We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't ever have the lamb stew!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Cafe

Harbourview Cafe
| Brighton Bay, Brighton, Ontario, Canada
(613) 475-1515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Brighton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Harbourview Cafe is an intimate friendly eatery ideally located on the north shore of Lake Ontario, mid way between Toronto and Montreal.All home cooking and baking. We make the best chowder, baked fish & chips, steak & kidney pie, curry and english breakfast. Weddings and private parties, wine tastings & tea parties our speciality. Visit our web site for photos and menu.
Carrying Place, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't ever have the lamb stew!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I like Jenny, the owner, but although she can cook a lot of things well, I like lamb and hardly ever have it. I won't again. It was like shoe leather. Sorry, Jenny, but you get three thumbs down.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just had dinner with my niece at the Harbourview Cafe and we shared the Mussels, which were the best we had. The service was awesome and Jeni the owner came to the table and talk to us personally. We would recommend this restaurant in Brighton for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A Waterfront Bonus in Brighton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This family owned and operated cafe in Brighton, Ontario, is a real asset to this community. The food is delicious and so obviously home made - their soups are scrumptious! They have a good and varied lunch menu and although they have to move around a "sandwich board menu" instead of having printed menus - this means, however, that they have lots of different items to feature so you are never bored with their offerings. They also have a patio with umbrellas right on the waterfront. Harbourview is a simple cafe - with lots of potential - we agree with other reviwers that it could do with the benefit of a designer or decorator as it is "ordinary" and could be really fabulous given the spectacular location and ample parking. Service was prompt and friendly (thank you Avalon). We enjoyed our lunch with wine and we will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Berkshires, Mass.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, and try the soups!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A big batch of family members shared a breakfast/lunch on a wedding weekend. The two of us who had (different) soups were the happiest. They were exceptionally delicious! In fact, all of us were happy with our food. The ambiance leaves something to be desired (given the prime location and the paucity of medium-range eateries in the area, an infusion of cash to enlarge it and spiff it up could make this a real money-maker!). The coffee machine failed (apparently not for the first time), but the hostess/server was so nice about it, everyone was happy to cope. Service, excellent. Definitely worth going back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great cafe fare with friendly servers and owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The title says it all. We ate there many times when in town checking on the construction of our new home. Invariably tasty cafe fare with a wonderful view of the water, both from inside and out on the patio. Our favourite Brighton eatery

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourview Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Harbourview Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.