We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it but understand what you are getting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timber House Country Inn & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Timber House Country Inn & Resort to your Saves list
Timber House Country Inn & Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   116 Cedardale Road | PO Box 903, Brighton, Ontario K0K 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Brighton B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“We liked it but understand what you are getting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We enjpyed our stay and would return again, I'm posting several tips / warnings first so people don't feel mislead, but rather know what to expect.

1. If you want to be located near the water there are very few offerings as close as this. You will end up staying miles away if others selections are chosen. The lake is a 3 minute walk from the Inn.

2. Make sure you use mapping location tools before your stay to confirm how to get there. While signage is good to navigate the route in, its smaller than the norm and a turn can be missed.

3. This is not an Inn per se, but rather more in the style of European B&B in the large cities so don't expect staff on arrival. Your key and room details will likely be on the front counter and a number to call if any problems. The complex is locked at night so there isn't a security problem.

4. Given proximity to the lake and local soil conditions, water is provided by a drilled well rather than municipal services. The water has the smell and taste of egg water (Contains Sulfides). While there was a water cooler plant located on the second floor, there was no container installed. Likely because we were staying during the non core period. Suggest you buy some bottled water in advance of arriving to cover all bases.

Having said all this, we enjoyed our stay and would return. Location put us exactly where we wanted to be on this trip and as mentioned the alternatives are not plentiful. Breakfast is served during a set time period but gives you a freshly made meal vs. continental fare. Had a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast or pancakes. All the options were fresh, tasteful and hot when served. Order your meal from one of the staff and it is brought to you. The piece of toast is in that slot because it doesn't work. If any item runs out just ask the staff for a refill, which may require calling downstairs as you eat on the second floor. Waiting time is no different than any restaurant. Staff are very accommodating and there is even gluten free bread if you ask.

Rooms are very clean and the staff engage you when they are present asking if you need anything. There is a common area on the second floor which includes a fridge, microwave, sink, dishes. So you can bring some foods in to have dinner at your own pace rather than going to Brighton or other locations for a meal later in the day.

Remember many stays are what we make it rather than how the facility stayed at does. This complex is not deserving of the slamming made in other reviews on it. Consider the tips / warnings offered in your decision making.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    9
    1
See reviews for
14
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We recently booked this bed and breakfast and were looking forward to a nice cozy place with the usual great breakfasts one finds at many b & bs. Well - that didn't happen. First of all it is more like a self service hotel - no one around, just a key and a note left at the front desk giving a phone number in case there is an issue and breakfast timing (8:30 a.m.). It is not like we arrived at an unusual time - we entered this place during the first hour that check in was allowed and never saw anyone at the desk that day or the next. We ignored this part as we did fine checking ourselves in but could not ignore the rest of the experience. Really nice large house/hotel - but - done in cheap laminate flooring with apparantly no insulation to cut down on the noise. Okay...pushed that aside as well - at first. Our first activity..explore the grounds and the amenities that we were told were available. Saw a small swimming pool (not open yet but it is still a little cold out) but it was not just for the use of the people in the hotel/b and b. There was a trailer park attached to this property and all the residents of the park are permitted to use the pool. Not an issue, at the moment, as we were not going to swim so we went on. Supposedly their was coffee and tea available in the dining area (upstairs) - sure - no cream or milk, no coffee and a few tea bags so we were not going to enjoy sitting in the common area having a hot cup of anything. Night came and time for sleep...not likely. Every time the bathroom was used in the room next door to us or the one above us it would wake us up - the flush sounding like a waterfall vibrating the room. Every time someone started walking in the room above us - again woke us up as you could hear the clomping of shoes against the cheap laminate flooring. Last thing to look forward to was the breakfast. We have been in many B and Bs and the breakfasts provided were always great - until now. We went to the dining area at 8:30 and a cook/server asked us if we wanted eggs, pancakes, french toast etc....a good start. We ordered the bacon and eggs and this person pointed out that we could make our own toast and have coffee or tea. Two small carafes were there, one with coffee, the other with hot water for tea and a very small cream jug - just cream no milk available. The coffee ran out in seconds as there were a number of us there for breakfast and no one around to ask for a refill (the cook/server was downstairs preparing the meal). Headed to the toaster - a 4 slice unit with an old piece of toast in the third slot that never popped up or was cleaned from the day before. Slipped the bread in, after removing the old crumbling toast and eyed the 2 small jars of homemade jam - one grape, the other strawberry. Toast ready - but that third slot wasn't about to give up the slice without a fight - and sticking a knife in the slot is not exactly a safe practice. There was also a small jug of orange juice there and it was pretty good, especially because we had no coffee to drink. Breakfast is pretty simple and takes very little time to prepare - but not here. We all waited 30+ minutes for the breakfast to arrive and it was awful. Everything was overcooked! The eggs hard, rubbery and lukewarm - the bacon just crumbled when you touched it. We asked for a refill on the coffee carafe and she immediately went downstairs, returning in 10 minutes with a new batch...but of course there was no cream...so back downstairs she went. We finished the coffee and toast, left the rubber eggs and the petrified, tasteless bacon and went to pack up and leave. Of course there was no one at the front desk to even voice displeasure. This was an unforgettable and horrible experience, one which we wont repeat. Steer clear of this place - its not worth it at any price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and son needed a nice place to stop over on our way from eastern Quebec to southern Ontario, and I found the Timber House online. Looked nice in the pictures, and it lived up to it. The location in a little out of the way, but if that is what you are looking for, it is great. A two minute walk to the water, quiet, beautiful surroundings. The rooms are lovely. Breakfast was perfect. This is a great combination of a hotel and and BnB. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I know it was a busy time of the year but you should be prepared for this situation.
Guest room smelled and the drinking water was a yellowish colour.
Nobody present when we booked in, just an empty reception counter.
Spa was over rated also. Next time we will find a place right in Brighton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding at the Timber House on November 2nd. When we walked into the venue for the first time a few months ago, we both felt immediately it was the right place for our big day, and meeting the Events & Staff Coordinator- Jordan, just reinforced that feeling.

As a first timer to this sort of thing, you really don't have any idea as to what sort of details are involved in planning such a huge day. Jordan led us in the right direction and made sure that every detail was covered. She was a total professional in both attitude and appearance and a complete pleasure to work with. If it hadn't been for her, there's no way the day would've been as amazing as it was.
The food was incredible and the dinner servers and bartender were amazing. Our guests are still talking about the wonderful service they received from each individual at the Timber House.
Everything was executed on time and in a professional manner.

It was so great to be able to stay at this venue as well. We were able to accommodate our entire wedding party plus a few additional couples. Sure, the water had a sulfur smell to it, but by no means did this affect anyone's night. If a guest was spending enough time in the washroom to be bothered by the sulfur smell, I'd just assume they were in there in the first place because they weren't able to stomach the amount of fun they'd had earlier in the evening.

I can honestly say that there is absolutely nothing that could've made our wedding day any more fun, any more beautiful and any more successful than it was. I will be recommending the Timber House to any and all of my friends, relatives and coworkers who are newly engaged and in search of the perfect venue. Because this my friends, is it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are incredibly clean, comfortable and different in their own way. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am surprised to read some of the recent reviews. I was married at the Timber House a few weeks ago and couldn’t be happier. This was the perfect venue for us – it had enough rooms to allow our immediate families and bridal party to stay on site both Friday and Saturday; it allowed us the freedom to take over the Inn and use the common room and kitchen to gather and host family meals that we could prepare; we were able to be married outside while having a beautiful indoor plan b option; we could host our cocktail reception and dinner in two separate stunning spaces; the venue gave us the classy, casual feel we were looking for; and we were able to take photos onsite and on the beach!

Everything the Timber House team committed to they delivered and on time. The dining room including tables and place settings, and the tent were set up by 1 pm on Friday as promised which allowed us to decorate Friday afternoon and sit back and relax Friday night. The ceremony space outside was set up on Saturday as promised and on time. With the option of taking over the Inn we were able to invite our hair, make up and nail professionals to set up a mini salon in the loft – saving many of us from having to leave the venue on the wedding day!

Our guests are still raving about the food!! The dinner service team was quick, professional and attentive. The Events and Staff Coordinator (referenced in other reviews as the “wedding coordinator”) was professional in her manner and dress, kept everything on time, was accommodating and flexible to change, and pleasant to work with throughout our planning and execution. In fact it was pleasure to work with the entire Timber House team, they are beyond customer centric they welcome you into the Inn and treat you as family. If we communicated any issues to be addressed, they were, in a timely manner to our satisfaction.

Yes the water had a sulfur odor…you are in the country. It is not overwhelming by any means. You choose venues based on the experience you are seeking. If you are looking for a relaxed, family and friends focused event in a beautiful country setting (both inside and outside), with great food, friendly staff, and the freedom to take over the Inn as you please. I recommend the Timber House.

My husband and I have wouldn’t have changed a thing. Our wedding and the entire weekend surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently just attended a wedding at the venue and the rooms that we could see were dirty
dust is everywhere and the bride was doing all the place settings on her wedding day when she should have been enjoying it
silverware and plates at different tables were dirty
the water smelled so terrible!! ( definately sulfar) The smell also came out of the drains !!
The wedding co ordinator had a shirt on that did not even cover her belly
and she looked like she was about 20
food was just ok
The front desk is not inviting at all ( nobody is there if you need anything)
It is a shame that this place is not being looked after anymore
My husband and I attended a wedding in 2011 and the place was nothing like it is now

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber House Country Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber House Country Inn & Resort

Address: 116 Cedardale Road | PO Box 903, Brighton, Ontario K0K 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timber House Country Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timber House Country Inn and Resort has 9 luxurious guest suites which are great for single over night stays or large family reunions! The Great Banquet Hall can accommodate up to 150 guests for your wedding or party. Let the friendly staff at The Timber House create a warm and cozy feeling every visit :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Timber House Country Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber House Country Inn & Resort Brighton, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber House Country Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.