avenida de Santander, 10, 39180 Noja, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Noja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Noja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viadero 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viadero Hotel Noja

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.